Can a spell storing ring give a whole party Greater steeds?

This came up in a game the other night, it seems broken but I can’t find anything that says it’s not allowed…

A party member has “Find Greater steed” and casts it into a spell storing ring. Another party member then attunes, casts from the ring, and has their own Pegasus.

Repeat for the whole party and now they all have their own Pegasus to ride, until they dismiss it/it dies.

Obviously this assumes they have time to repeatedly re-attune and regain spell slots, but still seems a little OP. Have I missed something?!

Do steeds summoned with Find Greater Steed have other options than the usual control rules during mounted combat?

During mounted combat, I understand there are two possible options:

  1. You can control your mount, in which case your mount cannot make an attack, or
  2. You can opt to leave it independent (and controlled by the DM) in which case it can attack, but may do things you don’t expect.

The text of find greater steed contains this excerpt:

Your steed serves you as a mount, both in combat and out, and you have an instinctive bond with it that allows you to fight as a seamless unit.

Does this phrase imply that there is some special way to control the steed beyond the above two normal options for mounts? Are steeds summoned in this way special in regards to the control rules, or is that just flavor text? It seems to me that an independent mount which can take actions that I cannot predict is not fighting as a seamless unit with me. Am I misunderstanding something?

The question here certainly provides an answer, but it’s not satisfying since it assumes that the mount has to use one of the two above options and does not consider that there may be alternatives.

Who controls a summoned steed’s familiar?

The spell Find Steed allows you to cast a spell and have it also effect your steed.

While mounted on your steed, you can make any spell you cast that targets only you also target your steed.

In the targets section of the Players Handbook it states:

A spells description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area effect. (PHB, pg 204)

With the spell Find Familiar, it’s description clearly denotes that you are the target:

You gain the service of a familiar, a spirit that takes an animal form you choose: bat, cat, crab, frog (toad), hawk, lizard, octopus, owl, poisonous snake, fish (quipper), rat, raven, sea horse, spider, or weasel.

The spell indicates that you can’t have more than one familiar at a time, however in this case that would not be the result.

The PC casts Find Familiar and it’s effect targets the PC and (as per Find Steed) also targets the summoned steed. Tada! Two familiars appear, one bonded with the PC & one bonded the the steed.

Who controls the familiar bonded to the summoned steed, the GM or the Player?

Note: A Paladin with the ritual casting or magic initiate feat would be able to gain access to both spells, Find Steed & Find Familiar.

Can you ritual cast multiple Phantom Steeds and continue re-summoning them while traveling?

Can you ritual cast the Phantom Steed spell multiple times and in practice just re-summon them while you are traveling? So for example, could a Wizard ritual summon a horse, three times in a row. And then just focus on re-summoning them while he’s riding one of them. The spell lasts 1 hour, ritual casting it 3 times would take 33 minutes. So he should have more than enough time to summon new horses for himself and his party before any of the individual horses disappear. Is this correct?