Does the use of a gunner major action always preclude the use of the Snap Shot minor crew action?

In Starfinder, during starship combat, the Snap Shot minor crew action allows a crew member who has taken a major crew action earlier in the round to fire a starship weapon during the gunnery phase. The rules state:

You can fire one of your starship’s weapons with a –2 penalty to the gunnery check. You can take this action only if no other gunner actions have been taken during the gunnery phase (including snap shot).

The wording of the second sentence raises questions. Does it disallow Snap Shot actions completely if another character intends to take a gunner major action? Does it disallow Snap Shot actions unless they’re taken before all gunner major actions for the round? Or does it simply disallow Snap Shot if the character attempting it has already carried out a gunner major action?

The scenario I am facing in play is this: a pilot has completed a pilot major action in the Helm phase and positioned the ship to put the enemy ship in the port quadrant. There are two gunners on board. The first gunner has fired at the enemy ship with a turreted weapon. The second gunner has fired at the enemy ship with a port arc weapon. The pilot’s player points out that the ship also has a forward arc weapon that has the broad arc property–meaning that it can target ships in the port or starboard arcs with a -2 penalty. He wishes to Snap Shoot the broad arc weapon at the ship in the port arc with a cumulative penalty of -4 (-2 for firing outside the weapon’s normal arc and -2 for the fact that it is a Snap Shot). This seems like a reasonable request to me, but do the rules preclude it? If they do, then had the pilot declared this intention before the other gunners rolled, would he have been able to do it within the rules?

Can archers bypass partial cover by arcing their shot?

There are two basic ways an archer fires at a target. In close quarters engagements, archers (and anyone using a projectile weapon) would likely use "direct fire", ie. fire at an angle nearly parallel to the ground. At longer distances and especially when targets are hiding behind terrain and walls, archers instead use "indirect fire", ie. firing at angle greater than 45 degrees, in order to lob arrows over and behind cover.

Imagine an archer firing at a range of 100 feet on a creature using 5-foot tall wall for cover.

The rules for cover on a grid state the following:

Choose a corner of the attacker’s space or the point of origin of an area of effect. Then trace imaginary lines from that corner to every corner of any one square the target occupies. If one or two of those lines are blocked by an obstacle (including another creature), the target has half cover. If three or four of those lines are blocked but the attack can still reach the target (such as when the target is behind an arrow slit), the target has three-quarters cover.

Using these rules, it’s easy to see how the wall could provide half or three-quarters cover against direct fire. The trajectory of the arrow will always intersect with the wall, and if enough lines from the archer intersect with the wall, then partial cover is granted. This is consistent with a physical understanding of the scenario, because the arrows will follow a nearly straight line from the archer to their target.

But what if the archer chooses to fire indirectly at their target? In the physical world a wall would provide no cover against an attack that falls from above. Drawing lines from the archer, however, results in the same result as direct fire, granting partial cover in a way which is inconsistent with reality.

Are there any rules that would allow the archer to use indirect fire to bypass partial cover?

Can an Arcane Archer’s choose to activate arcane shot after it gets deflected?

Inspired by Can I use deflect missile if I get an ally to shoot me? and Can a monk catch and throw an Arcane Archer's active Arcane Shot back at them with Deflect Missiles?, can a (friendly) Arcane Archer choose not to activate their Arcane Shot when it hits their ally, but then activate it when it hits the new target?

Once per turn when you fire an arrow from a shortbow or longbow as part of the Attack action, you can apply one of your Arcane Shot options to that arrow. You decide to use the option when the arrow hits a creature, unless the option doesn’t involve an attack roll.

Emphasis mine.

So in this scenario, the Monica the Monk runs on ahead, in a position where she can see Edwin the enemy mage. Archie the Archer does not have line of sight to the enemy caster. He fires his arrow at Monica the Monk, who uses her reaction to deflect it successfully.

If you catch a missile in this way, you can spend 1 ki point to make a ranged attack with the weapon or piece of ammunition you just caught, as part of the same reaction.

Let’s say the arrow (thrown as an attack by Monica the monk) now hits Edwin the enemy mage, can Archie the Arcane Archer then activate the Arcane Shot to try and affect Edwin the enemy mage with it?

Can a Kensei monk spend a bonus action to use the Kensei’s Shot feature after they make an attack roll, and still do the extra damage on that attack?

The Way of the Kensei monk’s Path of the Kensei feature grants several benefits, including Kensei’s Shot. The wording of Kensei’s Shot is as follows (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 34):

You can use a bonus action on your turn to make your ranged attacks with a kensei weapon more deadly. When you do so, any target you hit with a ranged attack using a kensei weapon takes an extra 1d4 damage of the weapon’s type. You retain this benefit until the end of the current turn.

Can you choose to spend the bonus action to use Kensei’s Shot after rolling to hit, and still gain the extra damage on the attack you just made? Or do you have to declare that you’re using Kensei’s Shot before you make the attack roll?

Artificers – One Shot disrupters?

As a DM in an upcoming group where we’re running one shots I had a passing thought that could be problematic. Artificers take time to build items/weapons/whatever, in a campaign setting there’s down time, days and evenings for them to create an item but that’s not the case in a one shot.

If an artificer walks in with 6 goggles of night they created it could really throw off a game balance. If they hand out 4 caps of water breathing it could make one of the dungeon challenges stupidly simple and really throw some wrenches into my plans.

I really don’t want to limit the types of characters in my games and I don’t want to ask everyone for every single magic item they have on their character but I also don’t want to set up a jungle trek with pit falls and mobs to have someone give everyone a broom of flying and they cruise over everything reach the end and go ‘tada’…

The talk is to have these one shots kinda blend together and create a world that has these jobs in it but there’s not specific ‘time line’ or ‘down time’ between one shots. Sssooo the artificer class could theoretically create 4 caps of water breathing and muck up plans for a DM. Or create the brooms of flying and give them away to their fellow characters.

Am I over-thinking this? Or can some DMs maybe give me some insight into how to handle this/ideas/get over it you baby. I mean I’d take the last option too but I’m hoping there might be some more clever thoughts. 😛

If the consensus is ‘shut up and deal with it’ I’ll take it but you can’t blame a person for asking for input.

Thanks!

Edit ~ This is DND 5e in reference to UA Artificer.

Shot em up! Vertical or Horizontal “side scrolling”?

Question it’s about "Shot em up" style game (For example: Tyrian) also known as Top-Down shooters.

These games in the past mostly exist as top down concept, it means player object can move from the left to the right and enemies start appearing from the top of the screen and moving down to the screen. This concept was probably picked due to the monitors aspect ratios in the past where was most spreaded 4:5.

Also this concept are very popular on mobile phones, because is sometimes more user friendly not using landscape mode when playing.

There was a very little titles, when the concept Top-Down are changed Right-left It means, player object is on left screen side and moving Top and Down, and the enemies moving from right to the left. Also, there is almost no titles on desktops when current aspect ratios are mostly 16:9. Even if some new “Modern” Shot em up is released, mostly pick the Top Down concept.

And my question is, is there any reason for that on Desktops target platform?

I think for the current monitor aspect ratios 16:9 “Right-Left” better fit the gameplay and user experience. Or Am I missing something?

Can feats like Psionic Weapon, Shot or Fist work with out interference with Path of War Rules?

Can feats like Psionic Weapon, Shot or Fist; or Greater Psionic Weapon, Shot or Fist work without interference or sacrifice with Path of War Rules?

Effects from stances remain so long as stance is not changed. Gaining and using focus* during a rotation of Boosts, Counters and Strikes is what I worry about. With Psionic Meditation you can gain focus with a move action, but can I expend/use said focus at anytime during when a boost, strike or counter happens?


* see the “Gain psionic focus” part for the rules

How does the Oathbow’s benefit to ranged attacks interact with the Arcane Archer fighter’s Arcane Shot options Piercing/Seeking Arrow?

Part of the description of the oathbow magic item says:

When you make a ranged attack roll with this weapon against your sworn enemy, you have advantage on the roll. In addition, your target gains no benefit from cover, other than total cover, and you suffer no disadvantage due to long range. If the attack hits, your sworn enemy takes an extra 3d6 piercing damage.

However, the Arcane Archer fighter archetype from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything (previously appearing in UA: Revised Subclasses) has the ability to imbue their arrows with magic. Two of the Arcane Shot options seem like they might conflict with the oathbow‘s trigger condition.

The description of Piercing Arrow says, in part (XGtE, p. 29; identical to the version from UA:RS):

[…] When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, the arrow shoots forward in a line, which is 1 foot wide and 30 feet long, before disappearing. […] Each creature in that line must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 piercing damage. On a successful save, a target takes half as much damage.

The description of Seeking Arrow similarly says (XGtE, p. 30; also identical to the UA:RS version):

[…] When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, choose one creature you have seen in the past minute. The arrow flies toward that creature, moving around corners if necessary and ignoring three-quarters cover and half cover. If the target is within the weapon’s range and there is a path large enough for the arrow to travel to the target, the target must make a Dexterity saving throw. […] On a failed save, the target takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 force damage, and you learn the target’s current location. On a successful save, the target takes half as much damage, and you don’t learn its location.

So how does the oathbow interact with these 2 Arcane Shot options by RAW?

I know some situations override things going both ways in favor of exploitation and prevention.

Does the class skill let you bypass the attack roll while getting the oathbow‘s power buff? Or do you not get the buff?

Looking for a good Dungeons and Dragons one shot video to demo what it can be to begininers

Are there any good examples of one shot dungeons and dragons adventures online that I could share with a group of people who have never played but are intrigued to give them a flavour of what it all is before we start playing? I know that Critical Role has a long running campaign (I am watching it) but am looking more for something that can really get someone who has never played before a good overview of what it is and how it all works rather then them having to watch through a number of episodes of a series. usually I would sit the group down and talk them all through it face to face but it is a bit harder to do that currently with social distancing etc.

Can you hit an unlocated target by throwing a weapon at it after casting True Strike and Guided Shot?

I’ve recently been discussing a combo found in this chapter of Harry Potter and the Natural 20. If needed, ctrl+f for “I am not walking in that” for the start of the encounter. The relevant part is quite short, damn good, near the end of the chapter, and does not overflow in to the next chapter. As I understand it, the situation is as follows:

  • Milo, our protagonist, is being hit by ranged magical attacks from an unknown location.
  • There is a blizzard, presumably giving the enemy concealment.
  • Because Milo does not know where the enemy is, he can’t target it with magical attacks.
  • To counter this, he casts True Strike, following by Guided Shot (swift action – Complete Adventurer, I believe) and throws his dagger “in a completely random direction”.
  • His plan is to find his target by using another divination to locate the dagger after it has hit, but that’s not relevant to my question.

My question is this. To my understanding, Milo has the following benefits before throwing the dagger:

  • A +20 insight bonus to his attack role
  • He is not affected by the miss chance that applies to attackers trying to strike a concealed target
  • His ranged attack suffers no penalty due to distance, but he still can’t exceed his max range
  • His ranged attack ignores the AC bonus granted to targets by anything less than total cover.

However, as great as all of these are, are they enough to actually allow you to attempt to attack such a target? The rules have precedent for attacking targets that you can’t see but can approximately locate (e.g. the rules for Invisibility), but in this case we only have the vaguest idea of where the target is.