Is a target pushed into a wall by a spell effect subject to collision damage?

Some spells can push the target X feet away (like thunderwave, which pushes 10 feet away on a failed save). I was wondering what happens if the target, while being pushed, encounters a wall or other rigid object. Does it take (bludgeoning) damage? To me it seems logical that it would: it is like falling, sudden force applied to a creature due to encountering resistance from an object.

I couldn’t find any rules about this in the Player’s Handbook nor online.

Where does a creature – flying low over a large body of water – descend when subject to the Earthbind spell?

In looking at the question Can the Erupting Earth spell be cast somewhere that isn’t on “ground”? other examples of spells involving the "ground" could be useful. Or not. Which lead to the question, where does a creature – flying low over a large body of water – descend when subject to the Earthbind spell?


According to the description of Earthbind:

An airborne creature affected by this spell safely descends at 60 feet per round until it reaches the ground or the spell ends. (XGtE pg 155)


Assuming the creature began its turn 60 feet above the water and failed its Strength saving throw, would the spell end:

a) when the creature reaches the water’s surface after 1 round (in other words, is the surface of the water "ground"?), or

b) would the creature continue to descend for the remaining 9 rounds for as much as 540 feet to the earthen bottom of the body of water (see note below), or

c) would the spell fail altogether, or

d) would the creature be forced essentially sideways for the duration of the spell, towards the nearest point of land, or

e) other?


Note re being forced towards bottom of large body of water:

Given a creature with 10 Constitution, 30 ft movement, and no innate swimming speed, its movement in the ocean would be 30 ft using both its Movement and Action to "Dash" (or 20 ft in difficult terrain).

540 ft of total movement would take 18 rounds (27 rounds in difficult terrain) and the creature – assuming it can’t breathe underwater or teleport in some fashion – would be unable to hold its breath after 10 rounds and would drop to 0 hit points after the next round.


’cause if the surface of the ocean is ground, guess what might . . . erupt?

Changing category subject in short intervals

I would like to know if it is possible to not get penalised by google for changing the subject of a category entirely. I would like to swap a category that I have built on a webpage, for one with a more relevant (as of now) topic. Changing description, content and title etc… would this destroy my SEO? It has amassed backlinks of great quantity and quality over the course of time and I seriously would not like to have them wasted or passed with internal links as the page itself is invaluable.

Assume anchors to my webpage were all "" for convenience purposes. They are nothing particularly descriptive.

Any input would be appreciated

What weapons are subject to ancestries’ weapon familiarity proficiency changes?

Consider Dwarven Weapon Familiarity.

A dwarf that takes it becomes trained in the battleaxe, pick and warhammer. Also from this feat:

You also gain access to all uncommon dwarf weapons. For the purpose of determining your proficiency, martial dwarf weapons are simple weapons and advanced dwarf weapons are martial weapons.

Does this part include the weapons that don’t have the Dwarf trait, but are mentioned above? Or does it only apply to the clan dagger and Dwarven war axe?

If it only applies to weapons with the respective ancestry’s trait, then it seems like certain ancestries have been stiffed by this. The hobgoblin equivalent of this feat, for example, mentions martial hobgoblin weapons being treated as simple, etc. But there aren’t any weapons with the hobgoblin trait, meaning the feat is currently useless (aside from giving the appropriate training in the listed weapons).

tl;dr are the weapons that don’t have an ancestry trait included in the weapons whose proficiency is treated as lower (advanced -> martial, martial -> simple) for a character with the feat?

What kind of creatures are subject to Phantom Rogue’s Tokens of the Departed?

This might get a little fiddly, but I was curious how people would rule on this aspect of Phantom Rogue’s level 13 feature, "Tokens of the Departed"

When a life ends in your presence, you’re able to snatch a token from the departing soul, a sliver of its life essence that takes physical form: as a reaction when a creature you can see dies within 30 feet of you, you can open your free hand and cause a Tiny trinket to appear there, a soul trinket. The DM determines the trinket’s form or has you roll on the Trinkets table in the Player’s Handbook to generate it.

Do you think that the creature necessarily needs a soul to be able to use this feature? IE, would this work on undead or constructs? Flavor text uses "soul" but RAW mechanic just says "when a creature dies" and "has soul" and "does not have soul" aren’t properties of a stat-block.

Thanks for your time.

Are the “Touched” feats’ spells ever subject to a spellcaster’s class rules (such as regarding preparation, components, and focuses)?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats published in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything each grant the use of two spells. Among other things, they say:

  1. You learn the [spells].
  2. You can cast each of these spells without expending a spell slot [once per long rest].
  3. You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level.

The spellcasting ability for these spells is specific to the feat, so it may or may not be the same as the ability of the class that granted the spell slots.


My question applies to both feats and all spellcasting classes, but for the sake of clarity consider an artificer who has taken Fey Touched, which grants Misty Step. Artificers must add the M component to all spells they cast using the artificers’ spellcasting feature, but #2 above has nothing to do with their feature so shouldn’t require that. That’s good, because the reason the artificer can teleport is their prior exposure to the Fey, not some magical widget.

However, things get more complicated when they’re casting Misty Step as described in #3, because the artificer’s spell slots do come from their spellcasting feature. In that case, does the artificer simply use the spell slot as “fuel” and otherwise cast the spell exactly as it had been cast for #2? Or is this inherently different, for which we must assume the artificer studied the Misty Step effect and replicated it with a widget?

If the former, we can assume the spell never needs to be prepared; if the latter, it almost certainly does need to be prepared like all artificer spells.

Also, Misty Step is not on the Artificer Spell List, but the Invisibility spell granted by Shadow Touched is. Would that alter the answer in any way?


Potentially Related:

Does Magic Initiate allow the chosen spell to effectively be “always prepared” if the spell is on their spell list?

What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?

If a spellcaster’s racial trait grants a spell that requires material components, can they use their class’ focus to cast that spell?

Can an Elder Oblex be subject to an AoE more than once?

The Elder Oblex has the Sulfurous Impersonation feature which lets it create an impersonation of a creature in another space. The feature goes on to state:

For all practical purposes, the simulacrum is the oblex, meaning the oblex occupies its space the simulacrum’s space simultaneously.

In the likely event that the Oblex has multiple simulacrums on a battlefield, what happens if 2 or more of them are subjected to an area of effect spell like fireball? Does the answer change for a wall spell like Blade Barrier?

If a dragon becomes a shadow dragon, would it still be subject to a previously cast True Polymorph’s reversal?

Story / example: A Harpy gets Truly Polymorphed into a wyrmling Brass dragon. Over eight centuries she eventually becomes ancient and powerful – albeit a bit weird with her harpy-like personality and alignment.

As an avid reader of StackExchange she becomes a bit paranoid. She is concerned: should a Magical Dispelling get past her three daily uses of Legendary Resistance she would, once again, be that stupid, nasty, dirty little girl with those grimy-grubby wings… that happens to sing quite well. As such, she plots.

She sends herself into some Shifting Planes, ending up in Fell Shadows. Assuming success, she becomes one Shadow Dragon creature / template / archetype / true dragon / thingy.

"Aha!" she shrieks with delight, "Now i am genuinely a dragon… a DRAGON FOREVER!! Take THAT, Exchangers of Stack!" The cold hard rain falls as lightning cascades in the distance ominously. Indeed, has this mere harpy of a girl outwitted us?


Question: Does a transformation into an entirely different creature (such as changing types &/or transforming bodies) mean that Dispel Magic cannot undo a ‘permanent’ True Polymorph spell? Or does this apparently-totally-‘new’-creature take this polymorphic-dispelability along with them?

Can the 5e Staff of the Woodlands (magic item) be subject to an Awaken (spell)?

A Staff of the Woodlands can take the form of a healthy tree (60 feet tall / 5-foot-diameter trunk / branches spread 20-foot radius).

The Awaken spell can give sentience to a tree, turning this item into an Awakened Tree. This would make a really nifty, helpful and interesting magic item for players – and also turn it into an NPC, controlled by the DM in about 30 days time. Win-win.

Would this work – or does the pre-existing magic in the tree-version of the staff repel this spell?

X.509 – How Is Certificate Chain of Trust “Subject Name”-“Issuer Name” Match Comparison Made?

I keep reading that in an X.509 certificate chain of trust that the "Issuer Name" in a certificate that has been signed by the Issuer must "match" the "Subject Name" of the Issuer’s certificate. Exactly how is this match determined? Do all of the RDNs (Relative Distinguished Names) have to match between both the Subject Name and Issuer Name or is the match determined solely by the RDNs that are present in the Issuer certificate’s Subject Name, or is some other match algorithm at work?