Do you lose your class supernatural abilities when using shapechange?

One of my players is wondering whether you lose the supernatural abilities derived from your class when changing for using shapechange. To me the answer seemed pretty straightforward since the spell says

You gain all extraordinary and supernatural abilities (both attacks and qualities) of the assumed form, but you lose your own supernatural abilities.

But then he found this link

https://forums.giantitp.com/showthread.php?517934-The-3-5-Shapechange-Handbook

And at page 6 it says

enter image description here

But i couldn’t find any source for this claim. I would like to know which version is right and where i can find an official source that clarifies this (unless it’s simply what the spell says and you lose all supernatural abilities)

Polymorph and Subtypes with Supernatural special qualities

Suppose an Aasimar wizard turns 7th level and picks up the Polymorph spell. They turn into a Hound Archon. The Hound Archon has the Archon subtype, which includes supernatural special qualities. Does the wizard gain these supernatural abilities by virtue of gaining the subtype? Or does the wizard not gain them because the Polymorph spell says that the wizard does not gain any of the supernatural special qualities of the chosen form?

The abilities that I question are:

  • Aura of Menace (Su): A righteous aura surrounds archons that fight or get angry. Any hostile creature within a 20-foot radius of an archon must succeed on a Will save to resist its effects. The save DC varies with the type of archon, is Charisma-based, and includes a +2 racial bonus. Those who fail take a -2 penalty on attacks, AC, and saves for 24 hours or until they successfully hit the archon that generated the aura. A creature that has resisted or broken the effect cannot be affected again by the same archon’s aura for 24 hours.
  • Magic Circle against Evil (Su): A magic circle against evil effect always surrounds an archon (caster level equals the archon’s Hit Dice). (The defensive benefits from the circle are not included in an archon’s statistics block.)
  • Teleport (Su): Archons can use greater teleport at will, as the spell (caster level 14th), except that the creature can transport only itself and up to 50 pounds of objects.
  • Tongues (Su): All archons can speak with any creature that has a language, as though using a tongues spell (caster level 14th). This ability is always active.

Relevant quotes from the Polymorph spell:

  • "[…] The subject’s creature type and subtype (if any) change to match the new form."
  • "[…] It also gains all extraordinary special attacks possessed by the form but does not gain the extraordinary special qualities possessed by the new form or any supernatural or spell-like abilities."

How should players purchase supernatural backgrounds when using a Prelude?

Hunter: The Reckoning has a concept of of a "prelude". A prelude is essentially a one-shot or one-session adventure which tells the story of how a normal, mundane human became called to the Hunt. It’s like a superhero origin story, where the player character gains their first edges.

Two approaches to preludes are described in the Hunter rules (pg.221-223). In one case, players create their characters like in most games. They can assign all their powers and various scores before play begins. In the other, more thematically appropriate option, players create mundane characters and the Storyteller assigns supernatural powers and other benefits during the prelude.

I’d like to use this second version in a Hunter game I’m planning. During this introductory sesssion, I’ll assign powers and abilities to the characters based on their activities. However, I’m confused how to advise players to purchase backgrounds. Some backgrounds and abilities are supernatural (like patron) or more appropriate for experienced hunters (like occult knowledge). Should I allow players to purchase these before hand or restrict them?

Some options I can foresee:

  • I should allow players to purchase them before hand, even though this isn’t thematic. Doing otherwise would restrict their strategic choices in an unpleasent way.
  • Players could withhold some their points from character creation to spend later. This seems both thematic and enhances player agency, but means that initially some characters will be stronger than others.
  • Players could spend all their points on mundane options, and I can assign supernatural options as the Storyteller. This doesn’t sound ideal, since some options (like the Mentor background) are best chosen upfront. If I assign a high Mentor score to someone it would unbalance the group.

How should I handle this situation? Do the Hunter rules or some other White Wolf guidance explain this? Is there an experienced-based way to handle this?

Does a supernatural Follower cost more BP than a mortal?

I’m a bit unsure on how much to have one of my players spend on a supernatural follower of his.

In the rules it states that:

Followers are assumed to have 3 in all Attributes, but the Follower gains 4 skill points for each BP spent to reflect the skills they use to help the character.

And that

This Gift, unlike Bonds, can include magical beings or even other gods at times, but are usually mortals who simply follow the character.

I’m understanding how to build the character itself with the points the player has to spend, but what I’m really unsure of is: does it cost more to gain a supernatural ally (like a kitsune, succubi, …) instead of a mortal?

Thus any explanation from a book I don’t have or from another source is welcome.

How does supernatural light interact with magical darkness, and vice versa?

Let’s say a character has the exalted feat Nimbus of Light which makes him shed light:

Your radiance sheds light as a common lamp: bright light to a radius of 5 feet and shadowy illumination to 10 feet. You can extinguish this radiance at will and reactivate it again as a free action.

What would happen if he enters the area of a Darkness spell?

Normal lights (torches, candles, lanterns, and so forth) are incapable of brightening the area, as are light spells of lower level. Higher level light spells are not affected by darkness.

Since the light is supernatural (all exalted feats are supernatural) it doesn’t qualify as "normal", it could qualify as a spell, but supernatural abilities don’t have "levels", and often, as in this case, they don’t emulate the effect of a spell like most spell-like abilities do.

So, what would be the proper way to resolve this situation?

  1. Should the DM assign a virtual level to the supernatural ability by comparing it to similar spells?
  2. Since supernatural abilities can’t be dispelled and are not subject to spell resistance would it be reasonable to assume supernatural light behaves like "normal" non-magical light, and it doesn’t shine inside magical darkness?
  3. Does any supernatural light trump over all kinds of magical darkness?

Does the Sacred Kin barbarian’s Supernatural Fury feature replace the Rage feature entirely?

This question is about the Supernatural Fury feature of the Path of the Sacred Kin barbarian subclass from Xanathar’s Lost Notes to Everything Else (a third-party product by the DMs Guild Adepts).

The Supernatural Fury feature states:

At 3rd level, you can focus on the magic in your blood, allowing you to concentrate your rage into the ancient magic of your bloodline and enter a Supernatural Fury. You gain the ability to cast and concentrate on spells, even while raging, at the expense of your physical resistances.

When you enter your Supernatural Fury and you aren’t wearing heavy armor, the following benefits replace the benefits of the Rage feature:

  • You gain a bonus to your AC equal to your Strength modifier (minimum of +1).
  • You have advantage on Constitution checks and saving throws made to maintain concentration on a spell.
  • You have resistance to magical damage and are immune to the damage type you chose from your Ancestral Origin.

Your Supernatural Fury lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you’re knocked unconscious or if your turn ends and you haven’t attacked a hostile creature, cast a spell, or taken damage since your last turn. You can end your Supernatural Fury on your turn as a bonus action.

Does this mean the Sacred Kin barbarian can choose between entering a “regular” rage and a Supernatural Fury? Or can he (from Level 3 on) only gain the benefits from Supernatural Fury, because it completely replaces the “old” rage he used on Level 1 and 2?

How does the telepathy supernatural ability work?

According to the MM books, telepathy is described as:

A creature with this ability (supernatural) can communicate telepathically with any other creature within a certain range (specified in the creature’s entry, usually 100 feet) that has a language. It is possible to address multiple creatures at once telepathically, although maintaining a telepathic conversation with more than one creature at a time is just as difficult as simultaneously speaking and listening to multiple people at the same time. Source: MM, MM3

My questions:

  • If a creature with telepathy knows that someone is within 100ft, can the creature communicate with that person, even if there is no line of effect or sight?

    My answer would be yes, because no book says that telepathy is blocked by walls, etc.

  • Normally, a supernatural ability is a standard action to start. If the creature wanted to communicate for more than one round using telepathy, does the creature need to use up a standard action every round they are communicating or only in the first round?

    My answer is only in the first round, since the description says that maintaining telepathy is hard as speaking and listening normally.

  • If a person the creature is communicating with moves out of the 100ft range, and then moves back into the range. Does the telepathic link need to be established again?

    My answer is yes, another standard action is needed to establish the telepathy between the two creatures.

I should add the telepathy is supernatural, and a character is looking at getting it from the Mindbender class (from Complete Arcane). And also get the Mindsight feat (Lords of Madness). I couldn’t find anywhere to rule whether a supernatural ability should take a standard action every round it is on.

Does Supernatural Defense assist your saving throws to maintain concentration?

Supernatural Defense, the level 7 Monster Slayer ranger feature (XGtE, p. 43), states that, if the target of your Slayer’s Prey forces you to make a saving throw, you may add 1d6 to your roll.

If you take damage while concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration.

Does Supernatural Defense provide a bonus to your concentration saving throw, assuming the triggering damage came from the target of your Slayer’s Prey feature? In other words, is the target of your Slayer’s Prey forcing you to make the Constitution saving throw, or are you technically being forced by the damage taken, not by that target?

Does the frightened condition provide supernatural knowledge of the location of the source of fear?

The effects of being Frightened are as follows:

  • A frightened creature has disadvantage on ability checks and attack rolls while the source of its fear is within line of sight.

  • The creature can’t willingly move closer to the source of its fear.

Does this give a Frightened creature any extra knowledge of the location of that source?

More specifically:

A player is Frightened of a dragon, and has run into a location with two exits and no vision of the dragon. The dragon has since moved and Hidden from them, and could potentially be lurking close to either of the two exits.

The player tries to run towards the exit that, unknown to them, the dragon is lurking near. What happens?

  1. The player is not “willingly” moving closer to the dragon, they are unknowingly doing so. They can keep moving closer to the dragon up until they become aware of the dragon’s location.

  2. Moving towards the dragon (even unknowingly) would be “willingly” moving closer to the dragon (here “unwilling” would be “dragged by someone else’s magic” or similar). Therefore, they find themselves unable to move in that direction, and may well be able to deduce it is because the dragon’s location is in that direction.

  3. Something else.