Is my Quicken Shadows spell the right level?

I have designed this spell:

Quicken Shadows

5th level necromancy

Casting Time: 1 action

Range: 90 ft

Components: V S

Duration: Instantaneous

Classes: Wizard, Sorcerer, Warlock

The shadows of your enemies are animated and turn against their owners. Choose up to ten humanoids that you can see in range. A shadow (CR 1/2) appears in an unoccupied space next to them and immediately begins attacking them. These shadows disappear if their owner is killed. Also, if their owner is killed, no new shadows rise from the corpse.

At Higher Levels: When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 6th level or higher, you can target one additional creature for each slot level above 5th.

I currently have it listed as 5th level. Is this appropriate? Similar 4th level spells only summon 4 CR 1/2 creatures, while this one can summon up to ten. But this one can only summon Shadows. Also it can only summon one per enemy.

Is this “Circle of Shadows” Druid Circle balanced compared to Circle of the Moon

I came up with my own subclass. I modeled it slightly after the Circle of the Moon, which is why I’m specifically asking for comparison to it. Well, here it is.

Druid Circle: Circle of Shadows

Once there was a dark elf, he had had his heart set on joining a druid circle. All of those circles shunned him. He started his own circle. The circle of shadows.

Shaded Form

“The shadow didn’t consume me; I consumed the shadow.”

Starting at 2nd level, when you use wild shape, you can transform into a Shadow. You also learn the Umbraturgy cantrip. Finally, you gain darkvision for 60ft, if you already had it, it increases by 60ft.

Shadow Enhanced Strikes

“The shadow moves with me; we are becoming one.”

Starting at 6th level, your attacks in regular form and beast from are considered magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity, in addition, you can spend a spell slot and enhance a weapon. The weapon you enhanced does an extra 1d4 necrotic damage on a hit per level of expanded spell slot.

Improved Shadow Form

“The shadow climbs into my soul, second by second it reaches more.”

At 14th level, when you use wild shape, you can transom into a wraith. You gain the benefits of shadow enhanced strikes while in this form.

A True Wraith

I join hands with my shadow we sing songs of praise to the darkness that is inside me. and the darkness the he is made of. I am one with the shadow.”

At 14th level, you now can expand a spell slot to gain a hovering speed but can hover no more than 5ft off the ground. The hovering speed equals the level of the spell slot spend times 10 (1st level = 10ft 2nd level = 20ft etc.) In addition, you can cast the invisibility spell (lowest level) at will, but you must be in dim light or darkness.

Umbraturgy Cantrip

Is One with Shadows eldritch invocation possible after certain bonus/free actions?

I’m currently playing a Warlock/ Rogue multiclass character and I’m curious about the limitations of the One With Shadows invocation.

One with Shadows

Prerequisite: 5th level

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

The question is:

Is it possible to take a movement, either a regular move or a cunning action and then use your action to become invisible (assuming the other conditions are met?)

Certainly, movement (or any other bonus action) after becoming invisible is not allowed (Because bonus actions are actions) but it’s unclear exactly what’s allowed in a turn before using your official action to become invisible.

To me, all the ‘cunning action’ bonus actions would seem to be permitted, as long as I’m allowed a full action after any of them.

Cunning Action

Starting at 2nd level, your quick thinking and agility allow you to move and act quickly. You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action.

So it seems to me you could do any of the following before taking an action to become invisible:

  • Dash
  • Disengage & Move
  • Move and hide

Is this correct, or am I missing something in the action economy and/or order of actions, bonus actions, and movement?

What exactly are the sources from which you can copy spells into a Book of Shadows?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PHB p. 110):

On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the spell’s level is equal to or less than half your warlock level (rounded up) and if you can spare the time to transcribe the spell. For each level of the spell, the transcription process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp for the rare inks needed to inscribe it.

The top answer to this question suggests that you can copy any spells that have the (ritual) tag that you find in a wizard’s spellbook or in the ritual book of someone with the Ritual Caster feat. This other question suggests that you can also copy from a scroll, including non-wizard spell scrolls with the (ritual) tag. Are there any other sources?

I’m looking for either a rules/Sage Advice/similar citation on how this works, or failing that, personal experience regarding the effect of allowing or disallowing certain sources. (Also I realize this is technically a list question, but there should be a single correct answer that is short, well-constrained, and static barring a major rules change.)

Could a Warlock use the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to remain invisible during a long rest/sleep?

The warlock’s One with Shadows eldritch invocation presents an interesting opportunity: it gives you invisibility without requiring concentration. Specifically (PHB, p. 111):

One with Shadows

Prerequisite: 5th level

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

Unlike the invisibility spell, this would not necessarily end if the warlock became unconscious. However, the wording that says that this spell ends if you “move or take an action or a reaction” seems to imply that this invisibility is usually intended to last for a very short duration.

But it occurred to me that outside of combat, people often don’t do much that technically requires an action, especially if they are at rest. And at other times, it has been indicated that “moving” (for the purpose of magical triggers) refers to moving in the sense of spending movement to change your location on a 2D grid (not becoming prone, or standing up from prone).

So I was wondering: could a warlock use an action to Hide1, then use the One with Shadows invocation to become invisible, then simply lie down and go to sleep for 8 hours (for a long rest), while remaining invisible (and likely hidden)?

Put another way: is there some action, reaction, or move required during a long rest?


1 I included the part about Hiding because according to the rules as written, an unhidden creature that is invisible is still apparent to creatures around it (it can’t be seen, but they know where it is). So I wanted to include the hiding part to avoid that argument. And I did so beforehand, because using the Hide action while invisible would break the invisibility.

What creatures (if any) are immune to a Shadow’s strength drain ability?

Shadows are powerful / feared for their strength drain ability:

Strength Drain: Melee Weapon Attack: +4 to hit, reach 5ft., one creature. Hit: 9 (2d6 + 2) necrotic damage, and the target’s Strength score is reduced by 1d4. The target dies if this reduces its Strength to 0. […]

Monster Manual p. 269

Some creatures resist or are immune to necrotic damage, yet there seems to be no mention of creatures immune to death by strength loss. Logically a lich or shadow-dragon is not immune.

Concerns Ad Absurdum:

  • Someone dumps a large Bucket of Shadows on a lich. Lich dies.

  • Shadowdragon breath kills 100 townspeople. The newly minted (angry) shadows touch-drain this dragon and remove enough strength to kill it.

  • Orcus, The Lord of Undead, has a group of highly intelligent and successful shadows. In the Abyss he has a great ceremony where congratulates them all by shaking their shadowy hands. As such, the God of All Undead runs out of strength and is suddenly dead / goes out of existence.

The question (repeated): is any creature immune to [shadowy] strength drain?

Also: Previously found a stack-exchange post explaining how shadows can strength-drain ghosts RAW. Cannot find it now.

Unity baked lighting – blotchy shadows, bleeding and/or stiching

I have spent days trying to get baked lighting to look good. I use a simple low-poly style. No matter what I do, I get this type of effect (blotchy shadows and odd dark lines):

enter image description here

Here are my settings:

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

Baking a scene already takes around 4 hours, not sure I can increase the resolution any more without Unity crashing during the bake. Am I doing something wrong? Feel like Ive tried everything.

What spells could a Bard identify from a Pact of the Tome Warlock’s Book of Shadows?

A Bard in my group has expressed an interest in attempting to read a Warlock party member’s Book of Shadows, and I’m trying to figure out what, if anything, they can get from it. I figure they can’t actually cast anything with it, since it’s not made of spell scrolls, but they might be able to identify some of the specific spells in it.

I know some related RAW rulings, but I’m not sure if they apply to this case. For example, this related answer says that a caster can make sense of a spell scroll if the spell is on their class’s spell list, but as previously stated, this isn’t a spell scroll.

So, my guess is that one of these is the case, but I don’t know which one: the Bard reading the Book of Shadows

  • cannot read it at all
  • can identify that it contains magic spells but no more
  • can identify those cantrips and spells that are on the Bard spell list
  • can identify any spell in the book, perhaps with a successful Arcana check

Which is the case? Or is it something different?

(I assume the answer would be equally applicable to any other spellcasting class except possibly Wizards.)