How do the Spirit Guardians and Sanctuary spells interact?

A player in my group asked the DM:

  1. What if Cleric 1 was to cast spirit guardians and go for the heart of battle
  2. Then Cleric 2 cast sanctuary on him
  3. Then Cleric 1 just sits there not actively attacking, probably taking the Dodge action while keeping concentration on his spell.

This makes it OP because he would be sitting there dishing out massive damage, while enemies would have to make a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw to hit him, and if they actually succeed they would have to hit with disadvantage due to the Dodge action.

The crucial point lies in the wording of sanctuary:

If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

Cleric 1 cast spirit guardians before sanctuary came into effect, so he will not attack or cast something for the time being; he just sits there.
But he is also keeping concentration on a spell that harms others.
What do you think? Does the sanctuary spell end or not?

How do the Warding Bond and Sanctuary spells interact?

So I (war cleric) and my friend (paladin) want to use warding bond. It says:

[…] While the target is within 60 feet of you, it gains a +1 bonus to AC and saving throws, and it has resistance to all damage. Also, each time it takes damage, you take the same amount of damage. […]

So the questions are:

  1. If I cast sanctuary on myself, does the enemy who attack my friend have to roll a saving throw first before it hits me because of warding bond? Or does warding bond nullify the sanctuary effect on me?
  2. Is it okay to cast healing spells inside the sanctuary?
  3. If I have the defensive duelist feat, can I use my reaction to nullify the attack I got from warding bond?

How does Twilight Sanctuary interact with other light sources?

The Twilight domain has a channel divinity called Twilight Sanctuary. Among other benefits, it also has the following wording:

The sphere is centered on you, has a 30-foot radius, and is filled with dim light.

Can this actually darken the area if its already in bright light?

The wording "Is filled with dim light" is significantly different than most light sources which specify something along the lines of "shed light in 20 feet." And thematically it makes sense that the twilight cleric would make an area of twilight. But I don’t know if the wording is strong enough to imply that it resists attempts to otherwise illuminate the area. (such as from the sun).

How does Sanctuary interacts with “reflected” damages?

Through a peculiar course of events with a touch of homebrew, my cleric got to learn the spell Armor of Agathys. As a regular user of the Sanctuary spell, I wondered how these spells would interact in the following situation:

  1. Casting Sanctuary on myself as soon as fight starts
  2. Casting Armor of Agathys to add an additional defense
  3. A goblin succeeds the Sanctuary saving throw and hits me with a melee attack
  4. A goblin takes damages due to Armor of Agathys.

Does the Sanctuary spell end because I casted Armor of Agathys and after Sanctuary and the spell affects the gobelin when it takes damages ?

Would Sanctuary end if I were to cast Armor of Agathys 10 mins ago because this dark and shadowy dungeon looked dangerous ?

Would Sanctuary break if the damage reflection came from the effect of racial trait or a kinda spiky enchanted armour ?

How do the Compelled Duel and Sanctuary spells interact?

The sanctuary spell description states:

Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn’t protect the warded creature from area effects, such as the explosion of a fireball.

If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

The description of the compelled duel spell says (PHB, p. 224):

[…] One creature that you can see within range must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature is drawn to you, compelled by your divine demand. For the duration, it has disadvantage on attack rolls against creatures other than you, and must make a Wisdom saving throw each time it attempts to move to a space that is more than 30 feet away from you; if it succeeds on this saving throw, this spell doesn’t restrict the target’s movement for that turn.

The spell ends if you attack any other creature, if you cast a spell that targets a hostile creature other than the target, if a creature friendly to you damages the target or casts a harmful spell on it, or if you end your turn more than 30 feet away from the target.

If someone has cast sanctuary on me, and then I cast compelled duel on an enemy, does this mean that the creature targeted by compelled duel will have to succeed on at least one Wisdom saving throw in order to take any aggressive action toward the PCs without disadvantage?

Is the target of Sanctuary aware of the spell effects?

I am playing a Cleric and regularly use the spell Sanctuary on low life teammates while telling them to back away to safety (short call so I can heal them up and they will stop attacking and avoid breaking the effect).

I had one time when I had to choose whether to say to my Sanctuary target to run away or alert another character from a danger that only my character perceived. I choosed to alert my target but it lead our Wizard to be critically stabbed (he’s fine, merely a flesh wound)

So I was wondering, is the target of Sanctuary aware of the spell effect or should I continue telling them not to break the effect ? If they are aware of the effect, do they just "feel protected" ? Do they also get the intuition that being harmful to another creature will break this protection ?

Does casting Web interrupt the spell Sanctuary?

Does casting web interrupt the spell sanctuary on the caster? If yes, in which moment? Let us consider the case in which there is an enemy creature in the area covered by the web.

Maybe it can be useful underline a couple of things:

  1. When web is cast, no creatures are affected.
  2. A creature will be affected by the web if it is starting/going through its turn there and fails the saving throw.
  3. About sanctuary: if the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

Could you switch your target between two creatures under the effects of sanctuary until you succeed your safe?

The spell sanctuary states

You ward a creature within range against Attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who Targets the warded creature with an Attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the Attack or spell. This spell doesn’t protect the warded creature from area Effects, such as the explosion of a Fireball.

The effects of which are quite obvious when one single creature is warded. However, I am wondering how this would work when two creatures are warded and both within range. Could a monster switch between targetting either of them until they succeed on their save?

As an example: two clerics – Alice and Jasper – are ambushed by an powerful vampire named James, they are fiercely opposed to killing and so instead of harming James they both cast sanctuary on themselves. James attempts to bite Alice but fails his save, he then switches his target to Jasper but fails his save again, now what happens? The spell seems to state that he is to choose a new target and does not appear to prohibit targetting Alice once again, however, that does seem to defeat the purpose of the spell.

So, what happens RAW? and RAI?

Is the Land Druid’s Nature’s Sanctuary feature useless against grapples and shoves?

The Land Druid’s Nature’s Sanctuary feature states (emphasis mine):

[…] When a beast or plant creature attacks you, that creature must make a Wisdom saving throw against your druid spell save DC. On a failed save, the creature must choose a different target, or the attack automatically misses. On a successful save, the creature is immune to this effect for 24 hours. […]

It says that if a creature fails the saving throw and does not choose a new target, their attack misses; however, grapples and shoves cannot hit nor miss. If a creature makes a grapple or shove attempt and fails the saving throw, what happens? Does the feature simply not help against grapples and shoves even though the creature still makes the saving throw?

Is trying to break a door considered a hostile action, as far as Sanctuary spell is concerned?

On page 366 of Pathfinder 2e Core Rulebook, for the Sanctuary spell it states:

You ward a creature with protective energy that deters enemy attacks. Creatures attempting to attack the target must attempt a Will save each time. If the target uses a hostile action, the spell ends.”

Does trying to break a door count as a hostile action? It does not specify if the action is considered hostile only if it is directed towards a creature.