Can an Unseen Servant “wear” clothes, such as a robe or cloak?

Is it possible to put a robe or cloak over an Unseen Servant, potentially fooling others into thinking that the Unseen Servant is actually a person?

The spells say the servant is a "invisible, mindless, shapeless, medium force", but it is unclear to me how such "force" interact with clothing.

The servant can clean, mend, and fold clothes, so clearly it can manipulate clothes in some capacities. The servant can also perform simple tasks that a human servant could do, and presumably wearing clothes is such a task.

However, the Unseen Servant is shapeless, so I’m not sure if it would be possible to put a piece of clothing over it.

Are conditional, sequential and looping instructions understood by an Unseen Servant?

In this question, the Unseen Servant was somehow compared to a computer, which got me thinking. As a programmer, I know that a computer, although mindless, is very good at fulfilling conditional (“if something is true then do this, else do that”), sequential (“do this then do that”) and looping (“do this while something is true”, and “do this for that amount of times”) tasks. Also, a computer is provided with a System Clock, and is therefore able to perform Waits. Therefore, this is a 7-in-1 question:

  1. Can an Unseen Servant fulfill conditional tasks? (ex : “pour wine into each empty glass” – in other words, if the glass if already filled, don’t pour wine in it, else do it)

  2. Can it fulfill sequential tasks? (ex: “pour wine into my glass, then bring it to me”)

  3. Can it fulfill looping tasks? (ex: “Pour wine into my glass every minute for 20 minutes”)

  4. If it can do all three separately, can it do them all together? (ex: “Every minute for 20 minutes, for each empty glass, if it’s empty, pour wine into it then bring it to their respective owner, else don’t touch it”)

  5. Can an Unseen Servant be fed a series of instructions via text (ex: “do what is written on this paper”) or speech (ex: “do what any of my Magic Mouths will tell you to do when one starts giving orders” – so if you have several Magic Mouths, the trigger of the second Magic Mouth’s speech might be something caused by one of the first Magic Mouth’s instructions to the Unseen Servant… which essentially results in something like a function call in programming)? For this to work, the Unseen Servant must either have sight+reading abilities, or hearing+language abilities. The spell specifies you give telepathic commands to the Servant, but does not say if textual/verbal commands from your own voice work as well. The closest thing is a comparison to a human servant, so it might or might not work out.

  6. Can an Unseen Servant wait for a given time interval before doing a task step ? (how it would work out : as it takes a turn (6 seconds) for an Unseen Servant to move 15 feet, it therefore takes it 1 second to move 2.5 feet, so if you tell an Unseen Servant to move in circles for 2.5X feet before doing a step, then you essentially delay the step by X seconds)


As soon as I can, I’ll put a big bounty on this question for the first person who puts a satisfying answer (either “yes” or “no”, as long as the explanation is very good and all 7 questions are answered) because it’s really important for me to get these answers.

Can an Unseen Servant trigger an Alarm spell, and can said Alarm be customized?

As an Unseen Servant is "shapeless", its size is not defined. The Alarm spell, however, relies on a creature’s size (Tiny or larger) to be activated. Therefore, I’m not sure if an Unseen Servant, when commanded to walk through a location containing an Alarm, would trigger said Alarm or not. I would think it does, but I might be wrong (maybe the Unseen Servant’s size value is "null"), hence the question.

Also, one of the two ways to receive an Alarm notification is mental. I’m wondering whether that notification can be customized, so that if the Unseen Servant crosses through Alarm #1, you can get a different "ping" than for Alarm #2. Again, I would think so, but it’s better to verify (maybe it’s always the same sound regardless).

Finally, I’m almost certain that if you go back and forth through an Alarm zone, you will repetitively get the "ping", but I just want to be 100% sure.

Can a Spell with “Self” Range be Cast by Homunculus Servant?

I’m playing an artificer for the first time and trying to decide whether or not to use an infusion for the homunculus servant. But I’m wondering about the channel magic ability. It says “The homunculus delivers a spell you cast that has a range of touch.” I’d like to know if I can use a spell with a range of self in place of a spell with a range of touch.

As far as I understand it, broader ranges are inclusive of smaller ranges, so if you can cast a spell at sixty feet, you can also cast it at fifteen feet because fifteen feet is closer than sixty feet. And if you can cast it at a distance of touch you can cast it on yourself, because you are closer than the furthest thing you can touch. So I’m really wondering if the same reasoning that applies to the effect of the spell applies to the ability to cast the spell. If you can cast a spell at a range of touch does that imply that you can also cast a spell with a range of self?

Differences between Mage Hand, Unseen Servant and Find Familiar [closed]

I’m playing LMoP at the moment as a player and I’m trying to see reasons why a player would choose Unseen Servant over Find Familiar. Related question – what makes Unseen Servant worth taking instead of Mage Hand?

Here’s a small comparison table I’ve created when I was trying to figure it out. I do understand that different DMs can rule things differently, but still I’m looking for opinions.

Mage Hand Unseen Servant Find Familiar
Casting time action action/10 minutes 1 hour
Casting cost 0 gp 0 gp 10 gp
Duration 1 minute 1 hour until killed/dispelled
Command time action bonus action free action
Multiple no yes no
Help action no no yes
Carrying capacity 10 lbs 60 lbs 90 lbs (depends on Str)
Movement 30 ft 15 ft 60 ft
Separate initiative no no yes
Scout no no yes
Drop items in combat yes yes yes
Open doors yes yes no
Delivering spells no no yes
Invisible no yes no

Can unseen servant “fly”?


An unseen servant is an invisible, mindless, shapeless force that performs simple tasks at your command. It can run and fetch things, open unstuck doors, and hold chairs, as well as clean and mend. The servant can perform only one activity at a time, but it repeats the same activity over and over again if told to do so as long as you remain within range. It can open only normal doors, drawers, lids, and the like. It has an effective Strength score of 2 (so it can lift 20 pounds or drag 100 pounds). It can trigger traps and such, but it can exert only 20 pounds of force, which is not enough to activate certain pressure plates and other devices. It can’t perform any task that requires a skill check with a DC higher than 10 or that requires a check using a skill that can’t be used untrained. Its speed is 15 feet.

Can I send the servant into the air above my head, or above the head of enemies?

Can an Unseen Servant do things that require ability checks?


Once on each of your turns as a bonus action, you can mentally command the servant to move up to 15 feet and interact with an object. The servant can perform simple tasks that a human servant could do, such as fetching things, cleaning, mending, folding clothes, lighting fires, serving food, and pouring wine. Once you give the command, the servant performs the task to the best of its ability until it completes the task, then waits for your next command.

(PHB p. 284)

What happens if the Unseen Servant e.g. tries to steal gold out of a pocket? Or if he is commanded to pick a lock? I would consider those as “simple tasks that a human servant could do”.

Can an Unseen Servant do actions that require ability checks (apart from attacking, which is explicitely prohibited) and if yes, does the caster add his relevant modifier and proficiency bonus?

Can an Unseen Servant be physically touched and manipulated?

The Unseen Servant spell creates

…an invisible, mindless, shapeless force…

…It has AC 10, 1 hit point, and a Strength of 2, and it can’t attack. If it drops to 0 hit points, the spell ends…

This shapeless force has a strength score and can interact with objects, including carrying them. It can take damage, though what forms that damage take are left unspecified. Does this mean an Unseen Servant can be physically manipulated and interacted with? Here are a series of related sub-questions:

1) Can an Unseen Servant be picked up, shoved, carried, or pushed aside?

2) Can it be commanded to “ride” or “hang on” to another willing character (such as the party fighter) as a means of allowing it to keep up with a group moving faster than 15ft a round?

2b) If so, does it have weight?

3) Can an Unseen Servant displace water, fog, and other substances?

3b) If so, can it be used to create a small “window” in fog, allowing a character in fog to see through the servant to a space without fog?

3c) If it does displace other materials, could careful observation of this phenomenon allow a character to “spot” an Unseen Servant?

Can Rainbow Servant be combined with Versatile Spellcaster and Spontaneous Divination to cast all Cleric spells spontaneously?

A ridiculous idea has occurred to me and I’m looking to verify if really works. Consider the following build:

  • Wizard 5/Rainbow Servant 10 (a class from Complete Divine)
  • At Wizard 5, take Spontaneous Divination from Complete Champion so that you qualify for Versatile Spellcaster from Races of the Dragon.
  • Take Versatile Spellcaster at some point.
  • At Rainbow Servant 10, you gain access to the entire Cleric spell list.
  • Put together, Versatile Spellcaster and Rainbow Servant 10 should let a Wizard cast spontaneously from the entire Cleric spell list.

This gives me two questions, the first as a focus and the second as a supplemental:

  1. Does this actually work? My first objection is that I’m not quite sure if the Wizard automatically knows all of the Cleric spells at Rainbow Servant 10. If you have to record them in your spellbook, you’ll soon run out of gold.
  2. If this does work, can the "powerful non-Diviner spellcaster class that can also cast spontaneously from the entire Cleric spell list" idea be done better? The term "Rainbow Warake" seems to be in my memory.

Homunculus Servant using magical items

I’m playing an artificer that recently took the infusion for a Homunculus Servant. The party has an extra animated shield. I -think- the following is acceptable, but I wanted to see if I got it wrong anywhere.

  • Homunculus is considered a creature and thus has three attunement slots it can use. Furthermore being intelligent it could actually do so if directed.

  • Using magical tinkering, I could give it a small item that when tapped would speak the animated shield’s ‘activation’ word.

  • The Homunculus could, therefore, with proper instruction, actively use an Animated shield during combat?

Right? Am I missing anything? That’s all completely legal without bending any rules? Also, we’re using the flanking rules, it should qualify as a threat to be able to flank things right? It has its own attack.