What happens to a soul corrupted by a succubus?

The lore text on Succubi / Incubi states the following (MM, p. 284; emphasis mine):

A mortal bequeaths its soul to the fiend not by formal pledge or contract. Instead, when a succubus or incubus has corrupted a creature completely — some say by causing the victim to commit the three betrayals of thought, word, and deed — the victim’s soul belongs to the fiend. The more virtuous the fiend’s prey, the longer the corruption takes, but the more rewarding the downfall. After successfully corrupting a victim, the succubus or incubus kills it, and the tainted soul descends into the Lower Planes.

How should this sentence be interpreted? Is the victim’s soul converted into a low-level devil, demon, or another succubus/incubus? Does it get consumed by some fiend like a midnight snack?

And if none of the above are the case, what does happen to it?

I don’t think D&D 5e answers this question, so I’m open to other-edition-based answers as well. I’m mainly looking for official lore information based on the Forgotten Realms setting.

Whats happens when a caster’s soul returns to his polymorphed body by the effect of Magic Jar?

Consider the following sequence of actions:

  • A caster casts Magic Jar and his souls travel to the chosen container
  • The caster manages to possess an NPS’s body. The caster’s class features are retained in the new body, together with the original WIS, INT and CHA scores.
  • The caster in the new body casts True Polymorph on the original body and transforms it into a dragon (for example)
  • The caster makes is soul travel back to the original, polymorphed body.

Now, what happens to the casters’ class features? Are they retained? Is there any difference between this course of actions and simply casting True Polymorph on self?

Binder and Knight of Sacred Seal Soul Binding feature clarification

My question is, can Knights of the Sacred Seal use the Soul Binding feature to bind to multiple Vestiges at once as long as one of them is their Patron Vestige?

So Knight of the Sacred Seal states that it stacks with Binder for continuing progression for your Soul Binding feature such as gaining the ability to bind to multiple Vestiges at once. However in the flavor text for it, it says that KotSS can bind other Vestiges but that they choose not to. Likewise in the text for the Patron Vestige feature it points out how you lose access to all supernatural class features until you can bind to your Patron again, but can bind to other Vestiges as normally until then.

you can bind other Vestiges in the interim, as normal for the Binder class.

As such both the fluff and the crunch infer that you can only bind to other Vestiges as a KotSS while waiting to bind to your Patron Vestige again.

Does a soul consumed by a lich’s phylactery avoid the afterlife?

Per the Lich’s Soul Sacrifice description, both the body and soul of the imprisonment spell’s target are trapped inside the phylactery. The description also states that this imprisoned “creature” is destroyed in 24 hours.

the lich uses the [imprisonment] spell to magically trap the target’s body and soul inside its phylactery…. A creature imprisoned in the phylactery for 24 hours is consumed and destroyed utterly, whereupon nothing short of divine intervention can restore it to life.

p. 203 DMG 5e (emphasis mine)

If we are to interpret the term “creature” as referring to both the body and soul of the imprisoned entity, then the soul is destroyed utterly.

If the soul no longer exists, does it have any afterlife experience?


Additional thoughts:

Might a person voluntarily offer their soul to a lich to avoid judgment for their False or Faithless soul?

The last bit of the Soul Sacrifice description does state that divine intervention can restore a destroyed creature to life, so it likely would not be outside of the power of Kelemvor to recover a soul attempting to avoid his judgment.

Is the overwhelming soul archetype balanced with regard to a normal kineticist and other kineticist archetypes?

I was looking at archetypes for the kineticists and found Overwhelming Soul it doesn’t seem like it gives much of a benefit. You gain a couple of good skills, get the ability to lower burn by one point once per day, and gain the hit and damage roll bonus without relying on burn. In exchange, you lose the ability to take burn which restricts what wild talents you can use. Not to mention you have multiple ways to manage burn. I don’t really see the real benefit it feels like one of those archetypes that give to little in exchange for to much. Is that just me?

Do the Favored Soul and Cleric differ greatly in their options for prestige classes?

As noted here, there is limited information on the optimisation options for the Favored Soul. In addition, it has received less support than the Cleric due to being a non-core class, being solely a spontaneous caster, and lacking direct access to Domains or Turn Undead. This leads me to my question, is there a great different in the options that the Cleric and Favored Soul have for prestige classes? In particular, does this have any implications for how the Cleric generally compares to the Favored Soul? Finally, does the result of this analysis change if we use Unearthed Arcana’s Spontaneous Divine Casters rules to make the Cleric similar to the Favored Soul?

To be clear, I’m more interested in analysis and comparison than I am in a simple list of what both classes can qualify for. By all means, feel free to disregard any options that are unique to one class but silly for it to take. My real interest in asking this question is to see if the common wisdom of “Favored Souls are nerfed Clerics” is always true. This question may be a useful reference.

Does a Favored Soul really gains turn attempts if he chose the Glory domain from the dracolyte prestige class?

I think I figured a way to give more power to the Favored Soul class (Complete Divine, p. 6-10) that people shun so much and is weak compared to Clerics, not only do you gain a Domain this Way but I think you also gain Turn attempts, wich really boost that poor class.

With the Prestige Class Dracolyte (Draconomicon, p. 122-123) and choosing the Glory Domain (Good gets it, but Neutral characters must choose between Glory and Domination):

The Granted Power States (SRD):

Turn Undead with a +2 bonus on the turning check and +1d6 to the turning damage roll.

In the Draconomicon p.107 it states:

Granted Power: You can turn undead with a +2 bonus on the turning check and +1d6 on the turning damage roll.

In the SRD the wording suggests that it gives you turn undead, while the Draconomicon suggest that you can do it wich could seem ambiguous, note that the Glory domain is only tied to this class, and it is mentionned in the Prestige Domain section that you can indeed join this without having other domains (wich mean non clerics, and the prerequisites permits it too) so I guess it really gives you Turn attempts.

Nothing states you need to already have Turn attempts, it straightly gives you a more powerful version of it.

This might be because Favored souls were not introduced yet, but as Favored Soul is a weak class compared to Cleric, nothing from RAW says it does not work, yet it is reasonable to allow it I believe, what would you guys say about this? Even just a 1 level dip would make way more powerful but at the cost of two weak feats, so might as well continue the prestige class…

Sidenotes:

  • I’m using the new ability from Dead Levels II:

    Knowledge Specialty (Ex): At 1st level, a favored soul can choose whether to make Knowledge (arcana) or Knowledge (religion) a class skill. Once this choice is made, it cannot be reversed

    I chose Knowledge (religion) instead so I’m ok for Dracolyte.

  • The only restrictions is having 2nd-level divine spells,2 general feats and some skills… other classes such as druid or paladin could get into this prestige class as well if they meet the prerequisites.

Can you force out a soul that is occupying a Ring of Mind Shielding?

Per the description:

If you die while wearing the ring, your soul enters it, unless it already houses a soul. You can remain in the ring or depart for the afterlife. As long as your soul is in the ring, you can telepathically communicate with any creature wearing it. A wearer can’t prevent this telepathic communication.

Our party has found a such a ring that already has a soul in it. And he is quite the chatterbox.

Only the wearer can hear, but the soul is known to talk late into the night, yell when the wearer is trying to concentrate, and tell bad jokes at the wrong time. And frankly, we’re fed up with it.

Per the description, the soul can choose to leave, but is there a way to make it leave?

It the description of the Sword of Vengeance, it calls out:

You can break the curse in the usual ways. Alternatively, casting banishment on the sword forces the vengeful spirit to leave it. The sword then becomes a +1 weapon with no other properties.

But there is no such clause for the ring. Are we stuck with Murray forever?