Is the star chart a material component for the Guidance and Guiding Bolt spells from the Circle of Stars druid’s Star Map feature?

The Circle of Stars druid’s Star Map feature grants the following benefits (TCoE, p. 38):

You’ve created a star chart as part of your heavenly studies. It is a Tiny object and can serve as a spellcasting focus for your druid spells. You determine its form by rolling on the Star Map table or by choosing one.

While holding this map, you have these benefits:

  • You know the guidance cantrip.
  • You have the guiding bolt spell prepared. It counts as a druid spell for you, and it doesn’t count against the number of spells you can have prepared.
  • You can cast guiding bolt without expending a spell slot. You can do so a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

Neither guiding bolt nor guidance have a material component. It would seem from the language that RAW one must hold the chart in one hand and cast these spells with the other, unless one has the War Caster feat.

Is my interpretation of the rules correct? And what is actually intended?

Is the star chart a material component for guidance and guiding bolt?

Can you foresee any balance issue with a Stars Druid using the Cleric spell list instead of the Druid’s?

Homebrewed campaign where tinkering with class mechanics is encouraged to suit your character, I just want to make sure it isn’t horribly unbalanced.

I have an idea for a divination/stars/universe/fate obsessed character, lumbering, slow, strong, wise, warm. Heavy armour melee/mid-field support. However, I don’t really like the Twilight Domain’s Channel Divinity.

The Stars Druid subclass abilities seem like a good match but the spell list leans towards the terrestrial/battlefield control/summoning rather than astral/divination and I don’t see this character ever using wildshape.

Ideas:

  • make a Stars Druid that uses the Cleric spell list and loses wildshape etc

  • make a Twilight Cleric and swap the Channel Divinity (twice per rest resource for most of the game) for one of the Stars Druids abilities?

  • your idea?

Any input and ideas welcome. When homebrew is encouraged I like to troubleshoot for balance.

Can a Circle of the Stars Druid roll a natural d3 (or other odd-sided die) to bias their Cosmic Omen roll?

The sixth level Circle of the Stars feature, Cosmic Omen, allows the druid to, for the remainder of a day, use their reaction to either help their allies or hinder their foes:

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can consult your Star Map for omens. When you do so, roll a die. Until you finish your next long rest, you gain access to a special reaction based on whether you rolled an even or an odd number on the die:

Weal (even). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is about to make an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, you can use your reaction to roll a d6 and add the number rolled to the total.

Woe (odd). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is about to make an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, you can use your reaction to roll a d6 and subtract the number rolled from the total.

Cosmic Omen, Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, pg. 38

Note, however, that in the description of this feature, the player is simply instructed to roll "a die", without qualifying what kind of die it has to be. This poses no issue for the "standard issue" dice used in 5e D&D, since the d4, d6, d8, d10, d12, and d20 all have an even number of sides, and therefore an [assumed, with fair dice] equal probability of rolling an even or odd number.

However, there are dice that have odd numbers of sides. In this situation, a player could pick up a three-sided die, for example, and they’d have a 2/3rds chance of rolling an odd number, biasing their feature towards hindering enemies.

Is there any rule in 5th Edition D&D that forbids a player from choosing to do this?

When casting Faerie Fire from Ring of Shooting Stars, do you need to maintain concentration? [duplicate]

Ring of Shooting Stars says

Faerie Fire: You can expend 1 charge as an action to cast Faerie Fire from the ring.

Since it says you cast the spell from the ring, I wonder if you need to maintain concentration on the resulting spell. Moreover, is that something particular to Ring of Shooting Stars, or is that how it usually goes with casting spells via items?

Tasha’s Druid Circle of the Stars Cosmic Omen

I have a question about Circle of the Stars 6th level feature:

Cosmic Omen
When you reach 6th level, you learn to use your star map to divine the will of the cosmos. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can consult your Star Map for omens. When you do so, roll a die. Until you finish your next long rest, you gain access to a special reaction based on whether you rolled an even or an odd number on the die:
Weal (even). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is about to make an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, you can use your reaction to roll a d6 and add the number rolled to the total.
Woe (odd). Whenever a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is about to make an attack roll, a saving throw, or an ability check, you can use your reaction to roll a d6 and subtract the number rolled from the total.
You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

I’m not sure whether I have to use my reaction before I know the score the enemy/party member rolled or I can do it after I know what their score is.

How does Crown of Stars interact with Greater Invisibility?

Suppose I already have the spell Greater Invisibility cast on me, and then I cast Crown of Stars.

From the description of Crown of Stars:

Seven star-like motes of light appear and orbit your head until the spell ends.

My questions are: Are the motes invisible?

Supposing the motes are visible, do I still get the benefits of Greater Invisibility?

Again, supposing the motes are visible, "real-world" logic would tell me that if someone were to try to attack me, the difficulty of trying to hit an invisible person would be somewhat mitigated by the fact that I could just aim at the motes. Similar logic seems reasonable for someone targeting me with a spell.

However, (my reading of) the in-game mechanics would tell me that I am still under the invisible condition (as nothing has ended Greater Invisibility) and thus I should still get all the benefits.

Use Magic Device with Robe of Stars

I’m playing a Rogue, archetype Thief, approaching level 13 which is when I’ll gain the ability "Use Magic Device".
My character inherited a Robe of Stars as a family heirloom.
Can I use this?
I haven’t found any info online that approves or forbids it exactly, but no mention of this specific circumstance either.

Is a Circle of Stars Druid’s Chalice form affected by Grave Cleric’s Circle of Mortality?

If a Stars Druid/Grave Cleric multiclass were to use a Cure Wounds on an unconscious creature at 0 hp, and they designate that creature as a target of their Chalice form’s healing ability, does that mean they receive 16+double wisdom mod healing, or 8+1d8+double wisdom mod healing?

Circle of Mortality

At 1st level, you gain the ability to manipulate the line between life and death. When you would normally roll one or more dice to restore hit points with a spell to a creature at 0 hit points, you instead use the highest number possible for each die.

Chalice. A constellation of a life-giving goblet appears on you. Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit points equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier.

Does Rod of the Pact Keeper boost Spell Save DC of Ring of Shooting Stars?

The Rod of the Pact Keeper(+1) increases my Warlock’s spell save DC by 1. With an 18 Charisma at level 8 my spell save DC is 16. (8+3+4+1)

I just received a Ring of Shooting Stars. 🍺👍 The ball lightning feature, and the shooting stars feature, require a DC 15 Dexterity save to avoid lightning or fire damage respectively. For both features, the same text is used.

That creature must make a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw.

Since my Warlock is attuned to the Rod of the Pact Keeper(+1), do they now have to make a DC 16 Dexterity saving throw to avoid the lightning or fire effects, or, is the DC 15 fixed and non-modifiable?

(A related question on the RoSS’s effects like faerie fire is not the same as this one).

Can a Circle of the Stars druid fire an arrow from its star form and cast a spell of 1st level or higher during the same turn?

The druid subclass Circle of the Stars from Unearthed Arcana: Subclasses, Part 3 has the 2nd-level feature Starry Form, part of the description of which states:

You gain a bonus action that you can use to make a ranged spell attack, hurling a luminous arrow that targets a creature you can see within 60 feet of you. On a hit, the attack deals radiant damage equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier.

Does “making a ranged spell attack” count as casting a spell and therefore limit your action to a cantrip or can you cast a spell of first level or higher because the arrow is not a spell? Could I cast one of the freely available Guiding Bolts and fire an arrow or do I have to stick with something like frostbite and an arrow?