Prime sphere requirements to use Tass in Mage 20th Anniversary Edition

I’m confused about what level of Prime is required to use Tass in the Mage 20th Anniversary Edition rules.

In the main rulebook the following statements are made:

M20 Rulebook:

  • p 332: “To absorb Quintessence energy from the materialized Quintessence of Tass requires Prime 3.”

  • p 520: Prime 1 sphere description says: “A beginning study of Prime allows the mage to perceive and channel Quintessence from Nodes, Tass, …”

  • p 520: Prime 3 sphere description says: “… the Prime-skilled mage can draw both free and raw Quintessence from Nodes, Junctures (special times) and Tass …”

How do you DO That Rulebook says:

  • pp. 43-45: “Any mage with an Avatar Background cab absorb that Background’s worth of Quintessence from a Node or Tass …”

First off – are there ways to use Tass other than absorbing the Quintessence into your pattern? Can you spend Tass to gain Quintessence effects like lowering the difficulty of a roll without absorbing it into your pattern?

And with regard to what levels of Prime are required to do these things, I can see support for any of these positions:

  1. You don’t need any Prime at all to absorb Quintessence from Tass into your pattern, as “Any mage with an Avatar Background” can do it (How do you DO That pp. 43-45)
  2. You need Prime 1, as the description for that sphere says Prime 1 allows you to channel Quintessence from Tass. (M20 p. 520)
  3. You need Prime 3, as that is stated on M20 p. 332 and p. 520 explicitly

I have reviewed other answers at: How does the Prime Sphere affect gaining and storing Quintessence in M20? but it left me more confused than enlightented.

From a gameplay perspective, requiring Prime 3 to use Tass seems to defeat much of the purpose of Tass – as it can’t be readily exchanged between mages as portable Quintessence unless they have Prime 3.

How to measure on a grid the area of a sphere area spell or effect centered on a creature?

Per the Wild Magic sorcerer’s Wild Magic Surge table (PHB, p. 104)

07-08: You cast fireball as a 3rd-level spell centered on yourself.

There’s other questionable area spells in that list (grease is a 10 foot square, so your square and which three?), but I’ll focus on spheres like fireball (PHB p. 241):

(…) Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on the point must (…)

My problem is, the sources I found so far – including the other answers to similar questions here – talk about measuring spheres from grid square intersections, whereas this clearly talks about it being centered on the unlucky Wild Magic sorcerer. Plus, since it’s a wild magic effect, it doesn’t exactly have a caster that can pick a point of origin. Is there an accepted way to measure an effect like this?

How does the Flaming Sphere spell’s area of effect work?

The description of the flaming sphere in the PHB reads:

Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the sphere must […]

Does this mean flaming sphere affects a sphere with a diameter of 15 feet (5 feet from itself, 10 feet towards either direction)?

Also, does ramming the sphere require placing the sphere at the location of the enemy directly, or will it still do damage as long as the creature is in the affected range of the spell?

Can flaming sphere cast at 60ft then be moved 30ft next turn to be 90ft away from you?

I was wondering if the 60ft range on flaming sphere is the max range it can ever be from you or only the max range you can cast it at. Then on subsequent turns you can move it even farther away. Same for Moonbeam and other similar spells. I could not find a clear answer googling it, and asking my friends geoups returned a split decision.

While I’m mostly interested in answering this for D&D 5e, I’d also be curious for Pathfinder 2e if for some reason the rules were different.

https://roll20.net/compendium/dnd5e/Flaming%20Sphere#content

How do i get the Mollweide projection of a sphere?

I have defined three angular functions

F1[\[Theta]_,\[Phi]_] := (1/2) (1 + Cos[\[Theta]] Cos[\[Theta]]) Cos[2\[Phi]] F2[\[Theta]_,\[Phi]_] := -Cos[\[Theta]] Sin[2\[Phi]] F3[\[Theta]_,\[Phi]_] := F1[\[Theta],\[Phi]]^2 + F2[\[Theta],\[Phi]]^2 

So I can “project” F3[\[Theta], \[Phi]] on a sphere in the following way

SphericalPlot3D[1,{\[Theta],0,\[Pi]}, {\[Phi],0,2\[Pi]}, ColorFunction -> Function[{x,y,z, \[Theta],\[Phi],r}, ColorData["Rainbow"][F3[\[Theta],\[Phi]]]], ColorFunctionScaling -> False, Mesh -> True, Boxed -> True,  Axes -> True, AxesLabel -> {x, y, z}, PlotPoints -> 100, PlotLegends -> BarLegend["Rainbow"]] 

and use the function to properly color the sphere. Is there a way to do the same thing using a Mollweide projection instead of a sphere?

What happens when Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere is cast on a creature that has momentum going for them?

If a creature casts Otiluke’s resilient sphere on himself while he is walking or running, does the momentum stop when the spell is cast?

I’m thinking about a scenario where a creature is surrounded by a prismatic barrier. It can’t be seen through so to get through it by teleportation misty step is out of the picture. People are split on whether dimension door (having to target the area you are making the door to) is blocked due to the barrier blocking line of effect. The spell ‘teleportation’ is a riskier form of teleportation that is also a higher level spell and is thus more difficult to access. So my thoughts turned to a spell my artificer does have: Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere.

Resilient sphere tells you how it can be moved:

An enclosed creature can use its action to push against the sphere’s walls and thus roll the sphere at up to half the creature’s speed. Similarly, the globe can be picked up and moved by other creatures.

The words of the sphere only include a way for the creature inside to move by expending an action, it would however be fallacious to say this must be an exhaustive list of what ways the sphere can be moved. As it doesn’t say it can’t be moved by other means. These words would indicate that for an creature inside to start moving the sphere it will require its action.

I want to know if there is any way to cast the sphere and move it in the same turn on only your one action (without metamagic). Particularly, what happens if the creature enclosed in the sphere has momentum when the sphere is cast. Can a creature run at the prismatic barrier and cast Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere to get through it? I presume a creature can cast while moving, and if not I know a creature can cast while concentrating on a spell; At the very least a creature should be able to use a ready action to cast the spell and concentrate on it, run at the wall, and activate the spell before he hits the wall.

Can you activate a spiritual weapon while inside the effect of Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere?

One of the rules for the Resilient Sphere spell states:

Nothing, not physical Objects, energy, or other spell Effects, can pass through the barrier, in or out, though a creature in the Sphere can breathe there. The Sphere is immune to all damage, and a creature or object inside can’t be damaged by attacks or Effects originating from outside, nor can a creature inside the Sphere damage anything outside it.

What if the person trapped inside of the sphere had cast a spell like Spiritual Weapon?

I believe the sphere would prevent you from casting Spiritual Weapon once you are inside of it. But what about activating it if you have cast it before entering the sphere?

Do you need to see where you move a flaming sphere as a bonus action? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Spells with movable areas of effect: moving them out of sight or behind obstacles 1 answer

Example: Cast the sphere then duck around a corner away from the fight and move it on each of your turns as a bonus action while staying safe and keeping concentration.

Flaming Sphere (PHB 242-243)

A 5-foot-diameter Sphere of fire appears in an unoccupied space of your choice within range and lasts for the Duration. Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the Sphere must make a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

As a Bonus Action, you can move the Sphere up to 30 feet. If you ram the Sphere into a creature, that creature must make the saving throw against the sphere’s damage, and the Sphere stops moving this turn.

When you move the Sphere, you can direct it over barriers up to 5 feet tall and jump it across pits up to 10 feet wide. The Sphere ignites flammable Objects not being worn or carried, and it sheds bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet.

At Higher Levels: When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd Level or higher, the damage increases by 1d6 for each slot level above 2nd.

Do you need to be able to see where you want to move a flaming sphere to?

Can a Huge (or larger) creature move through the Watery Sphere spell?

The watery sphere spell description says:

On a successful save, a creature is ejected from that space to the nearest unoccupied space of the creature‚Äôs choice outside the sphere. A Huge or larger creature succeeds on the saving throw automatically, […]

Every time a Huge creature would attempt to go through the sphere – it will automatically make a successful save against the effect, and so will be moved back in unoccupied square?

Imagine a straight corridor 15 feet wide, and a Huge creature tried to go through it, but the path is blocked by watery sphere. Does this mean that a Huge creature cannot go through watery sphere at all?

Can Hypnotic Gaze be used through Resilient Sphere?

Can the Enchantment Wizard’s level 2 ability Hypnotic Gaze be used through a Resilient Sphere?

The ability seems to only required the Wizard to see the target, and the target to see or hear the Wizard:

… choose one creature that you can see within 5 feet of you. If the target can see or hear you…

I assume Resilient Sphere doesn’t block vision or sound, but it definitely obstructs the path from the Wizard to the target. In addition, it is written that

Nothing, not physical Objects, energy, or other spell Effects, can pass through the barrier

So, does the Hypnotic Gaze go through the Sphere or not?