Can I pretend to be casting from a spell scroll, but instead cast normally, or vice versa?

I’m wondering if, while I’m casting normally I can pretend to be casting from the scroll I’m ‘reading’ in front of my eyes. Or if I can do the opposite, read a scroll while pretending to perform a spell using falsified verbal, somatic, and material components. I have devised this as a shenanigan for fooling a mage with counterspell. Which is the main strategy my character would rely on for dealing with pesky mages.

Note that 5e doesn’t specify what it means to read. So I’m using the lexical definition that google gives for what it means to read:

“[To] look at and comprehend the meaning of written or printed matter by mentally interpreting the characters or symbols of which it is composed.

This would free up the verbal component needed to cast spells. I’m fine if an answer refutes this last point as I understand 5e doesn’t define the requirements for reading a scroll.

What is the history behind the “single-use spell scroll”?

The concept of a spell being stored on a scroll, which can be used once and then vanishes, shows up in numerous tabletop and video game RPGs. From a game design perspective, the idea of a one-use spell is sensible. But considering that the whole idea of writing is to record information permanently, the idea that a single-use spell should take the form of a scroll of all things is kind of unintuitive. What’s the history behind this idea? Is it based off of some old mythology or folklore, or was it a later invention?

Who is able to cast a spell from a spell scroll in D&D 5e?

Back in AD&D, a spell scroll was created by basically casting a spell onto a specially prepared scroll. The next person to read said scroll was able to cast the spell exactly as the original creator.

I don’t think that’s how it works in 5e. In fact, I thought I’d read somewhere that only a member of a spell casting class that’s able to use the spell inscribed on a spell scroll is able to use that scroll. But I can’t for the life of me find where this is written!!

So, who is able to cast a spell from a spell scroll?

Who can cast a spell from a scroll?

In the default GURPS 4e Magic rules, it’s not very clear who can cast a spell by reading a scroll, or under what conditions.

In a “Normal Mana” region, one must have at least Magery 0 to cast a spell one knows — but there are variations on this based on local mana level. In High Mana, anyone (Mage or not) can cast a spell they know, while in Low Mana a -5 modifier to spell skill is used to determine casting success even by a Mage.

Assuming the scroll is written in a language the would-be caster can read fluently enough, does casting from a scroll follow the same variations based on mana level (with the scroll substituting for “knowing” the spell), or is it always accessible to mages only?

If you cast a higher-level spell from a spell scroll with a casting time of 1 action, but fail the check, can you cast a bonus-action spell that turn?

The bonus-action spellcasting rule states (PHB p. 202):

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

The description of a spell scroll states (DMG p. 200):

If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check using your spellcasting ability to determine whether you cast it successfully. The DC equals 10 + spell’s level. On a failed check, the spell disappears from the scroll with no other effect.

If you fail the check to cast the higher-level spell via the scroll, does the spell count as being cast despite there being no effect?

This question is very similar to this one – If a spell cast from a Spell Scroll is Counterspelled, is the scroll consumed? – but I am not sure if the answers in that question apply to this situation as well.

What does it take to use a scroll?

Using a scroll doesn’t take any material components. Instead, these were used up when scribing the scroll. However, other than that the book isn’t exactly clear on what one must provide in order to use a scroll.

I am not talking about the requirements to be able to use a scroll. I am talking about what is needed to actually use it. For example, does a scroll still require verbal and/or somatic components? Is use of a scroll always a set amount of time, or does it take an amount of time equal to the casting time of the original spell?

How to implement an infinite scroll or Ajax load more

My site is www.grubnglug.co.uk. I use geomywp to search/filter and display posts and do not want to change it.

My question is, how can I implement infinite scrolling or Ajax load more button functionality on the posts, so i can get rid of the ugly pagination buttons.

I tried various plugins but they all load the posts independently rather than integrating with geomywp /it’s template for displaying postsand infinitely loading them.

As a result I end up with two lots of posts – one infinitely loaded and the other as it is currently, with the pagination buttons.

I don’t have coding skills beyond minor tweaks. I’m lost 🙁

Should I use a left aligned scroll bar?

Usually, users expect scroll bars to be at the right side of the content they want to scroll. My page menu is located on the left side of the page however and is intended to be scrolled separately (navigations layout looks like roughly like this.

Can I risk putting my scroll bar left to the menu instead of right? It might make my page layout more balanced (one progress bar to the left, one to the right). I wonder if users would feel too unconfortable with it though so I went here.