Does the shadow sorcerer Eyes of the Dark feature negate sunlight sensitivity for creatures like drow in 5e?

The shadow sorcerer feature at 1st level known as Eyes of the Dark reads: From 1st level, you have darkvision with a range of 120 feet.

I would like to play a Drow character, does this negate sunlight sensitivity since you are getting superior darkvision from a new source that does not provide sunlight sensitivity?

I have heard that the warlock’s Devil’s sight provides a similar effect that negates sunlight sensitvity, would this also apply to the shadow sorcerer?

How do the physical traits granted by the draconic sorcerer bloodline interact with a changeling’s shapechanger trait?

Sorcerers with the draconic bloodline develop a thin sheen of dragon-like scales and can eventually manifest wings. How does this interact with the changeling’s ability to alter their shape?

For instance:

  • Can they maintain the armor bonus of draconic resilience when they are mimicking a race without scales?
  • Can they manifest wings and then change them to match an Aarakocra or Winged Tiefling while still maintaining their original flight speed?

Is a sorcerer with the domain-access alternative class feature considered both an arcane and a divine caster?

The alternative class feature Domain Access (Complete Champion, p. 52) reads, in part:

Choose one cleric domain. If you worship a specific deity, the domain you choose must be one to which your deity grants access. You gain the granted power of the chosen domain. In addition, you can cast one domain spell of each spell level available to you per day from that domain.

Does having access to the domain spells make a sorcer qualify for any prestige class that requires the PC to be a divine caster?

Rogue sorcerer archetype

I am not sure I understand how this works. I have a rogue that gets the sorcerer archetype via the Ancient Elf heritage (Lost Omens Character Guide).

Because of the heritage, he automatically gets the ‘Sorcerer Dedication’ archetype feat. That feat gives him two cantrips (he chose occult).

So as he gains levels he gets nothing more until he takes another sorcerer archetype feat, right?

If he later chooses ‘Basic Sorcerer Spellcasting’, he gets a first level slot, picks up a 2nd level spell at 6th character level, and a 3rd at 8th character level. Right?

So, if he only chooses those two feats, at level 20 he gets 2 cantrips, 1- 1st, 1- 2nd, and 1- 3rd level spell? Only 5 spells?

I get that it shouldn’t be as good as a primary sorcerer, but a sorcerer main gets 5 cantrips and 3 first level spells. At 20th level, a sorcerer main gets 42 spells, but our guy only gets 5.

Do I have that right?

Can a Wild Magic sorcerer use Tides of Chaos against the wild magic effect immediately after rolling on the Wild Magic Surge table to recharge it?

My player’s character, a 4th-level Wild Magic sorcerer, cast magic missile as a 2nd-level spell after having previously used Tides of Chaos. Since she had used Tides of Chaos, I had her roll on the Wild Magic Surge table to recharge the feature. She rolled a 07, the dreaded self-fireball. As her character had only 4 HP left, and failed his Dexterity saving throw, he instantly died a spectacular death.

In retrospect, could she have potentially saved her character from instant death by using Tides of Chaos again on the Dexterity saving throw against fireball?

My understanding of the rules was that Tides of Chaos recharges after the wild magic surge is resolved. However, I recently noticed it says that you get it back after rolling on the Wild Magic Surge table, which is arguably complete before the fireball goes off.

Is there any clear rule about this, or is it up to the DM’s judgment?

Can a sorcerer cast the same spell twice if enough spell slots are available?

In D&D 5e, let’s say that I have two level-1 spell slots available and want to cast Burning Hands. On one turn, I use one of the available spell slots to cast Burning Hands. On my next turn, I have one additional spell slot available. Am I allowed to use it for Burning Hands, or do I need to select a different spell to use the remaining spell slot?

I am asking this because I was told by someone more experienced that it doesn’t work that way, but I thought the rules said otherwise.

Is it possible for a sorcerer to write all the ritual spells they know in the ritual book of Ritual Caster Feat when they acquire this feat?

I was reading the D&D beyond about wild magic sorcerer and I was thinking about something when I readed the recommended feats, in particular the Ritual Caster Feat:

Is it possible for a sorcerer to write all the ritual spells they know in the ritual book of Ritual Caster Feat when they acquire this feat? Or do they have to found the written version somewhere?

In the feat description, it look like no, but I feel like it doesn’t make sense, since the sorcerer know the spells.

Can a Sorcerer Gain Additional Spells Known with Magic Initiate? [duplicate]

The Magic Initiate feat states:

Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class’s spell list.

In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat.

Assume a character is a 4th level sorcerer, elects to take this feat, and chooses Sorcerer. Per the feat, they now ‘learn that spell’. Also they can cast the spell for free once per day using the feat, but can they continue to cast the spell using their spell slots?

Additionally, can they replace that spell when they reach 5th level as a sorcerer per the Spells Known feature?:

Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the sorcerer spells you know and replace it with another spell from the sorcerer spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Can a Sorcerer quicken a Wand spell?

My Sorcerer has a Wand of Lightning Bolt.

While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its Charges to cast the Lightning Bolt spell (save DC 15) from it. For 1 charge, you cast the 3rd-level version of the spell.

He asked whether he could use Quick Spell Metamagic to cast the Lightning Bolt as a bonus action.

When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting.

One the one hand, the item specifically mentions the caster is using his action. On the other, the item also says the caster is casting the spell, so metamagics can apply. My opinion is that specific beats general, and that the Sorcerer cannot do this. The wand could relate to any spell, with longer or shorter casts times and would always require an action. But I wanted to make sure that is RaW.