The Unseen Servant spell creates
…an invisible, mindless, shapeless force…
…It has AC 10, 1 hit point, and a Strength of 2, and it can’t attack. If it drops to 0 hit points, the spell ends…
This shapeless force has a strength score and can interact with objects, including carrying them. It can take damage, though what forms that damage take are left unspecified. Does this mean an Unseen Servant can be physically manipulated and interacted with? Here are a series of related sub-questions:
1) Can an Unseen Servant be picked up, shoved, carried, or pushed aside?
2) Can it be commanded to “ride” or “hang on” to another willing character (such as the party fighter) as a means of allowing it to keep up with a group moving faster than 15ft a round?
2b) If so, does it have weight?
3) Can an Unseen Servant displace water, fog, and other substances?
3b) If so, can it be used to create a small “window” in fog, allowing a character in fog to see through the servant to a space without fog?
3c) If it does displace other materials, could careful observation of this phenomenon allow a character to “spot” an Unseen Servant?
A ridiculous idea has occurred to me and I’m looking to verify if really works. Consider the following build:
- Wizard 5/Rainbow Servant 10 (a class from Complete Divine)
- At Wizard 5, take Spontaneous Divination from Complete Champion so that you qualify for Versatile Spellcaster from Races of the Dragon.
- Take Versatile Spellcaster at some point.
- At Rainbow Servant 10, you gain access to the entire Cleric spell list.
- Put together, Versatile Spellcaster and Rainbow Servant 10 should let a Wizard cast spontaneously from the entire Cleric spell list.
This gives me two questions, the first as a focus and the second as a supplemental:
- Does this actually work? My first objection is that I’m not quite sure if the Wizard automatically knows all of the Cleric spells at Rainbow Servant 10. If you have to record them in your spellbook, you’ll soon run out of gold.
- If this does work, can the "powerful non-Diviner spellcaster class that can also cast spontaneously from the entire Cleric spell list" idea be done better? The term "Rainbow Warake" seems to be in my memory.
I’m playing an artificer that recently took the infusion for a Homunculus Servant. The party has an extra animated shield. I -think- the following is acceptable, but I wanted to see if I got it wrong anywhere.
Homunculus is considered a creature and thus has three attunement slots it can use. Furthermore being intelligent it could actually do so if directed.
Using magical tinkering, I could give it a small item that when tapped would speak the animated shield’s ‘activation’ word.
The Homunculus could, therefore, with proper instruction, actively use an Animated shield during combat?
Right? Am I missing anything? That’s all completely legal without bending any rules? Also, we’re using the flanking rules, it should qualify as a threat to be able to flank things right? It has its own attack.
Can I give my Unseen Servant an order that requires a specific circumstance to initiate?
For example can I say: "Follow me and poor this potion in my mouth if I fall prone." ?
The servant can perform simple tasks that a human servant could do.
Seems to indicate that it could.
Does an Unseen Servant holding a shield (or other object within its weight allowance) and ordered to walk in front of you offer cover? If so, is it 1/2 cover or 3/4 cover?
Say a rogue is fighting an enemy, and either they or someone else has unseen servant and they sent it to engage that enemy. Can the rogue now use a sneak attack?
Unseen servant is very clearly described as an entity that shouldn’t be used or useful in combat, this seems to go against that idea. In the same vein, rogues get sneak attack when there are others supporting them, again, the idea of them (if multiclassing) using a spell for this seems to be more of a loophole than a valid strategy.
Unseen servant reads:
Once on each of your turns as a bonus action, you can mentally command the servant to move up to 15 feet and interact with an object. The servant can perform simple tasks that a human servant could do, such as fetching things, cleaning, mending, folding clothes, lighting fires, serving food, and pouring wine. Once you give the command, the servant performs the task to the best of its ability until it completes the task, then waits for your next command.
Assume I used my bonus action to command it to give the healing potion in my pocket to another character, and that it is within reach when I do. It would take a player one turn to complete the task. A free item interaction to draw the potion, then movement, followed by an action to safely pass it over. But the unseen servant seems to be solely capable of movement then a single item interaction.
How many turns would it take for it to perform this task? And if two or more are necessary what is the order of operations? Can it move after interacting with an object?
The spell says:
The servant springs into existence in an unoccupied space on the ground within range.
Does the servant need to stay on the ground, or can it move through the air?
Ideally I’m looking for rules-as-written, although since the spell definition does not explicitly say, it would be reasonable to perhaps reference other rules than the spell. Interpretative answers, answers referencing previous editions or lore, or from personal experience might be useful.
So, I’m a little bit confused here. On ERLW pg. 62, from the Homunculus Servant entry, it reads;
“The item you infuse serves as the creature’s heart, around which the creature’s body instantly forms.”
And it continues on to say;
“If it dies, it vanishes, leaving its heart in its space.”
Given this, I can see two distinct possibilities. 1. The infusion fades and you must infuse the gem again. 2. The infusion remains, and its body reappears after it regains hit points.
Since it doesn’t indicate the infusion fades, I’m leaning towards the second option, but I’m not sure. Which case is it, or is it some other option I haven’t considered?
Is it possible for a creature created by the Tiny Servant spell to wield and use a magic item, such as a wand of magic missiles?