Does the Spirit Guardians spell stack with multiple casters?

Recently played with a group, where 3 of their clerics would cast spirit guardians, claiming monsters in the area had to make 3 wisdom saves for 3d8 damage each, potentially adding up to 9d8 damage per round.

Is this any different then trying to have two casters cast insect plague or cloudkill on the same area, or bless on the same individual?

Is it possible to combine Summon Beastial Spirit spell and Wildshape to travel by air?

The Summon Bestial Spirit appeared in Unearthed Arcana 2020 edition Spells and Magic Tattoos.

In our campaign we are allowed to use the spells to playtest the material. I was wondering whether she could feasibly use this spell alongside Wildshape (something small), to be able to travel distances by air, or to infiltrate.

It came up when our druid used the air-based form of the Summon Bestial Spirit spell, which has a fly speed of 60 ft. The idea was to turn herself into a Tiny Beast such as a Spider (MM, p.337).

My additional query about this air travel is how she could potentially instruct the spirit.

Could she tell the spirit in advance of the (PHB, p.66) something like:

  • when I turn into a spider and go on your back, fly towards that castle;
  • if I tickle your right ear veer right;
  • if I tickle your left ear, veer left;
  • if I pull your feather, go up;
  • if I push down your feathers down, go down

How does a Circle of the Shepherd’s Mighty Summoner feature interact with the UA spell Summon Bestial Spirit?

Our DM has allowed us to play-test the summoning spells which appear in Unearthed Arcana 2020: Spells and Magic Tattoos and I have added the 2nd-level Druid spell Summon Bestial Spirit (pp. 3-4) to my spell list.

I chose the Circle of the Shepherd which has a feature at L6 called Mighty Summoner, which is meant to enhance a druid’s summoning/conjuring spells by adding +2 HPs per Hit Die and causing the damage to be classed as magical (XGE, p.240).

For example, with the 3rd-level spell Conjure Animals (PHB, p.225), if I conjured a Giant Boar (MM, p.323), it would have an additional +10 HPs because it has 5 Hit Dice (5d10 + 15). So the conjured/summoned creature would have 5d10 + 15 +10 HPs in total.

Here are the relevant parts from the UA spell:

Summon Bestial Spirit

You call forth the spirit of a beast. […]

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, the creature assumes the higher level for that casting wherever it uses the spell’s level in its stat block. […]

Hit Points equal the beast’s Constitution modifier + your spellcasting ability modifier + ten times the spell’s level

In the case of the Summon Bestial Spirit the creature’s HPs are linked to the spell level, so how does it interact with druid’s Mighty Summoner feature? Does the spell level determine the Hit Dice?

I would appreciate an answer with an example and/or experience of having play-tested this spell.

Can the spirit of a destroyed Sentient Weapon be recovered by Divine Intervention?

So, I’m in a 5th edition party that just finished up Rise of Tiamat.

We defeated the Dragon Goddess, but our Barbarian’s sentient weapon, Hazirawn, sacrificed himself to stop her from re-entering the material realm.

As a War Cleric of Tempus, could I use Divine Intervention to request that Tempus locate the spirit of the fallen weapon and recover it so the weapon could be repaired and his soul returned to it?

My cleric is currently 15th level. I have discussed this with my DM, and she says that she isn’t sure if it would work

Can a druid’s Spirit Totem feature be used in Wild Shape?

Can you use the Spirit Totem feature of Circle of the Shepherd (XGtE, p.23) while you are in your Wild Shape form (PHB, pp.66-67)?

SPIRIT TOTEM

Starting at 2nd level, you gain the ability to call forth nature spirits and use them to influence the world around you. As a bonus action, you can magically summon an incorporeal spirit to a point you can see within 60 feet of you.

WILD SHAPE

You can’t cast spells. […] You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source, and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so.

From what I can deduct, Spirit Totem would be available for a Druid to use in Wild Shape form because it is a class feature which is not a spell; albeit it is magical.

I would appreciate any answers to support or contest this. If you or your table have play-tested this feature, even better!

Spirit Guardians Material Components

A player of my group came up with a rough levelup-plan for his character in our upcoming campaign. He will be a Sorcerer/Paladin. All his paladin spells’ somatic and material components will be dumped into the shield, because of other discussions on this site, this seems to be the way it is.

Now, his Divine Soul uses Cleric spells as a Sorcerer spells and hence their material component should be covered by a focus or a pouch, but he argues that the rules state

“A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus in place of the components specidfied for a spell.”

So he argues that he can use his holy symbol engraved on his shield to cast “Spirit Guardians” as the Divine Soul and I am very inclined to let him do it, because I like it when players come up with smart character ideas that have an instantly comprehendable role playing aspect. (yeah, sure, there are some very well played barbarian wizards out there, but everyone gets the Aasimar Divine Soul Paladin instantly).

What do you think? The Divine Soul Conquest Paladin seems to be strong as it is and now letting him cast holy symbol cleric spells with his weapon drawn could become a tad strong. Well, I like that it’s not a Sorlock engulfing everything in darkness and sniping away while everyone else can’t do anything useful and besides the damage potential from the Scourge Aasimar trait and Spirit Guardians it seems more like a robust support but still.

Is this holy symbol material a way around the slowing down of the multiclassing impact? I think about the oftentimes talked about cleric druid who is a beast of a healer but has to take into account the changing of weapons/foci.

What is a creature’s “animating spirit”?

The spell speak with dead says:

You grant the semblance of life and intelligence to a corpse of your choice within range, allowing it to answer the questions you pose. […]

[…] The corpse knows only what it knew in life, including the languages it knew. Answers are usually brief, cryptic, or repetitive, and the corpse is under no compulsion to offer a truthful answer if you are hostile to it or it recognizes you as an enemy. This spell doesn’t return the creature’s soul to its body, only its animating spirit. Thus, the corpse can’t learn new information, doesn’t comprehend anything that has happened since it died, and can’t speculate about future events.

What is an “animating spirit” in this context? In what way is it different to a soul? Specifically, is an “animated spirit” established in published lore anywhere? I’d prefer sources from D&D 5e, but lore from previous editions is welcome as well. Also, if “published lore” isn’t specific enough, assume Forgotten Realms.

Does Healing Spirit proc Shepard druid’s Unicorn Spirit totem? If so when?

Unicorn totem reads:

In addition, if you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to any creature inside or outside the aura, each creature of your choice in the aura also regains hit points equal to your druid level.

Healing spirit reads

Until the spell ends, whenever you or a creature you can see moves into the spirits space for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, you can cause the spirit to restore ld6 hit points to that creature (no action required).

Does this mean that the unicorn totem heals everyone in the party each time a party member enters the healing spirit area or is it only when the first party member enters the healing spirit area?