How do the Spirit Guardians and Sanctuary spells interact?

A player in my group asked the DM:

  1. What if Cleric 1 was to cast spirit guardians and go for the heart of battle
  2. Then Cleric 2 cast sanctuary on him
  3. Then Cleric 1 just sits there not actively attacking, probably taking the Dodge action while keeping concentration on his spell.

This makes it OP because he would be sitting there dishing out massive damage, while enemies would have to make a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw to hit him, and if they actually succeed they would have to hit with disadvantage due to the Dodge action.

The crucial point lies in the wording of sanctuary:

If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

Cleric 1 cast spirit guardians before sanctuary came into effect, so he will not attack or cast something for the time being; he just sits there.
But he is also keeping concentration on a spell that harms others.
What do you think? Does the sanctuary spell end or not?

Can you command a Wildfire Spirit non-verbally?

The Circle of Wildfire Druid subclass released in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything has the feature Summon Wildfire Spirit, which (appropriately) summons a Wildfire Spirit. The feature includes this paragraph about what actions are allowed/required relating to the spirit:

In combat, the spirit shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. The only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the spirit can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge.

However, sometimes characters can’t speak in order to issue commands, for example if the druid is bound and gagged I don’t see any restriction on summoning the spirit, but they would be unable to speak a command for it to help them escape. The Wildfire Spirit does not have any specific mention of a telepathic bond (though there is a vague "bound to your soul" line), but does specifically indicate it "understands the languages you speak". My assumption then was that in order to command the spirit it must hear you speak the command in a language.

However… Nothing in the feature actually SAYS any of those restrictions. There are at least a few instances where a creature explicitly "must be able to hear" something to have an effect, the first one I found being a Berserk Flesh Golem:

The golem’s creator, if within 60 feet of the berserk golem, can try to calm it by speaking firmly and persuasively. The golem must be able to hear its creator

Additionally, the (potentially) comparable Ranger’s Companion feature from the Beast Master Ranger subclass specifies that commands are verbal, and I would interpret that the beast would not be able to follow verbal commands that it doesn’t hear.

The Wildfire Druid feature does not include either of these phrasings, or anything similar. The spirit can "understand" languages you speak, does that include reading a written command? Could you attempt to convey meaning through gestures, or use telepathic communication from some other source? Is merely using your bonus action enough, even without an explanation for how the spirit would know your intentions (perhaps that would allow it to take a non-dodge action, but it wouldn’t necessarily take the specific action you wanted)? Or is "only verbal commands" the default and a special exception is needed for any alternative?

Does the Tentacle of the Deeps get bonus damage from Spirit Shroud?

Does the Fathomless’ Tentacle deal extra damage from the Spirit Shroud spell as it is you doing the attack via the tentacle? If so does the target have to be within 10 feet of both the warlock and the tentacle?

Tentacle of the Deeps: As a bonus action, you create a 10-foot-long tentacle at a point you can see within 60 feet of you. When you create the tentacle, you can make a melee spell attack against one creature within 10 feet of it. On a hit, the target takes ld8 cold damage, and its speed is reduced by 10 feet until the start of your next turn. — Tashas p.72

Spirit Shroud: Until the spell ends, any attack you make deals ld8 extra damage when you hit a creature within 10 feet of you. — Tashas p.108

Does a bonus action end invisibility gained from the Boon of the Night Spirit?

As the title says really. The Boon of the Night Spirit says:

While completely in an area of dim light or darkness, you can become invisible as an action. You remain invisible until you take an action or a reaction. (DMG, Chapter 7, page 232)

If a character did something that they can do as a bonus action (certain spells, dash or disengage for a rogue, etc.), would the invisibility end?

Does casting Goodberry activate the Circle of the Shepherd druid’s Unicorn Spirit totem?

The Circle of the Shepherd druid’s Unicorn Spirit Totem (XGtE, p. 24) says:

The unicorn spirit lends its protection to those nearby. You and your allies gain advantage on all ability checks made to detect creatures in the spirit’s aura. In addition, if you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to any creature inside or outside the aura, each creature of your choice in the aura also regains hit points equal to your druid level.

Does casting Goodberry count as a spell that “restores hit points”, since the characters then have to do an additional action to actually restore the hit points?

Can a kalashtar’s linked quori spirit be seen using truesight?

In various depictions of kalashtar, the quori spirit that they are merged with/linked to is seen behind them or occupying the same space, sometimes echoing their movement or stance. Is this purely artistic licence, or is there some truth to the representation? Would this sight be perceptible through any magic or senses?

Does the Construct Spirit from Summon Construct cast at 4th level have 40 or 55 hp?

I believe that there is a typo in the Summon Construct spell from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything. The spell is shown as a 4th level spell in the spell listing and in the table at the beginning of the chapter. However, the hit points formula in the Construct Spirit stat block is given as "40 + 15 for each spell level above 3rd," emphasis mine. This is odd because all of the other stat block formulas are formatted such that you only add extra hp if the spell is cast at a higher level.

RAW the construct has 55 HP when cast as a 4th level spell, but have the designers commented that this was unintentional and the base HP should actually be 40?

Does the bonus damage from Spirit Shroud apply to an Echo’s opportunity attacks?

The UA spell Spirit Shroud has the following effect:

Until the spell ends, any attack you make deals 1d8 extra damage when you hit a creature within 10 feet of you.

The Echo Knight has the following ability (emphasis mine):

When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space.

Assuming that a creature triggers an opportunity attack from an Echo created by an Echo Knight Fighter under the effects of Spirit Shroud that is more than 10 feet away from the creature, would Spirit Shroud’s bonus damage apply to the attack?


My uncertainty stems mainly from the fact that it’s clear that normal attacks made by the Echo would not gain this bonus (if made from more than 10 feet away), as they simply originate from the Echo:

When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space

The addition of "as if you were in the echo’s space" seems to imply that opportunity attacks for Echos work differently, however.