Arcane Disciple when some spells are already on spell list

Was just looking for a bit of insight into the Arcane Disciple feat. A quick quote on what that does:

Add the chosen domain’s spells to your class list of arcane spells. If you have arcane spellcasting ability from more than one class, you must pick which arcane spellcasting ability this feat applies to. Once chosen, this decision cannot be changed for that feat. You may learn these spells as normal for your class; however, you use Wisdom (rather than the normal ability for your spellcasting) when determining the save DC for the spell. In addition, you must have a Wisdom score equal to 10 + the spell’s level in order to prepare or cast a spell gained from this feat. Each day, you may prepare (or cast, if you cast spells without preparation) a maximum of one of these domains spells of each level.

I’m looking into a summoner build, and want to get into Thaumaturgist as a sorcerer. I figured I’d take Arcane Disciple and pick the summoning domain for Lesser Planar Ally. As a sorcerer though, all the Summon Monster spells and Gate are already Sor/Wiz spells. Does this mean I now need 19 WIS to cast Gate and the appropriate WIS for Summon Monster 1/2/3/5/7? Or can I still use these spells as a sorcerer and just rely on CHA for the main stat?

For further context, Vow of Poverty is part of the character build for a bit of game-balancing flavour. Just wondering if I need to allocate one of my 4 stat increases to WIS. Otherwise I’d rather put my points into just about anything else. Has anyone seen any rules regarding this? Or is it just a straight "the spells in this domain list now rely on WIS", regardless of whether or not they were already on your class list?

Thanks,

Erik

In what ways can you adjudicate the game mechanics of the Ventriloquism spell?

The Ventriloquism spell (identical in both 3.5 & PFRPG 1e rules) is noted for having a rather generic text entry description that is devoid of any game mechanic uses. Unlike the easier-to-use visual figment illusion spells, this spell causes a lot of DM / Player debate on how it actually plays out on the tabletop due to its auditory-only manifestation.

I’d like some help in hearing how other tables use practical (and even clever) uses of the Ventriloquism spell to impact such game mechanics like rolling for initiative, effects on action economy, etc. In addition, I’m not aware of any beneficial game mechanics for "distracting an opponent" – such as the ventriloquist throwing her voice by yelling elf battle cries behind some angry orcs.

Thank you!


(To note: we fully understand the unique disbelief/interaction rules of auditory figment spells)

Can players choose specific points in space, down to the inch, to cast a spell so as to avoid hitting a prone character?

Say there is a character that is prone, such as if they were unconscious, and they are surrounded on all 8 square grids (assuming that a grid is being used) by other creatures. Can a player cast a spell that has a sphere effect such as fireball or shatter such that only the 8 creatures surrounding the one that is prone be hit?

Would this potentially have any adverse effects with potentially breaking or having any unintended consequences for any other spells/effects down the line if this were allowed?

Obviously when it comes to casting some spells, the caster has the option to "choose a point in space", but when playing with the understanding of a grid system that works in chunks of a given dimension does is it feasible to have spells cast in such a way so that a body lying prone won’t be affected by a spell cast just overhead?

Is there a class ability magic item, or spell that will allow me to telekinetically disarm one or more opponents?

Disarm action (DMG p271) Allows you to use a weapon attack to attempt to disarm a foe.
I would love to be able to do this to one or more opponents telekinetically, similar to Darth Vader in Rogue One.
Are there any class features, magic items, or spells that might let me accomplish this?

Simplifying spell component management

I have started a new campaign and am considering making life a little easier for my spell casters by not expecting them to source and find all there components ahead of time. Especially where components are destroyed. Instead being willing to allow them to operate a tax system. If a spell requires a 1000GP gem bowl just have them remove 1000GP from the inventory instead of making them find and buy the bowl. One of the main reasons for this is that the new party has a druid, cleric and paladin so a lot of spells potentially for them to go and source components for and as new players I want to try and streamline things a bit.

Is this an accepted standard mechanic for managing spell caster components or are there other ways of simplifying this aspect of spell management.

Does a “willing” creature know the outcome of the spell that is being cast on them?

Perhaps put another way, can you lie when casting a spell on a "willing creature"? For instance, I could cast Dimension Door on myself and one willing creature. I may tell him we’re going across that gorge, but in reality, we’re going 500 feet up for some tasty 20d6 fall damage for both of us, because why not?

Does a willing creature know what they are subjecting themselves to specifically? Or do they merely allow a spell to be cast on them, trusting that you’re going to do what you say you’re going to do?

Can a spell being cast via a magic item be considered to be more than one class’ spell at the same time?

Can a spell being cast via a magic item be considered to be more than one class’ spell at the same time? Specifically, items phrased along the lines of “While holding it, you can use an action […] to cast [a spell] from it”, with no ties to a particular class (such as Wand of Magic Missiles, Helm of Teleportation, Wand of Entangle, etc.).

The reason I’m asking this question is it seems like it is possible via an odd interaction quirk of the following rules that I’m aware of, and I wanted to make sure I’m not missing anything:

  • From the answers over on the question of “What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?”, the implication is that something is a ‘class spell’ if it is on that class’ spell list.

  • The multiclass spellcasting rules state “Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes”. However, in an instance where you are a multiclassed character who neither knows nor has prepared the spell from either class, I don’t think this rule would apply, removing the limit of being associated with only one class.

  • My current understanding is that spells cast from magic items can still be considered class spells, as per the answer to “Can a sorcerer spell cast from a magic item trigger a Wild Magic Surge” (plus, they are still on the class’ spell list, as mentioned above).


(For a specific application of where this may matter, consider this example: Could a multiclassed 10th level School of Evocation wizard/1st level Wild Magic sorcerer PC benefit from both Empowered Evocation and Wild Magic Surge on a single cast of magic missile from a Wand of Magic Missiles, assuming that they did not pick up magic missile as a spell via either of their classes? Empowered Evocation and Wild Magic Surge care that the spell being cast is a wizard spell and a sorcerer spell, respectively.)

How do the Death Ward spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait interact?

What happens when you cast Death Ward on a half-orc? Do the effects of the spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait stack?

If so, and you get reduced to 0 HP more than once, can you go back up to 1 HP a second time? Or does only one of them take effect and you can only be brought back to 1 HP once?

My DM thinks the latter.

Can a Steel Defender or a Alchemical Homunculus use a Spell Storing Item?

I have seen from many different sources the thought process that you can have your Alchemical Homunculus or your Steel Defender use your spell storing item. This would let them take up concentration for an additional spell.

However the more I look into it the less I think you can. I wanted to get clarification from you folks.

Spell Storing item:

While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. If the spell requires concentration, the creature must concentrate.

Alchemical Homunculus:

In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take the action in its stat block or the Dash, Disengage, Help, Hide, or Search action.

Steel Defender:

In combat, the steel defender shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take one of the actions in its stat block or the Dash, Disengage, Help, Hide, or Search action.

I added emphasis on only. This completely negates the ability to use the Spell Storing Item in combat doesn’t it?

How does the Web spell burn away?

The web spell description says:

The webs are flammable. Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round, dealing 2d4 fire damage to any creature that starts its turn in the fire.

I’m confused with the wording of the flammable part.

Let’s say that on turn 1, I cast web; the web is supported by the floor and the ceiling that is 15 feet up. I catch a Medium creature on it and it fails its saving throw.

On turn 2 I cast fireball engulfing the whole web on its radius.

The wording says that “Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round” – so, what exactly happens?

  1. What does “Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round” means? Does any area of the web affected by fire will vanish and free whoever was caught on that area after 1 round?
  2. If the answer for 1 is yes, what if I use a single-target spell like fire bolt or chromatic orb, will the creature still free itself?
  3. What does “in 1 round” means? At the start of round 3? At the start of my third turn? At the end of my third turn?