Storing sparse and vilotile data in an analytical database

I want to perform an analytics of my company deliverables: financial metrics, production volumes, etc. For that, I’m creating a database on Postgres.

The main problem is that, I’m not sure which parameters (metrics) I would need finally – I would add parameters on demand. Therefore, creating an ER-model seems difficult for me now – I don’t now how many columns and which columns would be, and should I use different tables for different groups of information therefore.

I’ve come up with the following EAV model:

Parameters |ID| title       | | 1| Revenue     | | 2| Expenditures|   
ITEMS |ID| parameter_id| title          | | 1|     1       | online shopping| | 2|     2       | new computers  | 
DATA |ID| item_id| date       | value| | 1|    1   | 2020-01-01 | 1000 |` 

I made a research and it’s said, that this model would be difficult for analytics – different aggregation functions, data change on time interval, etc.

QUESTION

  1. Is this model acceptable in my case?
  2. What performace issues may I face and how to overcome?
  3. Should I move to an ER-model later (create a separate table for each parameter with a separate column for each item)? Or, it’s also appropriate to use VIEWS with pivoting data?

Can an animal cast spells via a Ring of Spell Storing? [duplicate]

Based on this question, (answered here), I have a follow up question:

Can a normal animal cast spells via a Ring of Spell Storing?

It seems that any animal, if properly trained, can attune to the Ring. But do they have the ability to cast spells stored within?

This is strictly about trained, wild animals; not familiars where there is a telepathic link, not Beast Master beasts where there is a deeper connection. This is referring to the pig I grew up with, the owl I nursed back to health, or the rat I bought from the local store.

The best I could find so far is the Feeblemind spell which states:

… the creature’s Intelligence and Charisma scores become 1. The creature can’t cast spells, activate magic items, understand language, or communicate in any intelligible way. The creature can, however, identify its friends, follow them, and even protect them.

But is the ability score or 1 what prevents the spell casting, or an effect from the spell?

But if we take an owl, it has an Int of 2. Is that enough to cast a spell?

Consider that a PC can still become a Wizard even with the lowest die roll of 3. They just can’t multiclass.

Also, from the Ring’s description:

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.

There is no mention of whether components are required or not. If they are, could a beast form the words/sounds needed for Verbal components?

Storing timeseries data with dynamic number of columns and rows to a suitable database

I have a timeseries pandas dataframe which dynamically increases the columns every minute as well as adds a new row:

Initial:

timestamp                100     200     300 2020-11-01 12:00:00       4       3       5 

Next minute:

timestamp                100     200     300   500 2020-11-01 12:00:00       4       3       5     0 2020-11-01 12:01:00      14       3       5     4 

The dataframe has these updated values and so on every minute.

so ideally, I want to design a database solution that supports such a dynamic column structure. The number of columns could grow to over 20-30k+ and since it’s one minute timeseries, it will have 500k+ rows per year.

I’ve read that relational db’s have a limit on the number of columns so that might not work here, but also, since I am setting the data for new columns and assigning a default value(0) to previous timestamps, I lose out on the DEFAULT param that’s there on MySQL.

Eventually, I will be querying data for 1 day, 1 month to get the data for the columns and their values.

Please suggest a suitable database solution for this type of dynamic row and column data.

Does reading the Book of Exalted Deeds prevent casting non-upcast 5th-level spells into a Ring of Spell Storing?

The Ring of Spell Storing states (emphasis mine):

This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 − 1 levels of stored spells chosen by the GM.

Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can’t hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.

The Book of Exalted Deeds states:

[…] Once you’ve read and studied the book, any spell slot you expend to cast a cleric or paladin spell counts as a spell slot of one level higher. […]

Thus, any 5th-level spell cast using a 5th-level spell slot would count as using a 6th-level spell slot, which cannot be stored into a Ring of Spell Storing. Is this correct? Is there some rule I’ve missed or way around this besides ending the benefits from the Book?

Does a ghost gain a familiar if it uses a Ring of Spell Storing + Find Familiar?

A ghost takes possession of a humanoid. Humanoid possesses a Ring of Spell Storing. The ghost uses the Ring of Spell Storing that contains at least one Find Familiar spell. The ghost-humanoid combination now has a familiar (congratulations)!

Ghost leaves / ends possession / then goes to the Border Etherial, as per RAW

Who does the familiar follow? Does it stay with the physical humanoid / ring combo-duo or does it go with the ghost that first leaves the body and then goes off to another plane of existence?

Does the alchemist artificer casting cure wounds through his spell storing feature benefit from the alchemical savant feature? [duplicate]

Related: Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell?

Alchemical Savant reads:

You develop masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1).

Spell-Storing Item reads:

At 11th level, you learn how to store a spell in an object. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one simple or martial weapon or one item that you can use as a spellcasting focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires 1 action to cast (you needn’t have it prepared).

While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. If the spell requires concentration, the creature must concentrate. The spell stays in the object until it’s been used a number of times equal to twice your Intelligence modifier (minimum of twice) or until you use this feature again to store a spell in an object.

So does a cure wounds cast using the spell-storing feature, and using the alchemist’s supplies to store the spell, benefit from alchemical savant? I think to answer this question a few sub questions need to be answered:

Does producing the spell’s effect from the spell-storing item count as casting a spell? Because casting the spell is requisite for the alchemical savant feature to take effect.

Another requirement for benefiting from alchemical savant is that you cast the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus. In spell-storing item’s case, you would be casting the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the ‘spellcasting focus used to store the spell’, according to the requirements set forth by the spell-storing item feature. However, does alchemical savant require that you cast the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the ‘spellcasting focus used in place of material components’? because being cast from an item means that there are no material components.

Some magic items allow you to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn’t expend any spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item’s description says otherwise.

Can a familiar from the Find Familiar spell use a Ring of Spell Storing?

Based on other similar questions, I’ve determined that a familiar can attune to magic items. But can a familiar cast spells from the Ring of Spell Storing? The description of Find Familiar states "A familiar can’t attack, but it can take other actions as normal." Does this mean if it could cast spells, it could only cast non-attacking spells?

Does casting a spell from an Ioun Stone/Ring of Spell Storing require components?

Items such as the Reserved Ioun Stone and Ring of Spell Storing state that:

The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell.

There is no mention of not needing components, which suggests that components are needed twice for these items: once to cast the spell into it and again when casting a spell from them.

Is this correct?

Can a Steel Defender or a Alchemical Homunculus use a Spell Storing Item?

I have seen from many different sources the thought process that you can have your Alchemical Homunculus or your Steel Defender use your spell storing item. This would let them take up concentration for an additional spell.

However the more I look into it the less I think you can. I wanted to get clarification from you folks.

Spell Storing item:

While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. If the spell requires concentration, the creature must concentrate.

Alchemical Homunculus:

In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take the action in its stat block or the Dash, Disengage, Help, Hide, or Search action.

Steel Defender:

In combat, the steel defender shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take one of the actions in its stat block or the Dash, Disengage, Help, Hide, or Search action.

I added emphasis on only. This completely negates the ability to use the Spell Storing Item in combat doesn’t it?

Can a familiar’s greater steed(s) ‘Reincarnate’ with a Ring of Spell Storing?

Can a flock of Pegasii summoned mounts Reincarnate any humanoid with a (properly loaded) Ring of Spell Storing?

The points below are not really new per se but rather a cumulative-inductive discovery of StackExchange rulings. This is listed below:

  • A familiar &/or summoned mount can cast any spell from a Ring of Spell Storing.

  • A Ring of Spell Storing stores up to five spell-levels – thus fifth lvl max. (hence this includes Reincarnation)

  • The casting / catching of spells (specifically ‘Reincarnate’ in this case) does not seem to require components. Thus the 1000 gold worth of rare unguents is neither needed to ‘charge’ the ring, nor cast-use it.

  • Correct use of various summoning spells + Ring o’ SpellStore® allows each familiar &/or steed to have one (1) familiar + one (1) steed each, hence: Menagerie Ad nauseum.

Thus it seems that any character with previous access-planning to the right summoning and necromatic spells could have a flight of a few thousand loyal Pegasii striving to Reincarnate them (should they die).

If so: this seems impressive &/or surprising.