The wording for Bead of Force says "Only breathable air can pass through the sphere’s wall. No Attack or other Effect can." which obviously means that spells such as firebolt or ray of sickness could not harm a creature inside. However, what about spells that only require line of sight?
I’ve read the discourse on Wall of Force, which suggests that you would not be able to do such spells, and the wording is similar to Bead of Force.
I am a 5th level cleric in D&D and I am a little unsure about how to use spiritual weapon, which is cast with a bonus action.
The spell says that you create a weapon and then you can attack. It then says that “on your turn” as a bonus action you can move the weapon and hit another person, but spiritual weapon itself is already a bonus action.
Does this mean that you get a bonus action on a bonus action, or does the first bonus action become an action?
I have a player that would like to cast Polymorph on the party’s cleric.
If the cleric has already cast Spiritual Weapon on himself (this is not a concentration spell) and he is Polymorphed into say a Giant Ape, does he still have the ability to make Melee spell attacks as a bonus action?
I know that you can continue to concentrate on spells that you cast before you Polymorph, and that you cannot cast new spells. But would a great ape be able to make a “melee spell attack”?
Say I create a spiritual weapon in the form of a (horizontal) quarterstaff. Can I grab it and use the bonus action to move it (and myself) 20 feet. Say move me across a pit, or allowing me to take the rest of my normal movement, or even avoid introducing and attack of opportunity. My character happens to have a pole-dancing proficiency… Can she conjure up a pole and perform with it? What about a net, and cradle myself up a tree? "The weapon takes whatever form you choose." Can a spiritual weapon be any object? A Pillow — I really want to have a pillow fight dealing 1d8+ChMod A bed, a surfboard, a ladder, a chair?
In Pathfinder 2, the spell Spiritual Weapon (https://2e.aonprd.com/Spells.aspx?ID=306) has, as a requirement, "you have a deity".
What does it mean exactly? My guesses (from the most to the least likely imho)
You need the "deity" class feature (that you get as a cleric)
You need to be a follower of a specific deity
You need to be the owner of a deity (ok, this one is so unlikely that I only put it here for the joke)
Spiritual weapon says:
You create a floating, spectral weapon within range…
…As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the weapon up to 20 feet
This is purely for aesthetics I understand I am actually giving up some of the combat advantage of having a weapon that can move 20′ as a bonus action.
Can I instead wield the spectral weapon in my off hand and otherwise use it as intended? Is there a precedent or rule variant that says so?
The concept of wielding a Shadow Blade and spiritual weapon simultaneously is too cool for me to pass up.
So I started playing like a month ago and the DM was nice enough to create a char for me and write me into the story. I’ve never played D&D before but told him I wanted to glass cannon blow things up. So he made me a divine soul sorcerer at level 13. My Metamagics are Twinned, Quickened, and Careful. I’ve been reading up on the rules and just found out before last session that I can quickened fireball and cast fire bolt as my action for extra damage at the expense of 2 sp. My DM gave me spiritual weapon and spirit guardians. So this brings me to my question.
Can I hypothetically on turn one cast fireball, and cast spiritual weapon as bonus action, then have weapon move to/hit bad guy. Then on next turn. Quickened fireball, cast fire bolt, and have the weapon move to/hit bad guy?
I honestly don’t see why not as spirit weapon doesn’t require concentration like something like animate objects. but in the player’s handbook it says:
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
The part where it says "provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn" would imply that I can’t. But the part "you can’t cast another spell during the same turn…" leads me to believe I might be able to. Because I am not casting another spell. I am also not concentrating on it. Like if I dominate person and tell the person to attack a bad guy, it’s attacks are not connected to what I do at all. In my opinion it’s a lot like casting conjure celestial and getting a couatl to cast/attack or dominating a monster.
if a cleric is silenced after casting spiritual weapon, can they continue to use their bonus action to move and attack with the spiritual weapon. Or does the cleric need to use verbal means to control the spiritual weapon after initially casting?
Suppose a character casts Spiritual Weapon one round, then casts invisibility the following round. Does using the bonus action from spiritual weapon to attack count as making an attack for the sake of ending the invisibility spell?
If my multi-classed Rogue (4)/Warlock (5) casts Spiritual Weapon, and then Hides…
Can he continue to control the Spiritual Weapon on his subsequent turns and remain Hidden? Or does attacking the enemy with the Spiritual Weapon remove him from being Hidden?