Can a Wizard identify the spells in another spellbook without copying them into their own?

If a Wizard finds the spellbook of the evil Wizard they discovered, how does the process of finding out which spells are in the spellbook work? (Assume the evil Wizard didn’t simply write the spells’ names in common at the top of the pages or create an index.)

  • Does the Wizard have to spend 2 hours per spell level “deciphering the unique system of notation” to be able to tell that the spell they’ve been studying is detect magic? Or can they tell at a glance that it’s detect magic before spending the 2 hours?
  • Does it require the 50gp per spell level cost just to figure out what the spell is, or do they get to choose whether to spend it after figuring out what spell it is, as part of deciding whether to copy the spell into their spellbook?

From the 5e Basic Rules, Chapter 3, pg. 31 (emphasis mine):

Copying a spell into your spellbook involves reproducing the basic form of the spell, then deciphering the unique system of notation used by the wizard who wrote it. You must practice the spell until you understand the sounds or gestures required, then transcribe it into your spellbook using your own notation. For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it.

Must a warlock learn new spells of *exactly* their warlock slot level?

The Warlock Pact Magic feature says:

The Spells Known column of the Warlock table shows when you learn more warlock spells of your choice of 1st level and higher. A spell you choose must be of a level no higher than what’s shown in the table’s Slot Level column for your level. When you reach 6th level, for example, you learn a new warlock spell, which can be 1st, 2nd, or 3rd level.

Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the warlock spells you know and replace it with another spell from the warlock spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Consider a warlock leveling up from level 4 to level 5, where their Pact Magic spell slots change from 2nd level to 3rd level. They can replace a warlock spell they know with a spell from the warlock spell list which “must be of a level for which they have spell slots,” and they don’t precisely have 2nd level spell slots anymore. Can the warlock therefore only replace a warlock spell they know with a 3rd level warlock spell? Or can they learn a new 2nd level warlock spell instead?

(The word “also” suggests the same conditions apply as in the previous paragraph, but the first paragraph uses different wording — “a level no higher than what’s shown in the table’s Slot Level column,” and the second paragraph refers to “a level for which you have spell slots.”)

I am aware that this answer claims the interpretation that you can learn lower-level spells, but it doesn’t give any justification for that interpretation or discuss the specific wording.

Can a ring of spell storing and access to Find spells produce an endless menagerie?

This is looking at what appears to be a somewhat bizarre rules exploit, and attempting to determine if it is, in fact, viable under the rules.

Premise: We have a Bard who likes having friends – a lot of friends. He has Find Familiar. At level 10, he takes Find Steed and Find Greater Steed as his magical secrets and the DM has given him a ring of Spell storing.

Now, it’s pretty clear that by himself, he can have one Familiar, one Greater Steed, and one Steed (perhaps a mastiff, because he wants a dog, and can’t ride two things at once). We’ll say that he chooses a hawk as his familiar.

Can the bard allow the creatures summoned by the spells to attune to and use the ring of spell storing containing Find/Familiar spells to summon Steeds/Familiars of their own?

A DM might adjudicate that a hawk/mastiff/griffin has no fingers and cannot use a ring, but Polymorph is available to a Bard of that level, and seems like it should be able to handle the issue for the Steed and Greater Steed. (I’m not sure if there are any beasts of low enough CR for the familiar that would have something appropriately finger-like.)

Is there a reason why the dog would not be able to have a perfectly loyal griffin of its own? Is there any real limit to the potential pyramid of perfect loyalty/obedience that would result?

This is in some ways similar to the linked question, and may have the same answer, but it is distinct on a couple of points. The first is that the linked question is about the Pact of the Chain familiar, most of which have obvious fingers already, as compared to the generic Familiar, Steed, and Greater Steed. The second is that this question is specifically about the three Find spells, which seem like they might be a special case – it’s not merely about whether your dog (polymorphed into an octopus/monkey/whatever) is able to cast the spell, but whether they are able to permanently maintain the found creature afterwards. In particular, this seems to severely break the intended limit of one steed, greater steed, and familiar per PC, and it seemed like there might be some further limit in place preventing it from working out this way.

Why does the starter kit wizard have six spells in their spellbook?

This was in the starter kit. Level 1 high elf wizard with int mod +3. How does this character have 6 spells? I understand that one is a ritual, but it has 5 more and not 4? The spellbook shows 1) burning hands 2) detect magic(R) 3) mage armor 4) magic missile 5) shield 6) sleep. I had the same original question myself. This is a premade character sheet licensed by D&D.

Ability Damage, spells, and the possession spell

Let’s say that a wizard casts Possession on a bugbear. Now, this bugbear has spent some time in questionable places and has contracted both Filth Fever and Mindfire, the first being a disease causing Dex and Con damage, the latter being a disease causing Int damage.

The wizard is still possession the bugbear when the diseases have their next ability damage ‘tick’. Who gets the ability damage?

The second paragraph of possession reads the following (Emphasis mine)

If you are successful, your life force occupies the host body. The host’s soul is imprisoned with you, but can still use its own senses (though it can’t assert any influence or use even purely mental abilities). You can communicate telepathically with the host as if you shared a common language, but only with your consent. You keep your Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma, level, class, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, alignment, and mental abilities. The body retains its Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, hit points, natural abilities, and automatic abilities. A body with extra limbs doesn’t allow you to make more attacks (or more advantageous two-weapon attacks) than normal. You can’t activate the body’s extraordinary or supernatural abilities, nor can you cast any of its spells or spell-like abilities.

Because of this I assume that only the body would get the Dex and Con damage from Filth Fever, though I can’t find any rulings on this. But, what about the Int damage from Mindfire. Who gets the Int damage? The wizard, the bugbear or maybe even both? I find this a difficult question because there are two minds in the same body, unlike similar possession spells like Magic Jar which removes the original soul from the body.

On a related note (and if this should be a seperate question, I apologize), how would spells like feeblemind work when targeting a body inhabited by more than one mind?

Can another caster teach ritual spells to a Warlock with Book of Ancient Secrets? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can Wizards, Tome Warlocks, and those with the Ritual Caster feat use spells from each other's books? 2 answers
  • What exactly are the sources from which you can copy spells into a Book of Shadows? 4 answers

Wizards, for example, are explicitly stated to copy spells from scrolls, and can only learn spells from scrolls. However, the Eldritch Invocation Book of Ancient Secrets is very general about how ritual spells can be learned:

On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the spell’s level is equal to or less than half your warlock level (rounded up) and if you can spare the time to transcribe the spell.

“Finding such a spell on your adventures” seems very general. Specifically, could learning spells from another caster qualify?

How does Share Spells work with animal companions for continuous effects?

Right okay so here’s a question I’m hoping someone can provide clarity to under the D&D 3.5 rule set. I’ve used the PHB, DMG and the 3.0 Rules of the Game Animals Part 4 to research an answer though I’m no closer to a solution.

From the ranger or druid class ability animal companion, spells can be shared with the companion via the share spells ability. This is also true of magic items, from Rules of the Game Animals Part 4:

You and your animal companion can share effects from magic items only if the effect is a spell that you can target on yourself. For example, you and your animal companion can share a barkskin spell cast from a wand, but cannot share the armor bonus from bracers of armor.

How does this apply to magic items with continuous ongoing effects? Say for example the character is wearing a Mantle of Spell Resistance granting the wearer spell resistance 21, the wearer approaches and stays within 5ft of his animal companion choosing to share his spells with the animal companion. Does the animal companion also receive spell resistance 21 provided the wearer stays within 5ft of his animal companion?

Or is the understanding that sharing spells is only applicable if the character casts a spell or produces some effect at the time or after the character approaches and remains within 5ft. For example the character is riding along on his animal companion heavy horse suddenly the ground beneath them gives and both the animal companion and the character plunge down a 30ft pit. But luckily the character is wearing a ring of feather falling and therefore the feather fall spell is activated and BOTH the character and the animal companion drift slowly and safely to the bottom?

Last example using the character and heavy horse animal companion again from above, the character and animal companion are riding along the trail when suddenly an orc shaman jumps out of the bushes and casts magic missile, the character is wearing a brooch of shielding which protects against magic missile however the orc shaman casts the spell at the horse. Does the shield spell effect of the brooch of shielding protect the horse?

All of the above examples use reactive spells or effects, the character hasn’t actively cast a spell or produced an effect to share.

Hoping someone can shed some light on this.

Is it possible to cast multiple spells per turn?

Never had an issue with spellcaster scaling until today. A player in the group claims he can cast Eldrich Blast twice on his turn. Once as an action, and a second time as a bonus action since it is a cantrip. Allowing him to shoot 4 beams for a d10 each (he’s 5th level so 2 beams per cast). This seems vastly stronger than anyone else’s max 2 attacks. After the session which ended early with many players angry this player ruined all encounters, there was much talk of re-rolling into all caster party. One wanting to do the same with a wizards Firebolt spell as a bonus every turn, others still browsing.

So, is it possible for a caster to cast multiple spells in 1 turn? From what I was quoted from the PHB, it’s possible to cast any spell as an action, then cast a second spell; as long as the bonus action spell was a cantrip with a cast time of 1 action? So 99% of all cantrips? Please tell me this is wrong, because I feel that if anyone else does this our melee characters will never see a fight again before the casters nuke them down.

Do Mass versions of spells count as the base spell for magic item creation?

Certain magic items require that the crafter know certain spells. From the rules on magic item creation

These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item’s creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed).

Some spells also have a “mass” version of the spell that usually functions in a similar way as the normal spell but affecting more targets. I am wondering if these mass versions of the spell also count for the purposes of creating a magic item.

For example, if a character knows Feather Step, Mass (but not Feather Step), does this qualify for creating Feather Step Slippers?

Can a demon summoned by the Summon Greater Demon be summoned into and contained by the spell’s blood circle?

Just as the title says. I’m designing a character who can summon demons and bind them with Planar Ally.

The Dybbuk, in particular, is one demon which I’m drawn to due to its ability to possess any Large or smaller humanoid or beast corpse regardless of CR and the only real drawback is the fact it’s undead and loses any class features, although it would still be able to use things like innate spellcasting. Its at-will Dimension Door is also extremely useful and I can think of numerous applications.

I described the Dybbuk as the example of focus to highlight that the reason I’m choosing not to just summon it into the Magic Circle is due to the fact that it can teleport at-will. So, while it can’t just walk out, I’m extremely doubtful it’s going to fail 600 Charisma saving throws during the hour I would be taking to cast the Planar Binding spell. By using a Hallow spell that allows fiends inside the area but disallows teleportation and extra-dimensional travel, this can be stopped but just adds even more expense and a whole 24 hours (and hence, a level of exhaustion) necessary time for preparation.

So, my solution is cast Summon Greater Demon for the Dybbuk into a Glyph of Warding. Since I have to actually cast the spell I’m storing, and can draw the blood circle as part of the casting, I would draw it around the Glyph in which the spell is stored. I would then trigger it so the Demon can be present without my concentration while I concentrate on the casting of Planar Binding.

Hence, since the description of the spell’s blood circle only states that the demon cannot cross it (or target anyone in it), does this work inversely as the actual Magic Circle spell can?

Please note that I am not exactly looking for alternatives to this method, but am completely open to them. However, I mainly wish for the question to be answered based on RAW and RAI reading, as well as what you all think would be reasonable.