Does a person know who is on the other end of a sending stone?

At the end of the last session my players took out an enemy NPC who was using a sending stone while on the lookout for the rest of the gang they are sneaking up on.

I am fully expecting them to try and use the stone to pretend all is well, my gut feeling is to allow it, it is a clever use of a simple magical item to throw the enemy off track.

However I just wanted to make sure that mechanically this makes sense, I am pretty sure a sending stone is not like a radio, you don’t hear the other persons voice. But would a wielder know someone different is on the other end or is this a DM decision thing?

Is the stone giant’s 15′ reach with the greatclub an error? [duplicate]

The standard stone giant stat block has a reach of 15′ with its greatclub melee attack. However, I can see no reason from the rules or description for it to be so, instead of the standard 10′ reach of all other huge giant melee weapon attack. Is this a typo that has not yet been caught, or is there some other explanation for this longer-than-usual reach?

Does anyone else think Stone Giant’s 15′ reach greatclub is an error?

All of the basic Monster Manual giants have a melee weapon attack with reach of 10′, which essentially comes from their Huge size. But the Stone Giant has a reach of 15′ with it’s greatclub, which is farther than the reach of a Hill Giant’s greatclub, the Cloud Giant’s morningstar, the Frost Giant’s greataxe, or the Fire or Storm Giant’s greatswords. The huge Cyclops, with 1 more hit die than the Stone Giant (thus at least the same size), also has a greatclub with reach 10′.

I don’t see any reason for this. The Stone Giant is not depicted as having disproportionately long arms, and it’s only in the middle of Giant heights; Frost, Cloud, and Storm Giants are all taller. Nothing in the description mentions Stone Giants carrying a particularly long club or having a talent for swinging it further. Rather, the description talks about their skill at throwing rocks. The only monster I know of that is specified as having longer reach attacks ("long-limbed") is the PC version of the Bugbear in VGtM.

None of the previous editions (AD&D, 3.5 or 4th) give the Stone Giant extra reach with a club.

So my suggestion is that this was a typo that was never caught & corrected. The reach of this attack should be 10′ like that of any other huge Giant.

How does Investiture of Stone interact with Meld into Stone?

While this is primarily a druid spell combination, the Arcana Cleric, Divine Soul Sorcerer, and Genie Warlock subclasses all have access to both spells as well.

The 3rd-level spell Meld into Stone allows you to remain inside of stone for a lengthy duration of eight hours, does not require concentration, and (emphasis mine):

You step into a stone object or surface large enough to fully contain your body, melding yourself and all the equipment you carry with the stone for the duration

You remain aware of the passage of time and can cast spells on yourself while merged in the stone. You can use your movement to leave the stone where you entered it, which ends the spell. You otherwise can’t move.

Minor physical damage to the stone doesn’t harm you, but its partial destruction or a change in its shape (to the extent that you no longer fit within it) expels you and deals 6d6 bludgeoning damage to you. The stone’s complete destruction (or transmutation into a different substance) expels you and deals 50 bludgeoning damage to you. If expelled, you fall prone in an unoccupied space closest to where you first entered (PHB, pg 259).

Whereas the 6th-level spell Investiture of Stone lasts for up to ten minutes, requires concentration, and gives the following benefit (among others) until the spell ends:

You can move through solid earth or stone as if it was air and without destabilizing it, but you can’t end your movement there. If you do so, you are ejected to the nearest unoccupied space, this spell ends, and you are stunned until the end of your next turn (XGE, pg 159).

The spell mentions that your movement does not destabilize the stone nor does it actually transmute it to air, which neatly skirts the terminating conditions of Meld into Stone. So it doesn’t seem as if merely moving through stone would expel you and cause you to take the accompanying damage.

So far so good. However, Investiture of Stone states that you cannot end your movement within the stone without being ejected to the nearest unoccupied space and stunned, while Meld into Stone is also explicit in describing that if expelled from the stone you fall prone in an unoccupied space closest to where you first entered.

Let alone trying to decide whether you can remain within the stone, the effects of the two spells are conflicting and determining which would take precedence is unclear.

The crux of the issue, as I see it, is that Meld into Stone allows you to remain within stone at the cost of your movement, while Investiture of Stone allows you to move through stone but not remain within.

While it does not seem as though these spells were intended to be used in conjunction with each other, Investiture of Stone has a range of self and as such is one of the few spells you are allowed to cast while under the effects of Meld into Stone.

How would you reconcile the combined use of these seemingly contradictory spells? Please include how to resolve the effects in event of expulsion from the stone (i.e. fall prone, get stunned, and/or take damage).

Side note: since casting spells on yourself is listed as an acceptable action during Meld into Stone, I’ve gone ahead and assumed that casing Investiture of Stone is permissible regardless of its verbal and somatic components. By all means feel free to address this point if you disagree, but if so please assume the Subtle Spell Metamagic is being used in this scenario as that isn’t the purpose of the question.

Can a Bladesinger Wizard cast Shillelagh, Magic Stone, or Mending with their Extra Attack feature?

The Bladesigner Wizard’s Extra Attack feature reads:

You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.

Notably, all but three cantrips have a casting time of 1 Action. Two cantrips, shillelagh and magic stone, have a casting time of 1 Bonus Action, and the cantrip mending has a casting time of 1 minute.

Can these cantrips be cast with the Bladesinger’s Extra Attack feature, despite not having casting times of 1 Action? And particular to mending, does it take effect immediately, or does it still take a minute to complete casting?

(Nevermind how our Wizard learned shillelagh or magic stone, perhaps they took a 1 level dip into druid when they went hiking during a gap year in their studies.)

Is it possible to escape from a wall of stone spell on the turn it is cast by flying?

The spell wall of stone allows those that might be trapped by it a chance to escape during the action in which it is ‘springing into existence’.

If a creature would be surrounded on all sides by the wall (or the wall and another solid surface), that creature can make a Dexterity saving throw. On a success, it can use its reaction to move up to its speed so that it is no longer enclosed by the wall.

Consider a caster making a wall with a roof to enclose a creature with flying movement capability.

Suppose the horizontal distance from the creature to any point outside the wall is greater than its speed so that even a successful Dex save will not allow it to escape enclosure.

Further suppose that because the wall is wider and longer than it is high, the creature is capable of moving outside the wall vertically, if it is allowed to use its flying speed.

Does "its speed" in the spell description include flying speed?

It seems common sense that if a flying creature could walk out of the area enclosed by the wall as a reaction, it could also fly out of the area, but does RAW allow this? If I understand correctly, using "speed" does not subsume all forms of speed, but means walking speed only, sensu stricto.

"Speed" (PHB) (emphasis mine)

Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round.

"Speed" (MM 8) (emphasis mine)

SPEED A monster’s speed tells you how far it can move on its turn. For more information on speed, see the Player’s Handbook.
All creatures have a walking speed, simply called the monster’s speed. Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet.
Some creatures have one or more of the following additional movement modes
FLY
A monster that has a flying speed can use all or part of its movement to fly.

If the description of the wall of stone spell allows only a creature’s speed to be used in its reaction, does "speed" mean only its walking speed since it is not otherwise specified? Although the creature has a flying speed, this is an ‘additional movement mode’ that is not designated by the spell’s permitted use of speed?

Suppose that flying speed may be used to escape the wall. The trigger for permitting the creature’s reactive movement is it being "surrounded on all sides" [sic]. If not surrounded, then, it appears that no reaction is permitted. Thus, if flying movement is permitted, does making the wall of stone appear without a roof mean that the creature is not surrounded by the wall, and thus is not permitted its reaction to attempt to escape?

Of course, without a roof the creature could then fly out on its next turn, but a lot could happen between the caster’s turn and the creature’s turn. Interestingly, if flying movement was a permitted form of reaction, the caster could then make a much smaller wall to still enclose the creature. The horizontal distance to the walls could now be made within the distance the creature could walk, and it would still not be allowed a reaction, since leaving off the roof would mean that it was not surrounded.

Is it possible to escape a roofed wall of stone on the turn it is cast by flying?
If so, can this escape be prevented by casting the wall without a roof?

Magic stone and thrown weapon fighting dd 5e tashas

I am a ranger with multiattack and thrown weapon fighting. I have a sack (homebrew) that lets me draw and throw a magic stone (flavoured as a turnip). I think i have established that i would have three attacks (multiattack and bonus) . thrown weapon fighting lets me draw as part of the attack. my question is . do i add the usual 1d6+wisdom modifier damage on the offhand throw? or is it just 1d6? the cantrip is cast on the stone. im unsure. essentially , if someone throws the stone with the offhand does it still hit with the modifier damage?

Stone Shape: can the stone extend past the original affected area?

The spell Stone Shape allows the caster to reshape a stone object or section of stone:

You touch a stone object of Medium size or smaller or a section of stone no more than 5 feet in any dimension and form it into any shape that suits your purpose.

Can the reshaped stone extends past the original affected area?

For example, would it be possible to raise a stone pillar from the ground using this spell, or extend a stone wall into a ramp?

Magic Stone + Enlarge [duplicate]

Can a thrown magic pebble be a target to the enlarge spell? For that matter, can anything from an arrow to a hurled table become enlarged while in mid-air and if so how would you suggest fantasy physics would work on this?

The enlarge spell states that the target doubles in all sizes but the weight is times eight. Would the (stone, for example) maintain its velocity and hit the target with 8x its weight? We all know that F = m*a.
How would you suggest to handle this DMG wise?

As always thanks in advance my fellow Dungeoneers.

Does Flesh to Stone count the first saving throw?

Flesh to Stone states:

You attempt to turn one creature that you can see within range into stone. If the target’s body is made of flesh, the creature must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it is restrained as its flesh begins to harden. On a successful save, the creature isn’t affected.

A creature restrained by this spell must make another Constitution saving throw at the end of each of its turns. If it successfully saves against this spell three times, the spell ends. If it fails its saves three times, it is turned to stone and subjected to the petrified condition for the duration.

My reading of this is that the initial save against the spell counts as one of the failed saves so if the target failed an additional two saves it would be petrified. Is this correct or is the correct interpretation that the target must fail three of the subsequent saves to be petrified?