Can you activate charges of Warlock’s Scepter and Gloves of Eldritch Mixture in same round?

Warlock’s scepter mentions:

… a warlock (or any other character capable of invoking an eldritch blast) can choose to spend charges from the scepter to increase the amount of damage his eldritch blast deals.

And Gloves of Eldritch Admixture:

Spending 1 or more charges adds extra damage to the next eldritch blast you make before the end of your turn.

Given they are both swift action to activate, can warlock activate both items in same round and boost its eldritch blast?

Does a spell with a duration of one round end at the beginning or the end of my next turn? [duplicate]

Some spells are mostly beneficial to the rest of the party. My question is to figure out whether or not the caster benefits from this as well.

Take for example the first level spell Color Spray, which has a casting time of one action and a duration of one round:

A dazzling array of flashing, colored light springs from your hand. Roll 6d10, the total is how many hit points of creatures this spell can effect. Creatures in a 15-foot cone originating from you are affected in ascending order of their current hit points (ignoring unconscious creatures and creatures that can’t see).

Starting with the creature that has the lowest current hit points, each creature affected by this spell is blinded until the spell ends. Subtract each creature’s hit points from the total before moving on to the creature with the next lowest hit points. A creature’s hit points must be equal to or less than the remaining total for the creature to be affected.

Since the spell takes one action to be cast and then has a duration of one round, is it correct to assume that its effects take place at the very end of the caster’s turn, thus lasting until the end of its next turn as well?

The way I see it, this means that at the caster’s next turn, right before the duration ends, the enemy will still be blinded and he/she gets advantage on an attack as well.

I’d love to hear your opinions/experiences with this.

Note: This is not a duplicate, I found this question on the site as well, but this does not answer my question since in my opinion a barbarian’s rage starts instantly, so at the beginning of his turn or at the beginning of his bonus action, right in the middle of a turn, whereas a spell takes a while to cast and -then- starts.

What is the most damage that can be done in one round on your turn?

I was surprised that this question has not been asked.

I want to find out what the most damage that can be done in a single round?

Here are the rules.

  • Rules from Official Hardcover books only.
  • Any official playable race can be used.
  • No optional rules, other than those listed here.
  • Multiclassing and feats are permitted.
  • Characters can be up to LV 20
  • Standard point buy for stats.
  • No Magic items.
  • No infinite loops we are not trying to break the system. We are trying to find the maximum damage in a reasonable setting.
  • Consistent effects only. Random elements like wild magic cannot be used.
  • Epic Boons are permitted if you use the Aberrant Dragonmark feat.. You can choose the boon you would like.
  • No outside help. Permanent summoned creatures are permitted, and considered to have already been summoned.(find steed, familiar, homunculous.. etc..) Their damage can be added to yours in the calculation.
  • Assume one average target with no unusual defenses.
  • All attacks hit.
  • All saves are passed.
  • Polymorph is allowed, but I suspect there are better methods.
  • Any attack or combination of spells and attacks can be used provided you are following the rules.
  • Include the Maximum rolled damage as well as the average damage, where average is calculated using min+maximum /2 to calculate it.

I understand that a lot of you don’t like optimization questions. But try to leave me a comment before you give me a negative vote. I will address the issue and fix it(If possible).

This post is for people who do enjoy the theory craft and challenge. I think it will be interesting to find out what the damage limit is.

How to interpret “round up or down” in monster CR calculation

In the "Creating Quick Monster Stats" section of the DMG (p.274) we are given the procedure for determining the CR of a new DM-designed monster. Step 4 of that procedure (pp.274-275) tells us to calculate a defensive challenge rating, an offensive challenge rating, and then the

Average Challenge Rating. The monster’s final challenge rating is the average of its defensive and offensive challenge ratings. Round the average up or down to the nearest challenge rating to determine your monster’s final challenge rating. For example, if the creature’s defensive challenge rating is 2 and its offensive rating is 3, its final rating is 3.

How are we to take the instruction to "round up or down"?

Does the DMG mean to say that it is DM’s choice (rather than defined procedure) whether to round up or down? And that once that decision is made you move to the nearer CR in that direction?

Or, is this passage saying that the rounding should take you to the nearest CR, regardless of whether this means rounding up or down? For example, if the DCR was 1/2 and the OCR was 2, the average CR would be 1.25, which we would round down to 1, because 1.25 is nearer to 1 than 2. But if the DCR was 3 and the OCR was 1/4, the average CR would be 1.625, and we would round up to 2 because 1.625 is nearer 2 than it is 1.

The example then given shows rounding up, but in the confusing case of 2.5 being equidistant from both 2 and 3, which doesn’t let us parse which of the two possible meanings is intended.

There are a number of CR-calculation questions on this site, but I haven’t found this specific question. I understand that the final CR is by DM fiat, involves many other considerations, and is not a direct result of this specific procedure – I am just trying to understand what the actual procedure described in this passage is.

Ways to heal after casting a spell as an action in the same round


Context

Following this question, I am looking for ways to heal in the same round after casting Beacon of Hope from a Ring of Spell Storing.

I was looking for an abilty like a Divine Channel or an item I could use to heal but didn’t find anything. (and I don’t really know where to search besides Google and the Stackexchange)

Sidenote: I am a level 5 cleric of Qotal but I’m also interested to know how other classes could do.

Can you cast two spells from a Ring of spell storing during the same round using an action and a bonus action?

So I just got acquainted with the existence of Rings of spell storing.

I was wondering: If I had Beacon of Hope and Sanctuary stored in it, could I use the ring to cast both spells on the same turn? Or would it count as 2 actions instead of 1 action and 1 bonus action?

Can a Readied Action be used multiple times in the same round if you have multiple reactions?

A Marilith picks up a Longbow to use in combat. It walks to a tower window overlooking a large battle with many creatures. It takes the Ready Action with a trigger of "when a creature moves or attacks, I will shoot it".
Mariliths can take a reaction on every turn of combat.

Does the Marilith get to shoot every creature on the battlefield before its next turn?