Can an Order of Scribes wizard cast ‘touch’ spells through Manifest Mind?

If I wanted to cast bestow curse via the spectral mind from the Order of Scribes’ Manifest Mind ability on an enemy adjacent to it, would I be able to?

Manifest Mind lets you cast spells ‘as if you were in the spectral mind’s space’, but I’m not quite sure how that interacts with touch spells, given the mind itself is "intangible" (or if that even matters, since technically the spell isn’t saying the mind is the one casting it, and my wizard 50 feet away definitely can’t touch that creature).

(Note that the language of casting through Manifest Mind is not the same as the language used for find familiar, which explicitly specifies touch spells.)

Can an Order of Scribes Awakened Spellbook communicate in any way?

Can an Order of Scribes Wizard’s Awakened Spellbook communicate in any way? This seems like it would be up to the DM but it’s not clear whether it is a possibility or an expectation.

Arguments against communication

No rules text gives the spellbook any languages or abilities to communicate, either by speech or telepathically.

The spellbook is not given the ability to perform any actions independently from its user.

Arguments for communication

The description of the subclass references the Awakened Spellbook as a companion one can talk to.

And while all wizards value spellbooks, a wizard in the Order of Scribes magically awakens their book, turning it into a trusted companion. All wizards study books, but a wizardly scribe talks to theirs!

The Awakened Spellbook feature states that the book is sentient.

Using specially prepared inks and ancient incantations passed down by your wizardly order, you have awakened an arcane sentience within your spellbook.

Beyond that, the subclass features refer to the Awakened Spellbook’s mind as an entity able to take a person’s spectral form, who is able to help on certain skill checks and which has a soul.

Finally, an ability for a sentient magic item to perform actions independently of its user is not unusual for sentient magic items.

In-game treatment

Given all this, how should the Awakened Spellbook be treated?

  • Using the rules for sentient magic items? (DMG p.214)
  • As a sentient but unintelligent entity which doesn’t communicate, as would be the case of a familiar obtained from Find Familiar without Pact of the Chain?
  • Some other way?

How does the Order of Scribes feature Awakened Spellbook work with multiple damage types?

Awakened Spellbook, a level 3 Order of Scribes feature, says the following:

When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook, which magically alters the spell’s formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.

If I cast a spell that deals multiple damage types, for example Ice Knife (https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/ice-knife), how does this work? Could I change both damage types to a different type (for example force damage on initial hit, fire damage on burst) or only the same damage (force damage on both damage rolls). Also, could I switch the two damage types inside the spell, having cold damage on initial hit, and piercing damage on the burst?

Does the Wizard Order of Scribes’ Manifest Mind fly?

According to the updated info in Tasha’s:

As a bonus action while the book is on your person, you can cause the mind to manifest as a Tiny spectral object, hovering in an unoccupied space of your choice within 60 feet of you.

Also,

As a bonus action, you can cause the spectral mind to hover up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space that you or it can see. It can pass through creatures but not objects.

At no point does it say the object can fly, but the only place I can find "hover" in the rules is in regards to Flying:

Fly A monster that has a flying speed can use all or part of its movement to fly. Some monsters have the ability to hover, which makes them hard to knock out of the air. Such a monster stops hovering when it dies.

…but again, the Manifest Mind is not given a fly speed. My thought is that the object hovers just above ground level, and does not have the ability to go above that. It’s also not affected by difficult terrain, etc. Any thoughts from the experts are appreciated.

Can Witch Bolt be repeatedly activated through a Wizard Scribe’s Manifest Mind ability?

The Scribe subclass of the Wizard has the "Manifest Mind" feature, creating a manifested spectral mind that can be moved by the Wizard as a bonus action. Additionally, the Wizard can cast spells through the spectral mind :

Whenever you cast a wizard spell on your turn, you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind’s space, instead of your own, using its senses.

This allows the Scribe to cast spell remotely through the spectral mind .

The spell Witch Bolt can be cast through spectral mind , but it is not clear to me if it’s damage can be repeated if the spectral mind is within 30 feet, but the Wizard himself is more than 30 feet away.

The problematic part of Witch Bolt is the following:

The spell also ends if the target is ever outside the spell’s range or if it has total cover from you.

Is the target is outside the range, if the spectral mind is within 30 feet of the target, but the Wizard isn’t?

Does the Order of Scribes Feature Awakened Spellbook also change the damage type of Absorb Elements?

The Order of Scribes from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything has the "Awakened Spellbook" feature. Part of the feature reads as follows:

When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook, which magically alters the spell’s formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.

Can i change the absorbing damage type of the spell "Absorb Elements"?

Absorb Elements is a spell with casting time of Reaction and an asterisk when the Reaction can take place as follows:

which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage

Can you replace the damage type of the trigger with that feature? That way you could absorb every type of damage with this spell. Absorbing poison, psychic, force or physical damage types.

As an Order of the Scribes Wizard, can I cast a Psychic Fireball at Level 7?

According to the Awakened Spellbook feature of the Order of Scribes school of magic presented in Tasha’s:

When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spell book, which magically alters the spells formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.

So, if my Wizard is 7th level and has Phantasmal Killer not prepared, but in my spellbook, and I cast Fireball using a 4th level spell slot, I can deliver a 9d6 Fireball that deals psychic damage as many times as I have 4th level spell slots available?

Do Order of the Scribes wizards have reduced spell learning GP costs?

The Player’s Handbook uses the following language to explain how wizards obtain spells:

Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.

Copying that spell into your spellbook involves reproducing the basic form of the spell, then deciphering the unique system of notation used by the wizard who wrote it. You must practice the spell until you understand the sounds or gestures required, then transcribe it into your spellbook using your own notation.

For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it. Once you have spent this time and money, you can prepare the spell just like your other spells.

The "Wizardly Quill" ability in the Unearthed Arcana that first described Order of the Scribes wizards used the following language:

• The quill doesn’t require ink. When you write with it, it produces ink in a color of your choice on the writing surface.

• The gold and time you must spend to copy a spell into your spellbook are halved if you use the quill for the transcription.

In the final release of the class through Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, the language has changed to the following:

• The quill doesn’t require ink. When you write with it, it produces ink in a color of your choice on the writing surface.

• The time you must spend to copy a spell into your spellbook equals 2 minutes per spell level if you use the quill for the transcription.

There are, it seems, at least two interpretations of how this affects spell learning costs:

  1. Wizardly Quill does not say anything about the GP cost of learning spells, and therefore, the costs remain unchanged.
  2. Wizardly Quill reduces the cost of ink to 0 GP. Spells cost 50 GP/level when learning spells that require costly material components (e.g. Find Familiar). Spells cost 0 GP/level when learning spells whose material components are substituted by an arcane focus (e.g. Feather Fall).

My inclination, based on the Rule of Specificity, is to rule for the first option.