Can a simulacrum be healed by any means other the ‘complex process’ outlined in the spell?

Inspired by another discussion of Simulacra – can a simulacrum actually heal via any method other than the ‘complex process’ outlined in the spell? Or is that process simply another option? What if the copied creature type has Fast Healing, or Regeneration? Do Cure Wounds spells function on the simulacra? Is the simulacrum actually even a creature?

Can a simulacrum heal non-hit point damage?

The spell Simulacrum, while open to interpretation on many fronts, is very clear on how to heal (repair) a damaged simulacrum, requiring a complex and costly process and a lab.

A complex process requiring at least 24 hours, 100 gp per hit point, and a fully equipped magical laboratory can repair damage to a simulacrum.

The spell mentions hit points directly, but a simulacrum can be damaged in many other ways such as ability damage, non-lethal Damage or even ability drain. It got me to wonder how to treat such types of damage.

I was thinking it would either :

  • Be immune to those types of damages (highly unlikely)
  • Heal those types of damages as a normal creature (by resting or using spells)
  • Heal those types of damages in a lab using the same process but without the cost (as the only cost mentioned is for hit points)
  • Be stuck with any such damages

I haven’t been able to find any definite answer on the internet.

How does a simulacrum treat those types of damage ?

When I cast Simulacrum to make a copy of a creature with a feature like Rangers Companion, do I get a free animal companion to go with it?

The Simulacrum spell contains an interesting clause.

It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature’s hit point maximum and is formed without any Equipment. Otherwise, the Illusion uses all the Statistics of the creature it duplicates.

Since the Companion feature is part of a creatures statistics, this means that it should get duplicated, I think. So if I were to duplicate a creature that has a feature like Rangers Companion (or something similar), does the animal companion automatically come with it?

Related questions that would have an answer based on the answer to the primary question:

  • If we don’t get a free companion, can the simulacra bond with a new one?

  • If we do get one, would it also be an illusion, or is it a real flesh-and-blood creature?

  • If the Simulacra dies, does the companion instantly die as well?

  • If the companion dies, can the Simulacra bond with a new companion?

Can Simulacrum make a (living) duplicate of a dead creature, by RAW?

This is for a fairly absurd situation in which a party member (the cleric) has died and neither of the others can resurrect him, but one of the surviving party members is a wizard that can cast simulacrum.

Another player’s idea was to cast simulacrum to create a simulacrum of the cleric (with “half the creature’s hit point maximum” – which seems independent of its current HP) and then have the simulacrum resurrect the cleric.

The description of simulacrum says:

You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. […] It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature’s hit point maximum and is formed without any equipment. Otherwise, the illusion uses all the statistics of the creature it duplicates.

Ultimately, it seems to be a question of whether creatures retain their type after they die (i.e. when they are a corpse).

A few of Crawford’s tweets have stated that a corpse is an object that is no longer a creature, suggesting that spells that target creatures would no longer work on corpses…

…but then spells like revivify explicitly describe the target as “a creature”:

You touch a creature that has died within the last minute. That creature returns to life with 1 hit point. This spell can’t return to life a creature that has died of old age, nor can it restore any missing body parts.

And spells like animate dead even suggest that creature type is retained:

Choose a pile of bones or a corpse of a Medium or Small humanoid within range.

As a result, my findings so far seem somewhat inconclusive and contradictory. The intent obviously seems to be that simulacrum is not intended to create a duplicate of a corpse (which seems pretty ridiculous), but I’m not sure whether it’d work at least by RAW.

By the rules as written, could simulacrum be used to create a living duplicate of a dead creature (a corpse)?

Can Fraz-Urb’Luu make use of a Wish spell from his one-minute Simulacrum (‘in-Lair’ action)?

As a demon Lord, Fraz-Urb’Luu has many powers. Specifically he can generate a Simulacrum of anyone in his ‘lair’ – and they last for about ten seconds, give or take. Specially:

Fraz-Urb’luu chooses one humanoid within the lair and instantly creates a simulacrum of that creature (as if created with the simulacrum spell). This simulacrum obeys Fraz-Urb’luu’s commands and is destroyed on the next initiative count 20. – Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes pg. 146.

How much time does Fraz-Urb’luu have with this simulacrum? Let us assume he has some kind of 17th level caster on hand (possibly Petrified or Imprisoned) – and this humanoid happens to be a caster that has Wish in their memory-repitoire (i.e. a wizard or bard with a Magic Secret). Possible time-flow in bullet-point format:

  • Fraz-Urb’luu must explain to his newly minted simulacrum-creature what it wants it to do. If it wants that illusion-person to cast Wish, this demon lord must explain / include wording of the spell. Not sure how many move-actions this would be. This lord does have telepathy (one of his ‘languages’), which might help.

  • The creature must cast the spell, this is probably one move-action.

  • The creature must include anything it wants with the spell. This would include the full wording of this Wish as indicated by their master Demon Lord creator just moments ago. This may not count as a second move action (?), but it would still require the (re)-wording of the entire phrase once more. Any extensively worded wish will obviously not fit in this time-frame.

How much time do they have together? What RAW exists around the timing, sum total, including this "next initiative count of 20"?


Question: How much time will the Great Demon Lord Fraz-Urb’luu have with his Lair-based Simulacrum from the moment of this casting & creation of his duplication-creature to the end of that creature’s life at the end of the next round?


Reason For Asking: In my campaign world this Demon Lord would like to have the ability to cast Wish (and other spells) in his ‘home’ or lair via this clever mechanic. He also has 26 intelligence and 24 wisdom – he would be intelligent enough to figure out how to do this. This mechanic would be valuable not just for defending himself from brazen adventurers &/or unhappy demon-lords but is also excellent for entertainment &/or creative purposes. Casting a single limitless Wish every second round would be a very useful tool to have.

Edit: Other creatures have a similar mechanic, a DM-option allows this for certain hags:

A powerful sea hag might (?) have the following additional lair actions:

The hag chooses one humanoid within the lair and instantly creates a simulacrum of that creature (as if created with th esimulacrum spell). This hideous simulacrum is formed out of seaweed, slime, half-eaten fish and other garbage, but still generally resembles the creature it is imitating. This simulacrum obeys the hag’s commands and is destroyed on initiate count o20 on the next round. – Volo’s Guide To Monsters, pg. 60.

Can a Simulacrum of a sorcerer regain its sorcery points?

The description of Simulacrum states:

The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn or become more powerful, so it never increases its level or other abilities, nor can it regain expended spell slots.

If someone cast Simulacrum on a sorcerer, would the Simulacrum be able to regain its sorcery points by taking a long rest? (Can simulacra even take rests?) In particular, I ask because the sorcerer has the Font of Magic class feature at level 2 that allows them to convert their sorcery points into spell slots or vice versa.

(This question can also be extended to other limited-use class features like a fighter’s Action Surge, a druid’s Wild Shape, etc., but I don’t know if the answer would be different since sorcery points can specifically be used to create spell slots.)

Could a creature, made by the Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell?

Could a creature, made by the 7th level Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell (from Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden) as a means of bypassing the hit point maximum reduction?

It seems like a character could resonably create a simulacrum of themselves then ask them to cast Create Magen. Upon finishing the Create Magen spell the simulacrum could order the magen to listen to and obey the character as if they had created the magen. Thereby allowing the caster to avoid the hit point reduction.
Is this the case? or is something missing here? one of my concerns is that, if this is the case, a player character could conceivably make an army of magens with few repercussions. Obviously a DM will have the final say, but what do you guys think?

Can a simulacrum cast Magic jar?

Supose you are a High level Wizard with acess to both Simulacrum and Magic jar. There are a lot of discussion if the simulacrum has or no a soul,and if that interfers in the use of magic jar,since the spell expecificly discribes the trasportation of the soul. The spells says:

Your body falls into a catatonic state as your soul leaves it and enters the container you used for the spell’s material component. While your soul inhabits the container, you are aware of your surroundings as if you were in the container’s space. You can’t move or use reactions. The only action you can take is to project your soul up to 100 feet out of the container, either returning to your living body (and ending the spell) or attempting to possess a humanoids body.

That means that it does not describe the need of you to be a humanoid to cast

So, There is anything in the raw that prevents the simulacrum from casting magic jar except for lore purpuses?

Interaction between an Intellect Devourer and a Simulacrum

An Intellect Devourer Has an ability called Body Thief, which states:

…the intellect devourer magically consumes the target’s brain, teleports into the target’s skull, and takes control of the target’s body. While inside a creature, the intellect devourer has total cover against attacks and other effects originating outside its host. The intellect devourer retains its Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores, as well as its understanding of Deep Speech, its telepathy, and its traits. It otherwise adopts the target’s statistics. It knows everything the creature knew, including spells and languages.

If an Intellect Devourer takes over a Simulacrum of a Wizard, can the Intellect Devourer recover spells with a long rest, or is it beholden to the simulacrum rule:

The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn or become more powerful, so it never increases its level or other abilities, nor can it regain expended spell slots.

This literally just happened to us and we are stumped. I think the Devourer is a new creature and thus can recover spells. As it would choose to gain the abilities but not the short comings of the new form.