What happens to a Summoned Demon when it hasn’t been given new commands?

This assumes that you use summon greater demon (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 166), and command it to attack your enemies. This summoned Balgura succeeds in killing all enemies you ordered it to, but during this time you were drawn away from the demon, and haven’t been able to issue it a new verbal command. Keep in mind, it hasn’t succeeded in breaking the spell via it’s CHA saves.

Would a Demon be able to act on it’s own accord if it hasn’t been given any new commands, and has no creatures to attack that "attacked it during the last turn."?

Does the Shepherd Druid’s Mighty Summoner feature apply to creatures summoned through their Faithful Summons feature?

Mighty Summoner says (emphasis mine):

Any beast or fey summoned or created by a spell that you cast gains the following benefits: […]

Faithful Summons says (emphasis mine):

If you are reduced to 0 hit points or are incapacitated against your will, you can immediately gain the benefits of conjure animals as if it were cast using a 9th-level spell slot.

Does the phrase "as if it were cast using a 9th-level spell slot" indicate that we should treat this as if we are casting the spell, thereby allowing us to apply Mighty Summoner to the creatures summoned?

Note, this question is different from this Q&A, as it is unclear if Faithful Summons counts as casting a spell: Would the 6th level Shepherd Druid’s Mighty Summoner feature works on summoned creatures not made from spells

What’s the nature of the entity summoned by mage hand?


What does a mage hand look like?

⁢According to Player’s Handbook, mage hand is a conjuration cantrip available to bard, sorcerer, warlock and wizard, that summons "a spectral, floating hand".

But what exactly am I conjuring? Is it a ghost, a construct made out of raw force, my astral/ethereal/etc body part? Do I choose the side of the hand (left or right)? Could you summon other body parts or something more abstract (like a force tentacle from the ground)?

I have many questions about the lore side of this spell in D&D, so my question is focused on sourcebooks. Thank you

Do attacks from creatures summoned by the Conjure Animals spell count as magical?

In our last session, the party was fighting a Ghost. A ghost has, among other characteristics, damage resistance to "Bludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks". The Druid had previously cast conjure animals to summon eight Owls.

When the Owl attacks the Ghost with its Talons, does that count as a "magical attack", and therefore bypass the Ghost’s damage resistance?

The standard reference that I’ve found for figuring out if an attack is magical is in the Sage Advice Compendium, which has this to say under "Is the breath weapon of a dragon magical?":

Determining whether a game feature is magical is straightforward. Ask yourself these questions about the feature:

  • Is it a magic item?
  • Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell that’s mentioned in its description?
  • Is it a spell attack?
  • Is it fueled by the use of spell slots?
  • Does its description say it’s magical?

If your answer to any of those questions is yes, the feature is magical.

I’m not sure, though, if this qualifies as "is it a spell" or "is it a spell attack", as it isn’t quite either… But being a summoned fey creature in the form of a beast sure seems like a magical sort of thing more so than, say, a dragon’s breath weapon would be.

Utility of Proficiency Bonus in Statblock for Summoned Creatures without Proficiencies?

Looking into Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, I was reviewing the stat block of the Fey summoned by the Summon Fey spell. Amongst the statistics provided is the Proficiency Bonus of the spirit, defined as "equals [the caster’s] bonus."

The Summoned Fey has no Skill, Tool, or Saving Throw Proficiencies. Presumably the Proficiency Bonus value is already effectively baked into the Shortsword Attack, and the Spell Save DC for its bonus actions, as those are based on the Caster’s Spell Attack and Spell Save DC.

Is there another reason why the Player or DM would need to know this Proficiency Bonus, or is it merely a leftover from using a similar Stat Block for companions that do have proficiencies, such as the Battle Smith’s Steel Defender, or the Homunculus Servant Infusion?

Does the metal construct summoned from Summon Construct also cause fire damage when using Slam?

The Summoned Construct’s Heated Body ability is the same wording as the Remorhaz’ (though it does less damage).

Construct Spirit:

Heated Body (Metal Only). A creature that touches the construct or hits it with a melee attack while within 5 feet of it takes 1d10 fire damage.

Remorhaz:

Heated Body. A creature that touches the remorhaz or hits it with a melee attack while within 5 feet of it takes 10 (3d6) fire damage.

but unlike the Remorhaz’ Bite, the construct’s description does not have a clause that it also deals additional (fire) damage on a hit with its Slam.

Construct

Slam. Melee Weapon Attack: your spell attack modifier to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 1d8 + 4 + the spell’s level bludgeoning damage.

Remorhaz

Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +11 to hit, reach 10 ft., one target. Hit: 40 (6d10 + 7) piercing damage plus 10 (3d6) fire damage. If the target is a creature, it is grappled (escape DC 17). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the remorhaz can’t bite another target.

Does a creature count as touching the construct (and get fire damage) if they are hit by its slam attack?


Info on the Summoned Construct is from Tasha’s Cauldron of everything. Info on Rhemoraz is from Monster Manual

Would the 6th level Shepherd Druid’s Mighty Summoner feature works on summoned creatures not made from spells

To clarify, when I say "summoned creatures not made from spells", I mean summons that are from class features and the like, so the Shadow Sorcerer’s Hound of Ill Omen, the Hexblade’s Accursed Specter, Raven Queen’s Sentinel Raven (tho less hp on this would be nice) and the Beastmaster/Drakewarden’s Animal/Drake Companion. Sinces these are features that summon creatures, would they work with the Shepherd Druid’s Mighty Summoner if they aren’t technically spells?

Do Summoned creatures trigger “on death” effects?

Taking Leshies as an example, they can be summoned with the Summon Plant or Fungus spell. They also have the Verdant Burst ability (abbreviated):

When a leaf leshy dies, a burst of primal energy explodes from its body

The entry is slightly different for each form of Leshy, but they all give an instantaneous healing effect to nearby plant creatures, and most cause the area to become difficult terrain for 24 hours or permanently.

However, they also gain the Summoned trait, which states:

They are automatically banished if reduced to 0 Hit Points or if the spell that called them ends.

Which of these triggers first? What if the leshy is killed by massive damage? Is there a distinction between the instantaneous healing and the lingering difficult terrain (if the healing occurs, is the terrain then banished with the Leshy)?

Do I need to feed a mount summoned by Find Steed?

Find Steed reads:

You summon a spirit that assumes the form of an unusually intelligent, strong, and loyal steed, creating a long-lasting bond with it. Appearing in an unoccupied space within range, the steed takes on a form that you choose, such as a Warhorse, a pony, a camel, an elk, or a Mastiff. (Your DM might allow Other Animals to be summoned as steeds.) The steed has the Statistics of the chosen form, though it is a celestial, fey, or fiend (your choice) instead of its normal type. […]

That mount is a spirit, not a common animal of that type. Since the spell doesn’t go into details, I assume I don’t have to feed it as I’d have to feed a warhorse, for instance. However, do spirits need to eat in D&D?

The reason being: although celestials/fey/fiends most likely eat unless otherwise specified (ex: angels), they can be killed by bringing them to 0 HP.
On the other hand, a mount from Find Steed “disappears leaving no physical form” and can be brought back fully restored — basically, if it drops to 0 HP its body simply fades and it won’t die.
That fits the spirit part in the spell’s description and strongly indicates that it’s not just fluff, as it doesn’t work exactly like the usual celestials / fey / fiends nor the base animal.

The summoned spirit might come in the form of a celestial horse, but that doesn’t imply it actually eats like one, just like it doesn’t die like an ordinary horse or celestial.

The question: is there any factual or explicit rule to conclusively support a “yes, it eats/no, it doesn’t” answer?