Psionic sorcery casting retrained Psionic spells

If an aberrant mind sorcerer casts a spell from the Psionic spells feature, they may use the Psionic sorcery too

When you cast any spell of 1st level or higher from your Psionic Spells feature, you can cast it by expending a spell slot as normal or by spending a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level. If you cast the spell using sorcery points, it requires no verbal or somatic components, and it requires no material components, unless they are consumed by the spell

However, the Psionic spells feature allows you too

You learn additional spells when you reach certain levels in this class, as shown on the Psionic Spells table. Each of these spells counts as a sorcerer spell for you, but it doesn’t count against the number of sorcerer spells you know. Whenever you gain a sorcerer level, you can replace one spell you gained from this feature with another spell of the same level. The new spell must be a divination or an enchantment spell from the sorcerer, warlock, or wizard spell list.

If you "retrain" one of the spells from calm emotions too Tongues could you then cast tongues for 3 sorcery points instead of a spell slot and without using verbal or material components?

Can Aberrant Mind Sorcerers upcast Psionic Spells using Sorcery points?

Aberrant Mind Sorcerers get Psionic Sorcery at L6:

When you cast any spell of 1st level or higher from your Psionic Spells feature, you can cast it by expending a spell slot as normal or by spending a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level. If you cast the spell using sorcery points, it requires no verbal or somatic components, and it requires no material components, unless they are consumed by the spell.

Can you cast these spells at a higher level, using more sorcery points? I.e., cast Arms of Hadar at L2 using 2 sorcery points?

Does Psionic Sorcery value spell levels differently than Flexible Casting?

In attempting to answer this question I ran into a different question about how the Abberant Mind Sorcerer’s Psionic Sorcery works.

Psionic Sorcery states:

When you cast any spell of 1st level or higher from your Psionic Spells feature, you can cast it by expending a spell slot as normal or by spending a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level.

Normally, a sorcerer must spend increasingly large quantities of sorcery points to make spell slots as indicated on the table under Font of Magic and can create spell slots no higher than level 5.

However, Psionic Sorcery is worded as "a number of points equal to the spell’s level." This would seem to suggest that the conversion rate is always 1:1. That is, to cast a level 5 spell, an Abberant Mind Sorcerer would only need to expend 5 sorcery points, not 7.

Further, the Psionic Sorcery seems to allow any level spell to be cast in this way. The ability does not seem to be limited to a maximum of level 5 spell slots since it isn’t explicitly predicated on the table from Flexible Casting.

Is that correct?

14th level Artificer (Magic Item Savant) + Metamagic Adept items to regain sorcery points

Considering a 14th level artificer with the Metamagic Adept feat in D&D 5e:

  • I’m assuming that the feat does not grant the ability to restore sorcery points by expending spell slots (since it doesn’t grant the Flexible Casting feature)
  • It seems to me that an artificer could use the Bloodwell Vial to regain the sorcery points when they roll a Hit Dice, but they would only regain 2 (since that’s their maximum amount)
  • Are there other items/ways to regain expended points?

Thanks!

How does metamagic adept interact with flexible casting and the sorcery points cap?


You gain 2 sorcery points to spend on Metamagic (these points are added to any sorcery points you have from another source but can be used only on Metamagic). You regain all spent sorcery points when you finish a long rest.

Assume a level 3 variant human sorcerer has 3 sorcery points from their class and 2 from metamagic adept.

They spend 2 sorcery points from their class to make a 1rst level slot with flexible casting. Now they have 1 from their class and 2 from metamagic adept.

Are they able to convert a spell slot to sorcery points? Or can they not go over 3 sorcery points because they are level 3? In effect forcing them to spend the points from the feat before they can make more.

How does metamagic adept interact with flexible casting and the sorcery points cap?

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the interest of balance. That is not part of my question.)

Elf. Multiclass: Sorcerer 2+ / Warlock 1+ / Bard 1

  • Never takes a long rest. Ever. See question, Must 5e elves take a long rest? Specifically, whether adventuring or not, she makes sure that every 8 hour block includes more than 2 hours of combat or strenuous activity, to ensure that no interpretation of long rest rules would allow a long rest to be automatically triggered.
  • Converts warlock spell slots into sorcery points. See @JeremyECrawford’s tweet.
  • Converts sorcery points into sorcery spell slots (or into spellcasting spell slots, once also multiclassing Bard) via Flexible Casting
  • Spell slots created from sorcery points disappear upon long rest, as per Flexible Casting and a tweet from @JeremyECrawford; therefore these created spell slots will not disappear until used, e.g. for a character taking no long rests
  • Spell slots created from sorcery points are in addition to, and not restoration of the sorcerer’s spell slots which refresh on a long rest. This is not 100% clear from RAW or clarifications. But:
    (a) Flexible Casting uses the phrase, “additional Spell Slots”;
    (b) the rule stating that created spell slots disappear on long rests is superfluous if created spell slots can only replace expended spell slots — to have meaning it must be possible to create spell slots which are not replacements;
    (c) flexible casting does not use the word “recover”, which is the word used for wizards’ Arcane Recovery
  • Restores warlock spell slots on a short rest, and repeats the cycle above, converting warlock spell slots to sorcery points to sorcerer (or spellcasting) spell slots
  • During periods of downtime, takes as many short rests per day as permissible, to build up a stockpile of created sorcerer spell slots
  • Stockpiling requires using bonus actions out of combat, discussed elsewhere
  • Stockpiling requires having short rests on downtime days, discussed in a comment below
  • While adventuring, during combat, uses created spell slots to cast spells, and/or uses flexible casting to convert those spell slots back into sorcery points
  • While adventuring, after combat, will use created spell slots with Bard spells to restore hits points, since restoring hit points via long rest is unavailable, and via hit dice is mostly unavailable

I’m pretty sure this is not RAI, but does it violate RAW in some way?

Can a Simulacrum of a sorcerer regain its sorcery points?

The description of Simulacrum states:

The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn or become more powerful, so it never increases its level or other abilities, nor can it regain expended spell slots.

If someone cast Simulacrum on a sorcerer, would the Simulacrum be able to regain its sorcery points by taking a long rest? (Can simulacra even take rests?) In particular, I ask because the sorcerer has the Font of Magic class feature at level 2 that allows them to convert their sorcery points into spell slots or vice versa.

(This question can also be extended to other limited-use class features like a fighter’s Action Surge, a druid’s Wild Shape, etc., but I don’t know if the answer would be different since sorcery points can specifically be used to create spell slots.)

How do spell components work in regards to the UA Psionic Soul Sorcerer’s Psychic Sorcery ability?

The UA Psionic Soul Sorcerer has the following Psionic Talent option:

Psychic Sorcery. When you cast a spell, you can use your mind to form it, rather than relying on words, gestures, and materials. To do so, roll your Psionic Talent die. The spell then requires no verbal component, and if you rolled the level of the spell or higher, the spell doesn’t require somatic or material components either.

(Emphasis Mine)

This strikes me as confusing due to how the player’s handbook describes spell components

A spell’s components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell’s description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components. If you can’t provide one or more of a spell’s components, you are unable to cast the spell

I had assumed that you needed to be able to provide the components before attempting to cast the spell, but the wording on the subtle spell metamagic begs to differ

When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to cast it without any somatic or verbal components.

According to This Answer this metamagic allows you to cast it without being able to provide the components if you cast it using the subtle spell metamagic. However, comparing this to the UA we see a problem. The psychic sorcery ability activates at the same time, but isn’t guaranteed to make the spell castable necessarily, so that brings me to my question

Can you attempt to cast a spell without having the needed components by using this psionic talent option, and if you don’t succeed on the roll and find yourself needing to provide components that you can’t provide, what happens to the casting?

(Note additionally that if you cast a lv 1 spell or a cantrip it’s functionally guaranteed to succeed by not from a rules perspective if that matters to the answer)

Do sorcery points made from converted spell slots vanish after a long rest?

Sorcerers are able to turn sorcery points into spell slots, but the same conversion rate applies to turn spell slots into sorcery points. If, by the end of the day, you have unused spell slots and you wanted to risk the overnight ambush, could you turn them into sorcery points to be used the next day? Or would they disappear anyway? Sorcery points are replenished after a long rest, but that only infers to ones that have been expended, and ones created by spell slots are theoretically one-use, so do they disappear daily or can they stack?

How does a Chivalry & Sorcery battle actually get resolved?

Years ago I purchased the Chivalry & Sorcery Sourcebook (2nd Edition) for its Battle System, but there’s one basic thing I’ve never been able to figure out. On p 65 of the book, it has the procedure for dealing with melee combat, which is:

  1. Determine how many figures in each unit are engaged
  2. Roll a d6 for each unit
  3. Modify the dice rolled with the included table

…then, nothing. It never says what to do with the result. Does anyone have any idea? The best I can figure, you’re supposed to remove as many figures as the final value says, but I can’t decide if that’s a reasonable result. Thoughts, anyone?