Interactions between unarmed strikes, negative strength and an unconscious target

Consider this improbable yet possible scenario (which nonetheless came up at our table last night):

A PC is unconscious and currently making Death Saving Throws. A weak (8 Strength) and hostile NPC tries to punch the PC to kill it for good.

Attack rolls against an Unconscious character have advantage and any attack that hits the character is a Critical Hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the character

The NPC rolls with advantage and beats the PC’s AC. It is therefore a critical hit.

If an Unconscious character takes damage while at 0 HP, they automatically fail one death saving throw, or 2 death saves if the damage is from a critical hit. Massive Damage can still outright kill the character so damage should still be rolled and if it equals or exceeds their max HP then they die

Ok, so that’s 2 failed Death Saving Throws for the PC! Let’s calculate the damage, just in case…

Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head–butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). On a hit, an unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage equal to 1 + your Strength modifier. You are proficient with your unarmed strikes.

Here, 1 + STR = 0. The hit deals 0 damage. Does that even count as damage then?

Does the attack actually provoke failed Death Saving Throws? If so, how many? Can an unarmed strike even crit if there are no dice being thrown?

What does a strength check of 24 actually mean?

In the 5th edition of Dungeons and Dragons, barbarians receive this ability;

Indomitable Might

Beginning at 18th level, if your total for a Strength check is less than your Strength score, you can use that score in place of the total.

As a level 20 goliath barbarian, with a strength score of 24 (base 18, +2 from race, +4 from barbarian final level ability), Indomitable Might means that without fail I can always apply the outcome of a 24 or higher on any strength check. What does that translate to, in real world physics?

With a strength of 24, and the powerful build racial ability, I can use rules within the system to determine the maximum amount of weight I can lift. (24 str x 30 max lift x 2 for large size = 1,040 lbs). Knowing that I can lift half a ton of weight, I am able to understand how strong my character is, and what his strength actually enables me to do in a role-playing sense.

I can not find rules that translate in this way what a 24 strength check result actually allows. Normally, it would not be a problem, as it’s simply a case-by-case basis. I could not get that result consistently, so it would be very unlikely I’d be able to do anything that relies on me doing it consistently. However, Indomitable Might changes that.

As an example of what I’m looking for; In another game system I use, objects have a ‘break DC,’ which represents the amount of strength needed to just break them. By comparing what a check of 24 allows me to break in this system, I could translate that into real-world numbers to determine what kind of feats of strength I’d actually be capable of. Are there any lists of strength-checks in 5e D&D that I could us like this? If not, are there any strength check DCs predetermined by the book that could be used for comparison?

What happens if you no longer meet the strength requirement for your armor?

So, I recently asked about what happens when you lose requirements for an attuned item (here). Now, I have a slightly different but still related question involving the artificer class’ lv. 20 ability, which says that you can

use your reaction to end one of your artificer infusions

One of the artificer infusions is the Belt of Hill Giant strength, which sets your strength at 21, and since Heavy Armor has a strength requirement, What happens if I un-attune to the belt by ending the infusion and lose the required strength to wear armor that I have equipped?

Have any of the designers of D&D explained why Strength increases Hit Chance?

This is a personal bias, but when I think high strength score, the imagery I get is:

Bill Kazmaier

When it comes to accuracy of a muscle-bound and bulky person, the imagery I get is:

Ali Bobbing and Weaving

Bruce Lee had stated he didn’t want to have overly bulky muscles because it would affect his agility and accuracy. He did believe in weight training to make his muscles more dense, but that mostly was for grip and striking force.1

I started playing with AD&D 2nd Edition, and even back then an 18 strength gave you +1 Hit and +2 to damage.

Have any D&D developers given any reasoning for why the Strength score, specifically, gives a bonus to hit?

As I recall, being big and strong doesn’t actually help you hit a baseball, but may help you in making that ball you hit a home run.

1 Bruce Lee explains this throughout the Tao of Jeet Kune Do.

Are these applications of an immovable rod too much? Would they override strength checks too much? [closed]

I have two uses that I want to have handy with my immovable rod. Using it as an anchor for a pulley system, and using it as a fulcrum for a lever.

Regarding the use of making it a fulcrum I had this thought: magic items are basically unbreakable in 5e, you could use a 9 ft quarterstaff and easily do things like bending bars at 1/7th of the effort(strength) required. Your lever isn’t going to break because it is a +1 magic item, if a simple magic item would arguably break then that legendary sword you got surely wouldn’t, that could probably reduce the effort by 1/3rd; and your immovable rod is going to need a lot of force exerted on it to be pushed out of its position.

Regarding a pulley system this could easily be carried in a bag of holding, can endure a lot of stress if you are using a rope of climbing, and would make a lot of sense for an artificer, who might have expertise in both tinkerer’s tools and smith’s tools.

Would this undermine the strength stat of the fighter/barbarian too much?

How much times the strength modifier does a chained barbarian add when making a bite using Animal Fury?

The assumption is bite is the only attack the barbarian makes during the turn, and the barbarian has no other natural attacks. I seem to get three different answers on this:

The barbarian adds 0.5x the strength modifier. This is because the rules on Animal Fury state that “If the bite hits, it deals 1d4 points of damage (assuming the barbarian is Medium; 1d3 points of damage if Small) plus half the barbarian’s Strength modifier.”

The barbarian adds 1x the strength modifier. This is because the 19 STR cannibal from the gamemastery guide has its bite damage listed as 1d4+4, which is consistent with this.

The barbarian adds 1.5x the strength modifier. This is because a bite is a primary natural attack, and the natural attack rules state that “If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls.”

So which one is it?

Is there a discrepancy between the strength of aura when detect magic is cast comparing a ring of protection to a weapon with an enhancement bonus?

In the SRD it states:

Protection This ring offers continual magical protection in the form of a deflection bonus of +1 to +5 to AC. Faint abjuration; CL 5th; Forge Ring, shield of faith, caster must be of a level at least three times greater than the bonus of the ring; Price 2,000 gp (ring +1); 8,000 gp (ring +2); 18,000 gp (ring +3); 32,000 gp (ring +4); 50,000 gp (ring +5).

http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/rings.htm#protection

Compare that to:

Caster Level for Weapons The caster level of a weapon with a special ability is given in the item description. For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/magicWeapons.htm

So according to a strict reading when detect magic is cast a ring of protection always radiates faint abjuration (CL 5th) and the creator as a perquisite for the crafting simply needs to be of a caster level at least three times greater than the bonus of the ring created. Regardless of the actual deflection bonus of the ring, a detect magic will always radiate faint abjuration.
Whereas conversely a weapon with a magical enhancement bonus to hit and damage always has a caster level (and perquisite) three times the enhancement bonus and will ‘register’ as such when a detect magic determines the strength of the aura.

This would seem to be a slight but significant difference in the way these magical items are handled in respect to detect magic. Is that anybody else’s understanding of this nuanced point or does anybody have a different interpretation?

What is a grab check, and how does it interact with Strength, Fighting, and Elongation?

In the M&M 3E Hero’s Handbook, it says under Elongation:

In addition, Elongation allows you to wrap up and entangle an opponent so it grants a +1 bonus to grab checks per rank (limited by PL).

It says that a Grab makes an attack check, and then a resistance check against Strength. So, since Elongation is limited by PL, would it benefit an attack check or resistance check, and does that require me to reduce my ranks in Strength or Fighting to account for it with PL?