Polymorph and Subtypes with Supernatural special qualities

Suppose an Aasimar wizard turns 7th level and picks up the Polymorph spell. They turn into a Hound Archon. The Hound Archon has the Archon subtype, which includes supernatural special qualities. Does the wizard gain these supernatural abilities by virtue of gaining the subtype? Or does the wizard not gain them because the Polymorph spell says that the wizard does not gain any of the supernatural special qualities of the chosen form?

The abilities that I question are:

  • Aura of Menace (Su): A righteous aura surrounds archons that fight or get angry. Any hostile creature within a 20-foot radius of an archon must succeed on a Will save to resist its effects. The save DC varies with the type of archon, is Charisma-based, and includes a +2 racial bonus. Those who fail take a -2 penalty on attacks, AC, and saves for 24 hours or until they successfully hit the archon that generated the aura. A creature that has resisted or broken the effect cannot be affected again by the same archon’s aura for 24 hours.
  • Magic Circle against Evil (Su): A magic circle against evil effect always surrounds an archon (caster level equals the archon’s Hit Dice). (The defensive benefits from the circle are not included in an archon’s statistics block.)
  • Teleport (Su): Archons can use greater teleport at will, as the spell (caster level 14th), except that the creature can transport only itself and up to 50 pounds of objects.
  • Tongues (Su): All archons can speak with any creature that has a language, as though using a tongues spell (caster level 14th). This ability is always active.

Relevant quotes from the Polymorph spell:

  • "[…] The subject’s creature type and subtype (if any) change to match the new form."
  • "[…] It also gains all extraordinary special attacks possessed by the form but does not gain the extraordinary special qualities possessed by the new form or any supernatural or spell-like abilities."

Are Gloom Stalker Rangers better than the normal ranger subtypes that appear in the players handbook?

I am joining a campaign with some friends and they suggested that I should play a Gloom Stalker Ranger. I rarely get a chance to use things from anything other than the players handbook so I want to try something new. I want to know if it’s even worth playing a gloom stalker and still contribute to the party with both damage and role-playing capabilities because currently my friends are playing rogues and I want to fit the setting (which is a thieves guild type setting) and still do a good amount of damage to help balance out the party.

What is the significance of monster subtypes?

A number of subtype tags are added after some monsters’ general cassification. With the exception of Shapechanger and a few other specific exceptions these tags are linked to a particular monster type

For example Fiends as classification sometimes have the subtypes Devil, Demon, and Yugoloth in parenthesis after their monster type in their stat blocks.

You can consider an imp, a quasit, a hellhound, and a mezzoloth. The imp is listed as Tiny fiend (devil). The quasit is listed as Tiny fiend (demon). The hellhound has no listed subtype and the mezzoloth has the Yugoloth subtype. There is also the unusual Gnoll Fang of Yeenoghu that is listed as Medium fiend (Gnoll).

This distinction is not afforded to every common language "subtype" of monster. Hags, for instance, have their own section in the Monster Manual but are only listed as Medium Fey or, in the case of Night Hags, Medium Fiend without any listed subtype.

The following tags are the subtypes I could find listed in monsters’ stat blocks

General: Shapechanger, Titan
Aberration: None
Beast: None
Celestial: None, (Titan)
Construct: None
Dragon: None
Elemental: None
Fey: None
Fiend: Demon, Devil, Yugoloth, (Gnoll)
Giant: None
Humanoid: Goblinoid, Elf, Gith, Gnoll, Gnome, Grimlock, Human, Kobold, Kua-toa, Lizardfolk, Merfolk, Orc, Quaggoth, Sahuagin, Thri-kreen, Troglodyte, Yuan-ti, Aarakockra, Dwarf, etc…
Monstrosity: None, (Titan, Yuan-ti)
Ooze: None
Plant: None
Undead: None

With the exception of "shapechanger" that is affected by a number of spells what is the significance of these tags? Does a particular subtype having a tag (such as devils and most humanoids) have any particular meaning that is different from a variety of monster not having a tag (such as hags and beholders)?

How do “alignment” subtypes interact with magic item alignment requirements?

Let’s say we have a LG succubus (who therefore has the chaotic and evil subtypes). A nine lives stealer would be a bad weapon for her, since it bestows negative levels to good wielders, and her alignment is good.

But what about the other way around? Both the chaotic and evil subtypes say that the creature suffers effects according to their “subtype alignment”, so I’d guess a sun blade would also cause her to suffer the effect of a negative level. Using a magic item with alignment-based requirements, however, isn’t covered by the subtype rules.

So as one example, could the LG succubus use an enveloping pit (MiC p.159) in the following way?

If you are lawful evil, lawful neutral, or neutral evil, an enveloping pit functions like a portable hole, except that it is 50 feet deep.

She is lawful, but is she considered evil for this purpose? What about a fiendhelm (MiC p.99), which explicitly requires the user be “evil-aligned”, but lacks any requirements along the law-chaos axis?

I couldn’t find any examples of such an item, but what if she wanted to wield something that only required the user to be “evil”, but didn’t have the world “aligned” attached to that requirement?