What are the consequences for a Warforged that does not spend 6 hours in its inactive state?

In the Wayfinder’s Guide to Eberron (p. 68-69 – the version quoted here is as it appears in UA: Eberron Races), a Warforged has the two following traits:

Sentry’s Rest. When you take a long rest, you must spend at least six hours in an inactive, motionless state, rather than sleeping. […]

Warforged Resilience. […] You don’t need to sleep and don’t suffer the effects of exhaustion due to lack of rest, […]

(Wayfinder’s Guide to Eberron, emphasis mine)

While Sentry’s Rest states the rest must be taken, Warforged Resilience seems to indicate there is no penalty for not doing so.

What are the actual consequences for a Warforged that does not go inactive during a long rest?

Do you always have to spend XP to gain Merits and Backgrounds (during play)?

Context: This question refers to gaining Merits and Backgrounds (Advantages) after the campaign has started, long after character generation has been done.

In older versions of Vampire the Masquerade, my GMs made us pay experience points to for some Advantages, but others were free and just based on roleplaying. Examples:

  1. You’ve done the Prince a huge favour. Gain 1 Status. No xp required.
  2. You’ve turned your best friend into a ghoul. No xp required.
  3. You’ve decided you really want the Crack Driver merit. Cut scene about you on an advanced & defensive driving course. Pay the xp cost.
  4. You have built up your Herd. Explain how to the GM and pay the xp cost.

What’s the situation with buying new Advantages or improving old ones in VTM 5th edition? Pay for everything? GM decides?

How many Ki points can a monk spend per turn?

Flurry of Blows, Patient Defense, and Step of the Wind each cost 1 Ki point to use and use a bonus action. Does that mean I can only use 1 per turn, since I can only take 1 bonus action per turn?

At the same time it feels like Ki points are kind of like spell slots, and maybe if I get the ability to spend more Ki I can use more of these abilities in a turn.

Can anyone clarify this for me?

Can you spend willpower on hunger dice?

So I am extremely confused. Because on page 122 under Willpower it says “Characters may not spend willpower to re-roll Hunger dice” But on page 205 it says “If the Hunger complication seems too dangerous in the moment, the player can (and should) opt to re-roll by spending Willpower (p. 122), either to get rid of regular 0’s to defuse a messy critical or to turn a failed roll into a success in the case of a bestial failure”

are you required to spend hit dice to short rest?

What the title says. I couldn’t find this anywhere, but my DM is adamant on the idea that in order to benefit from a short rest, you have to spend a hit die. I haven’t found anything that supports this. Is he right, or is he maybe just DM house-ruling it? I mainly was wondering because I play a wizard and it would be helpful to know whether I can use it during a short rest that others are taking.

When casting a spell with a long casting time, what happens if you don’t spend your action on a turn to continue casting?

Inspired by a comment in this question, which reads as follows:

It says you must spend your action each turn, but it does not say that if you do not spend an action that the spell fails

And the rules for spells with long casting times are as follows (emphasis mine):

Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so (see “Concentration” below). If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over.

—Casting Time (Player’s Handbook, pg. 202)

Is the comment accurate? If you don’t spend your action on a turn casting the spell (but also don’t spend your action otherwise), does the casting fail (even if you intend to continue spending your actions on the following turns)? Or does it only fail if concentration is broken?

Since the Player’s Handbook quotation only specifies that the casting fails if the caster’s concentration is broken, I’m wondering if the

you must spend your action each turn casting the spell

is another way that the casting can fail. To avoid this question being a duplicate of the one I linked, I want to know in a general case how this interacts. The “must” seems to imply that the caster can’t just choose to “pause” their casting for a round, but what about being unable to use their action in some other way?

Is it allowed to spend a night in the first entry country before moving to the main destination?

I have booked to spend a night in the first entry point which is Germany. Then in the second day I’m going to move to the main destination (Switzerland), where my visa has been issued, by car.Is that illegal and I have to have a flight to the main destination at same time?

If a sorcerer casts Sickening Radiance with the Careful Spell metamagic option, does he have to spend a sorcery point every round? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can a Sorcerer protect their friend from Web by using Careful Spell? 8 answers

One of my players is playing a Sorcerer who knows the sickening radiance spell (XGtE, p. 164):

When a creature moves into the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, that creature must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 4d10 radiant damage, and it suffers one level of exhaustion and emits a dim, greenish light in a 5-foot radius. This light makes it impossible for the creature to benefit from being invisible. The light and any levels of exhaustion caused by this spell go away when the spell ends.

(This spell has a 10-minute duration and is a concentration spell.)

He has also chosen the Careful Spell metamagic option:

When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell’s full force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery point and choose a number of those creatures up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one creature). A chosen creature automatically succeeds on its saving throw against the spell.

Sickening radiance forces creatures in the area to make a saving throw each round that it starts their turn in the area of effect.

If the Sorcerer wants their teammates to succeed on the saving throw against sickening radiance each round, do they have to spend a sorcery point each round? Or do the player characters get to pass the check automatically after the initial sorcery point is spent, since it was cast as a Careful Spell?

How do I spend money in the US? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • When traveling to a country with a different currency, how should you take your money? 22 answers

I’m a Canadian traveling to the US next month. I haven’t traveled internationally before and I’m not sure how money works. Am I able to use my credit card in the US? I have a $ 2000 limit, will USD transactions apply to that via the exchange rate or something else? Is my card able to be preauthorized by a US merchant? Can I withdraw from US ATMs using my debit card?