In dnd warlock spell slots are max level so if you make a first-level warlock spell slot using Sorcery points does the spell slot become max level is this possible and if it is can you make infinite spell slot by making a 1st level spell slot and it becoming a 3rd level slot then making it into 3 Sorcery points using 2 to make a 1st level slot and it becoming a 3rd again gaining a spell point every time you do this thus making infinite spell slots?
what I’m basically asking is that in and 5e does a 1st level warlock spell slot become a 3rd because it says that all your spell slots are max level.
Does the Svirfneblin Magic feat use spell slots?
Feat is stated as follows:
You have inherited the innate spellcasting ability of your ancestors. This ability allows you to cast nondetection on yourself at will, without needing a material component. You can also cast each of the following spells once with this ability: blindness/deafness, blur, and disguise self. You regain the ability to cast these spells when you finish a long rest.
I think I understand ‘innate’ as meaning it doesn’t need to be in the spellbook/prepared because it’s a racial trait feat for Deep Gnomes, but not sure if that also means whether or they use a slot when cast.
Ezren is a level 10 evocation wizard, and hence would have spell slots of the following levels:
+-------------+-----------------+ | Spell level | Number of slots | +-------------+-----------------+ | 1 | 4 | | 2 | 4 | | 3 | 4 | | 4 | 4 | | 5 | 4 | +-------------+-----------------+
However, at level 2 Ezren took the Sorcerer multiclass dedication. At level 4 he took Basic Sorcerer Spellcasting, and Bloodline Breadth at level 8.
How many spell slots does Ezren have in a given day? Is it:
+-------------+-----------------+ | Spell level | Number of slots | +-------------+-----------------+ | 1 | 6 | | 2 | 6 | | 3 | 6 | | 4 | 4 | | 5 | 4 | +-------------+-----------------+
Because at level 8, spellcasting archetype feats grant an additional spell slot of first, second and third level, AND the bloodline breadth feat increases each of these by one?
Or do these sources of spell slots not stack for some reason? Coming from fifth edition, a wizard who multiclasses sorcerer still has the same number of spell slots as a pure wizard, so I’d like to clarify my understanding here.
Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight who takes the Magic Initiate (Wizard) feat cast the first level spell they pick with their spell slots, like a Bard who took Magic Initiate (Bard) can? Or the Wizard for that matter?
Both AT and EK uses the wizard spell list, so one could assume so, but can they?
Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the interest of balance. That is not part of my question.)
Elf. Multiclass: Sorcerer 2+ / Warlock 1+ / Bard 1
- Never takes a long rest. Ever. See question, Must 5e elves take a long rest? Specifically, whether adventuring or not, she makes sure that every 8 hour block includes more than 2 hours of combat or strenuous activity, to ensure that no interpretation of long rest rules would allow a long rest to be automatically triggered.
- Converts warlock spell slots into sorcery points. See @JeremyECrawford’s tweet.
- Converts sorcery points into sorcery spell slots (or into spellcasting spell slots, once also multiclassing Bard) via Flexible Casting
- Spell slots created from sorcery points disappear upon long rest, as per Flexible Casting and a tweet from @JeremyECrawford; therefore these created spell slots will not disappear until used, e.g. for a character taking no long rests
- Spell slots created from sorcery points are in addition to, and not restoration of the sorcerer’s spell slots which refresh on a long rest. This is not 100% clear from RAW or clarifications. But:
(a) Flexible Casting uses the phrase, “additional Spell Slots”;
(b) the rule stating that created spell slots disappear on long rests is superfluous if created spell slots can only replace expended spell slots — to have meaning it must be possible to create spell slots which are not replacements;
(c) flexible casting does not use the word “recover”, which is the word used for wizards’ Arcane Recovery
- Restores warlock spell slots on a short rest, and repeats the cycle above, converting warlock spell slots to sorcery points to sorcerer (or spellcasting) spell slots
- During periods of downtime, takes as many short rests per day as permissible, to build up a stockpile of created sorcerer spell slots
- Stockpiling requires using bonus actions out of combat, discussed elsewhere
- Stockpiling requires having short rests on downtime days, discussed in a comment below
- While adventuring, during combat, uses created spell slots to cast spells, and/or uses flexible casting to convert those spell slots back into sorcery points
- While adventuring, after combat, will use created spell slots with Bard spells to restore hits points, since restoring hit points via long rest is unavailable, and via hit dice is mostly unavailable
I’m pretty sure this is not RAI, but does it violate RAW in some way?
I keep seeing all over the internet that warlocks get all their warlock spell slots back on a short rest. However, none of the page references seem to point to the correct spot.
Do you know if this is true or not and what page it can be found on?
In the recently released preview of the Wild Magic Barbarian that will be in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything (preview here), I noticed the 6th level feature ‘Bolstering Magic’. This feature has two applications. One acts as a Bless-type option, the second one reads:
Roll a d3. The creature [you’re touching] regains one expended spell slot, the level of which equals the number rolled or lower (the creature’s choice). Once a creature receives this benefit, that creature can’t receive it again until after a long rest.
Suppose this effect is used on a Warlock of level 7 or above, and for the sake of argument suppose we rolled a 3 on the d3. All of their spell slots are of spell level 4. What happens?
- Nothing, the Warlock doesn’t have the right type of spell slot to regain
- The Warlock has (expended) spell slots of Level 4 and higher, and now has a level 3 spell slot
- Something else happens, namely …
I’ve played a bunch of DnD 5e, but my current campaign is my first time playing a Warlock outside of a one-shot; right now I’m almost to level 5. I’m playing more of a face/roleplay-focused role, so my invocations (Aspect of the Moon and Devil’s Sight) are generally more useful out of combat, but I made sure to take several combat-oriented cantrips, as well as shatter, to have at least one good damage-focused spell.
In general, I’m having a lot of fun, but I’m having some trouble getting used to having only two spell slots to play with beyond the very early levels.
A couple of sessions ago, I eagerly fired off both my spell slots at what looked like pretty juicy targets. I did plenty of damage… but when enemy reinforcements showed up, I was out of ammo – and in hindsight, I would have had even better targets to use my spells on if I had kept them in reserve.
In response, the next session, I resolved to try to keep a shorter leash on my spells. I played through a combat encounter trying to keep my spell slots in reserve, but I felt like limiting myself to cantrips, weapon attacks, and "utility actions" like shoving kept me from pulling my weight. I then felt silly for being so cautious when we decided to take a short rest at the end of the encounter anyway. I felt especially silly when the same entire story repeated itself later in the session.
Of course, I can (and do) encourage my party to take short rests when we have the opportunity to do so (as long as people could use the HP and it’s not just because I’m out of spell slots), but in general I feel like I’m doing a poor job of identifying the "right" times to pull from my limited resource pool.
Of course, this problem isn’t limited to Warlock – every spellcasting class has to make these judgment calls – but with such a low number of slots to work with, playing Warlock is definitely testing my resource management. I recognize that adeptly managing my limited spell slots is just part of the game, but is there anything in particular I can do that would help to pick out the best times to bust out a spell?
I often find it frustrating how few spells sorcerers have. This has led me to trying to increase the number of spells they have with a few multiclassing dips. I was then inspired to ask this question:
What is the maximum number of spells known a character can have?
I want this to be achieved primarily through multiclassing, so there are a few restrictions:
- The spells must be cast using Charisma as the spellcasting modifier, so multiclassing into Wizard or Druid doesn’t help;
- I’m not including features you’d get through subclasses (i.e. Eyes of the Dark gives you darkness for free), since I want this solution to be a template I can stick any subclasses onto;
- A bard’s Magical Secrets is allowed, since that’s a base class feature, but Additional Magical Secrets is not, since that’s Lore bard only;
- Feats are allowed, but Epic Boons and magic items are not;
- I’ll allow Unearthed Arcana for this one, for example UA feats;
- The spells known must be cast via your spell slots that you have via your class features;
- Polymorphing into something else that can cast spells is not allowed;
- Assume a level 20 character, and whatever ability scores are necessary (although I imagine that’ll just be Charisma 20);
- Also note that this question has nothing to do with the number of spell slots, only spells known.
One of the Lair Actions of a lich does the following:
The lich rolls a d8 and regains a spell slot of that level or lower. If it has no spent spell slots of that level or lower, nothing happens.
A lich decided to attack the party, using some of its spell slots in the process, and then retreat to its lair to recover and await the party.
If the party manage to find the lich’s lair within 8 hours (i.e. before the lich can long rest and recover its spell slots that way), would the above Lair Action have (likely1) restored all of the lich’s spent spell slots (excluding the 9th level spell slot, obviously)?
Or is there some reason this wouldn’t work, such as the Lair Actions only being "active" when there are enemies of the lich actually in the lair (i.e. during combat)?
1 I say "likely" because there’s a dice roll involved, so technically it could not roll the numbers it needs to actually recover all its spell slots, but let’s discount that possibility as I imagine an hour or so of rolling will almost definitely roll the numbers that it needs eventually.