Is the “half your speed” used in standing from prone your normal speed, or current speed?

At my last session, a scenario arose in which a character was attempting to cover ground as quickly as possible, but was knocked prone. On their next turn, they proceeded to stand up and Dash. This led to a moment of confusion while I attempted to figure out exactly how prone and Dash interact.

The player commented offhand that standing from prone halves your movement and Dash doubles it, so the two cancel and they had 30ft to move that turn. Reading the rules, however, I interpreted things differently.

Dash

When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you dash.

Any increase or decrease to your speed changes this additional movement by the same amount. If your speed of 30 feet is reduced to 15 feet, for instance, you can move up to 30 feet this turn if you dash.

(PHB p192)

Being Prone

[…] You can drop prone without using any of your speed. Standing up takes more effort; doing so costs an amount of movement equal to half your speed. For example, if your speed is 30 feet, you must spend 15 feet of movement to stand up.

(PHB p190)

My interpretation is that your speed is constant – say, 30ft – and your movement is a separate quantity representing distance you can cover this turn. You start the turn with available movement equal to your speed, and then Dash adds another quantity to your movement, while standing up removes a quantity from your movement. Neither affect your speed.

That means that this player starts with 30ft of movement, gains an additional amount equal to their speed (30ft) from Dash, then spends an amount equal to half their speed (30/2 = 15ft) to stand, leaving them with 45ft of movement available for this turn.

In the end, they needed less than 30ft of movement to get into position to attack the bandit leader and the party all made it out alive, so it didn’t affect the outcome of our game, but I’d like to get this straightened out for the future.

Is my interpretation of the interaction between speed, movement, the prone condition and the Dash action correct?

Do the Unearthed Arcana Tunnel Fighter Fighting Style and the Arcane Archer Fighter’s Grasping Arrow features trigger when standing from prone?

The Light, Dark, Underdark! Unearthed Arcana includes the Tunnel Fighter Fighting Style which states:

[…] As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5 feet while within your reach.

And the Arcane Archer Fighter’s Grasping Arrow Arcane Shot feature states:

[…] The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 1 foot or more without teleporting […]

What happens if the creature in question is currently prone, and stands from prone? Does this activate the Tunnel Fighter’s opportunity attack? Does this activate the 2d6 poison damage from Grasping Arrow?


Note I am aware that the following Q/A already exists:

  • Does standing up from prone trigger the damage from Booming Blade?

But I was told in my answer to another question that I cannot generalize answers there to conclude that standing from prone does not count as moving. So I am asking these separately instead.

I wanted to ask the question “Does standing from prone count as moving?” but was told that “There is no reason for the question “Does X count as Y?” to have a consistent, universally applicable answer.” and so have asked this instead.

The last standing gunman in a circle

I dont know why, In most of the interviews, interviewers are asking this question commonly. The question is : There are n number of persons standing in a circle manner. The first person has a gun and he kills the very next person who is alive and handovers the gun to the next person. Who will remain? Here is my code for the above scenario. It works if anyone needs take it.

public static void void main(String ar[]) {      int numberOfGuys = 10000;     List<Integer> list = new ArrayList<>();     for ( int i = 1; i <= numberOfGuys; i++ ) {         list.add( i );     }     boolean isNeighbour = false;      System.out.println( list );     Iterator<Integer> i = list.iterator();     list = new ArrayList<>();     boolean isTrue = true;     while ( isTrue ) {         int k = i.next();         if ( isNeighbour )             i.remove();         else {             list.add( k );         }         if ( !i.hasNext() ) {             System.out.println( list );             i = list.iterator();             if ( list.size() == 1 )                 isTrue = false;             list = new ArrayList<>();         }         isNeighbour = !isNeighbour;     } } 

What is the dress code for the Vienna State Opera (Standing Room Section)?

I want to see an Opera when I visit Vienna. Since the all the cheap seats have already been sold, I plan to pay €3 for a standing room ticket. I’m guessing the standing crowd will not be as well-dressed as the €190 seats. How nice should I dress? Do I need a tie? I was thinking nice slacks and a long-sleeve collared shirt.

Does the armor-related disadvantage on Stealth checks apply when standing still?

In the Player’s Handbook, the rules on Dexterity (Stealth) checks while wearing certain types of armor are pretty straightforward:

Stealth. If the Armor table shows “Disadvantage” in the Stealth column, the wearer has disadvantage on Dexterity (Stealth) checks. (PHB, p. 144)

However, even if not directly related with stealth disadvantage, a text block found earlier on the same page might be taken in consideration here :

Heavy armor Heavier armor interferes with the wearer’s ability to move quickly, stealthily, and freely.

Thus, I’m wondering if the penalty still applies if the wearer stands perfectly still?

Canadian re-entering Canada from U.S. with expired Passport but Nexus in good standing

At airport, discovered passport had expired. Always enter into U.S. with Nexus. Able to finally enter into U.S. but warned probably flagged and will have trouble re-entering Canada. Can anyone please advise what to do now? Visit a Consulate in the U.S.? Thanks for any guidance.