I believe that there is a typo in the Summon Construct spell from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything. The spell is shown as a 4th level spell in the spell listing and in the table at the beginning of the chapter. However, the hit points formula in the Construct Spirit stat block is given as "40 + 15 for each spell level above 3rd," emphasis mine. This is odd because all of the other stat block formulas are formatted such that you only add extra hp if the spell is cast at a higher level.
RAW the construct has 55 HP when cast as a 4th level spell, but have the designers commented that this was unintentional and the base HP should actually be 40?
The stat blocks for the new summon spells don’t state that the spirits they create have magical attacks, so RAW you’re creating magical entities who scale with spell power but won’t beat resistance to nonmagical attacks???
The Summoned Construct’s Heated Body ability is the same wording as the Remorhaz’ (though it does less damage).
Heated Body (Metal Only). A creature that touches the construct or hits it with a melee attack while within 5 feet of it takes 1d10 fire damage.
Heated Body. A creature that touches the remorhaz or hits it with a melee attack while within 5 feet of it takes 10 (3d6) fire damage.
but unlike the Remorhaz’ Bite, the construct’s description does not have a clause that it also deals additional (fire) damage on a hit with its Slam.
Slam. Melee Weapon Attack: your spell attack modifier to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 1d8 + 4 + the spell’s level bludgeoning damage.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +11 to hit, reach 10 ft., one target. Hit: 40 (6d10 + 7) piercing damage plus 10 (3d6) fire damage. If the target is a creature, it is grappled (escape DC 17). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the remorhaz can’t bite another target.
Does a creature count as touching the construct (and get fire damage) if they are hit by its slam attack?
Info on the Summoned Construct is from Tasha’s Cauldron of everything. Info on Rhemoraz is from Monster Manual
As a Pact of the Chain Warlock, you:
…learn the find familiar spell and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn’t count against your number of spells known.
When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite.
The imp, quasit, and sprite all have the power to turn invisible.
Is it possible that when the Warlock calls forth their familiar, that the familiar starts in an invisible state? Or would they have to appear visible, and then immediately take an Action to turn invisible?
!st ed: The Summon Monster and Summon Nature’s ally spells all have a casting time of 1 round. My regular group have always taken that to mean that the summoned creature begins to act in the following round. My new group (I’m GM for the first time) is claiming that it should appear and start to act in the round in which the spell is cast. Who is right? Does it make any difference if the caster is actually a Preservationist Alchemist invoking Bottled Ally?
Can the School of Conjuration wizard’s Minor Conjuration feature (PHB, p. 116) be used to summon rare, expensive, and/or consumable spell components?
It seems to fit within the scope of the feature in a rules-as-written manner, and I am inclined to allow it – but not having fully experienced the dynamics of higher level play where it might come more strongly into play, I have some uncertainty.
Looking at the list of monsters, it seems that the Conjure Celestial spell really only act on three possible creatures:
- Pegasus (CR 2)
- Couatl (CR 4)
- Unicorn (CR 5—requires spell slot 9)
Am I missing something? It seems very restrained for a spell level 7 to only be able to conjure 3 creatures…
In the Blessed and the Damned, Legendary Pokémon are given auras that grant special abilities to make them even more formidable. Three of these allow the user to summon a combatant of a level equal to their own (Or half their level if the combatant is a trainer).
I can not find any limitations to these combatants other than the level. Could this aura be used to summon an exact duplicate of the Legendary in question? I understand that in many cases this makes no sense, but it could be a way to explain Celebi’s gimmick where dozens of it from different times appear: One summons one other. Next turn, both summon one more each- Etcetera.
Summon Components (Complete Mage, p. 118) has a range of 0 feet, in order to persist a spell with the Persisten Spell (Complete Arcane, p. 81) metamagic feat the range must be "personal".
Is it possible to consider a spell whit range 0 ft. to be the same as "personal"?
Recently a new magic item has been teased by D&D designer Chris Perkins, this scroll lets you summon the tarrasque.
Any wizard would love to learn such a powerful spell, however, wizards are limited to only scribing "wizard spell[s] of 1st level or higher" into their spellbook. Unfortunately, this scroll doesn’t meet the criteria since it isn’t a wizard spell.
Are there any subclasses, features, feats, items, or any other methods a wizard could use to gain the ability to cast this spell more than once?