Can a wereraven shadow monk cast darkness in raven form?

In my ongoing Curse of Strahd game,

The question has arisen about what spells a wood elf Way of the Shadow Monk would have access to in the various wereraven forms.

In the humanoid (wood elf) form, all spell casting would be available as normal.

In the hybrid form, most spell casting would still be available, as the hybrid has hands (S), voice (V), and Ki (M). She would just need to remember to bring her fleece after all her gear drops to the ground when changing forms in order to cast minor illusion.

In the raven form, however, most spellcasting would be lost, as the bird does not have hands (S). However, one possible spell retained is darkness, which does not have a Somatic component and which instead is just V, M. The Material components are replaced with Ki, as described in the subclass’ abilities. But can the wereraven’s ability to Mimic serve as the Verbal component?

Mimicry. The wereraven can mimic simple sounds it has heard, such as a person whispering, a baby crying, or an animal chittering. A creature that hears the sounds can tell they are imitations with a successful DC 10 Wisdom (Insight) check.

Is this mimicry close enough to actual sounds that it could serve as the verbal component of the spell? Or is it just imitation sound, not actual ‘sounds of power, and insufficient?

Note that the ‘verbal’ component of spells derives its power not from the words themselves but because the words sound like powerful magical sounds

Most spells require the chanting of mystic words. The words themselves aren’t the source of the spell’s power; rather, the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion.

This related question asks whether a wild shaped druid can speak in raven form. On the one hand, actual speaking would require far more verbal repertoire than casting a single action spell. On the other hand, perhaps the ‘sounds of power’ in a spell need to actually really spoken rather than just imitation sounds.

This related question concludes that Kenku can cast spells with verbal components, but it is primarily supported by a Crawford tweet that says "Kenku speak" and ravens seem more limited to me. At the level of mechanics, raven mimicry is detected by a DC-limited Insight check, while Kenku mimicry is detected by a contested Insight vs. Deception check, hinting that the Kenku is more personally in control of their ‘speech’ and some are better than others.

Can shadow arrow be used as a wand of enemy detection?

Magic exists which can divine the intentions of other creatures toward me.

"Wand of Enemy Detection"

While holding it, you can use an action and expend 1 charge to speak its Command Word. For the next minute, you know the direction of the nearest creature Hostile to you within 60 feet, but not its distance from you. The wand can sense the presence of Hostile creatures that are ethereal, Invisible, disguised, or hidden, as well as those in plain sight.

Arcane Archer: Shadow Arrow (emphasis mine)

You weave illusion magic into your arrow, causing it to occlude your foe’s vision with shadows. The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 psychic damage, and it must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be unable to see anything farther than 5 feet away until the start of your next turn.

Abilities and Effects do what they say they do. There is no fluff in descriptions. As written, it appears that if I hit a creature with my Shadow Arrow, it does regular arrow damage plus 2d6 psychic damage. In addition, if the creature hit is my foe, it must make a Wisdom save or have its vision occluded.

Suppose I want to determine if an NPC of uncertain loyalty is my foe or not. I hit him with Shadow Arrows. If his vision becomes occluded, he must be my foe. If not, he is either not my foe or he has made his save.

  1. Does the Shadow Arrow really know who is my foe, similar to a wand of enemy detection, or does it assume that anyone I would shoot at must be my foe?

  2. If the latter, could an NPC that was trying to gain my trust volunteer to receive my arrow? Would that affect the result if they were being truthful? Deceptive?

  3. If my DM has me roll critical fails as attacks on allies when I fire into a melee, can I be confident that my shadow arrow will not be able to occlude the vision of anyone friendly to me?

Related: What is the definition of hostile?

What is the difference between "hostile" and "enemy"?

What is considered an enemy for an Orc's Aggressive trait?

Does the Arcane Archer’s Shadow Arrow inhibit blindsight, tremorsense, and/or truesight?

Shadow Arrow:

You weave illusion magic into your arrow, causing it to occlude your foe’s vision with shadows. The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 psychic damage, and it must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be unable to see anything farther than 5 feet away until the start of your next turn.

Blindsight:

A creature with blindsight can perceive its surroundings without relying on sight, within a specific radius.

If a creature with blindsight (like a Flying Sword) fails its saving throw against an arcane archer’s Shadow Arrow, is its ability to perceive enemies via blindsight restricted? Would creatures with truesight or tremorsense be handled the same way?

It seems to me that this is fairly straightforward, but upon reading this question about opportunity attacks, there seem to be cases where the word "see" is used more generically as all forms of perception.

Is there a minimum requirement for a character to have line of effect with Shadow Jaunt/Stride/Blink?

I’m pretty sure this has been asked already but I can’t find the question in question, so I hope I don’t break any rules by asking again.

The Shadow X maneuvers from Shadow Hand have a line of effect and line of sight requirement to work. Let’s say I want to teleport through a hole in a wall. According to both line rules, as long as I can see though the hole and there is nothing obstructing the path though the hole, I should be able to teleport though it.

Is there a minimum size the hole has to be for my character to be able to traverse the hole?

Are Shadow Assassins proficient with Sawtooth Sabre?

Are Shadow Assassins proficient with Sawtooth Sabre?

In RAW, how proficient is the shadow assassin with the sawtooth sabre?

Weapon and Armor Proficiency
A shadow assassin is proficient in all simple weapons, all light weapons, as well as bolas, net, repeating crossbow (light only), shuriken, spiked chain, and whip. The shadow assassin is proficient with light armor and small shields, but not heavy shields or tower shields.

Sabre, Sawtoothed Category: [light] Proficiency: [exotic]
A sawtooth sabre may be used as a Martial Weapon (in which case it functions identically to a longsword).
If you have the Exotic Weapon Proficiency (sawtooth sabre) feat, for the purpose of two-weapon fighting you can treat it as a light melee weapon; for all other purposes, it is a one-handed melee weapon.

Here’s scenarios we’ve been discussing:

  1. SA can not wield SS proficiently, since the SS is an [exotic] weapon.
  2. SA can wield SS proficiently, but cannot use it as a [light] weapon due to lacking the Exotic Weapon Proficiency feat.
  3. SA can wield SS proficiently and as a light weapon, since the SS is a [light] weapon and SA have proficiency in "all light weapons".

If a dragon becomes a shadow dragon, would it still be subject to a previously cast True Polymorph’s reversal?

Story / example: A Harpy gets Truly Polymorphed into a wyrmling Brass dragon. Over eight centuries she eventually becomes ancient and powerful – albeit a bit weird with her harpy-like personality and alignment.

As an avid reader of StackExchange she becomes a bit paranoid. She is concerned: should a Magical Dispelling get past her three daily uses of Legendary Resistance she would, once again, be that stupid, nasty, dirty little girl with those grimy-grubby wings… that happens to sing quite well. As such, she plots.

She sends herself into some Shifting Planes, ending up in Fell Shadows. Assuming success, she becomes one Shadow Dragon creature / template / archetype / true dragon / thingy.

"Aha!" she shrieks with delight, "Now i am genuinely a dragon… a DRAGON FOREVER!! Take THAT, Exchangers of Stack!" The cold hard rain falls as lightning cascades in the distance ominously. Indeed, has this mere harpy of a girl outwitted us?


Question: Does a transformation into an entirely different creature (such as changing types &/or transforming bodies) mean that Dispel Magic cannot undo a ‘permanent’ True Polymorph spell? Or does this apparently-totally-‘new’-creature take this polymorphic-dispelability along with them?

Does the shadow sorcerer Eyes of the Dark feature negate sunlight sensitivity for creatures like drow in 5e?

The shadow sorcerer feature at 1st level known as Eyes of the Dark reads: From 1st level, you have darkvision with a range of 120 feet.

I would like to play a Drow character, does this negate sunlight sensitivity since you are getting superior darkvision from a new source that does not provide sunlight sensitivity?

I have heard that the warlock’s Devil’s sight provides a similar effect that negates sunlight sensitvity, would this also apply to the shadow sorcerer?

What’s a Shadow Weapon’s hardness?

The first-level spell shadow weapon creates an illusionary weapon the caster can wield. Consequently, the weapon thereby produced may find itself subjected to all manner of hostile effects by enemies who believe the weapon to be real (those who don’t aren’t usually too scared of the 1 damage it might inflict). It’s unclear from the spell description, however, what the hardness and hp should be. How does one calculate that, and what are the values?

Can a quasi-real shadow weapon be broken?

I am building an oracle with the Wrecker curse, which states:

Held objects gain the broken condition when you use or equip them but regain their actual condition if employed by anyone else. If a held item is restored to unbroken condition, it becomes broken again the following round.

I would like to take the Shadow mystery, and the Shadow Armament revelation, which states:

You can create a quasi-real simple or martial masterwork weapon appropriate for your current size. You are considered proficient with this weapon. The first time you hit a creature with this weapon, that creature can attempt a Will save to disbelieve; failure means the weapon deals damage normally, while success means the creature takes only 1 point of damage from the weapon’s attacks. The weapon deals only 1 point of damage to objects.

This matches the description of a quasi-real weapon in the description of the spell Shadow Weapon:

Drawing upon the Plane of Shadow, you shape a quasi-real masterwork melee weapon of a type you are proficient with. You may use this weapon to make attacks as if it were a real weapon, dealing normal damage for a weapon of its type. The first time you hit a creature with the weapon, it may make a Will save to disbelieve; failure means the weapon deals damage normally, success means it only takes 1 point of damage from the weapon’s attacks. The weapon only deals 1 point of damage to objects.

The description of the broken condition states:

Items that have taken damage in excess of half their total hit points gain the broken condition, meaning they are less effective at their designated task. The broken condition has the following effects, depending upon the item.

  • If the item is a weapon, any attacks made with the item suffer a –2 penalty on attack and damage rolls. Such weapons only score a critical hit on a natural 20 and only deal ×2 damage on a confirmed critical hit.
  • If the item does not fit into any of these categories, the broken condition has no effect on its use.

It is clear that the quasi-real shadow weapon is a weapon. However, the wording of Shadow Weapon is careful to distinguish it from a "real weapon", stating only that it may "make attacks as if it were a real weapon", implying that it does not normally count as a real weapon.

So based on interpretation, one of the following scenarios must occur:

  1. My Shadow Armament is a weapon, therefore it is broken by my Wrecker curse as soon as I summon it, meaning my curse is ruining my revelation.
  2. My Shadow Armament is not a real weapon, therefore it is not broken by my Wrecker curse, as a real weapon would be, and is therefore a weapon I can safely use.

I really like the idea of the latter thematically, and that’s the one I personally interpret as being correct, but I wanted to know if there’s any additional information I might have missed somewhere that could explicitly state if one or the other should be the case.

Can a quasi-real shadow weapon be broken?

What happens when a Shadow Blade on which Darkness has been cast disappears?

The darkness spells states the following:

If the point the darkness spreads from is an object you’re holding or one that isn’t being worn or carried, the darkness comes from and moves with the object.

However, there is no prescription for what happens if the object that the darkness is following is broken (What happens to the darkness spell if it is cast on an object that then breaks?) or destroyed, such as when shadow blade disappears after being let go of by the wielder/caster. What would happen to the darkness spell and its positioning? What would happen if the same object were to reappear in space, as is in this case suggested by the phrasing of the shadow blade spell (emphasis mine):

While the spell lasts, you can use a bonus action to make the sword reappear in your hand.

To me, the most reasonable outcome in the event of the object outright being removed from existence is that the darkness stops being emitted, as the darkness is stated to ‘come from’ the object. The darkness would then reappear should the same object reappear, provided that the spell hasn’t ended (no trigger for which has been activated).