Slashing with Short Swords

Can a short sword be used to deal slashing damage?

The Weapons Table seems to list short swords as having only the damage type of piercing, and lacking the slashing damage type. However, this strikes me as either a mistake or a misguided decision. Short swords are typically described as and visually depicted as having a double-edged blade, which should mean that it is able to cut.

From The Forgotten Realms wiki (emphasis mine):

In essence, this weapon is a smaller version of the longsword but longer than a dagger or dirk, having many of the same parts including a generally double-edged blade, cross-guard, grip, and pommel. The blade is typically from 12 to 20 in (30 to 50 cm) long with a sharp point. An average short sword costs 10 gp and weighs 2 lb (0.9 kg).1 First edition D&D defined the short sword as “all pointed cutting & thrusting weapons with blade length between 15 in (38 cm) and 24 in (61 cm).”2

Other 3rd Edition material also described as being effectively between the length of a longsword and a daggerboth of which are capable of slashing – suggesting that, all other properties the same, it should be able to as well.

I’ve heard some arguments that the short sword is intended to model certain historical weapons, such as the gladius, which were primarily used for stabbing by Roman soldiers after the reach of their spears had been breached. Even so, the gladius also sported a double-edged blade and seemed capable of slashing if necessary.

Of course, this problem only comes into play when fighting a monster with damage resistances or vulnerabilities to one damage type over the other. Even if the weapon was not primarily designed for slashing (which still seems in question), I would think that under such circumstances of life and death, at the very least, this would be possible.

Is there any reason, historical or otherwise, as to why a character could not slash with a short sword?

Where can you find Swords Secret online?

I was reading the Lore Warden (PRG:AG) archetype (careful, there is another Lore Warden archetype for fighter) and one of its features is the swords secret, but I cant find any of them online.

Swords Secret

A lore warden learns specialized techniques that help her to quickly analyze and defeat her foes. At 3rd level, a lore warden gains one swords secret, and she gains an additional swords secret for every 4 fighter levels gained after 3rd. Except where noted, a lore warden cannot select the same swords secret more than once.

I wasnt able to find this listed on d20pfsrd, nythys, or with a google search.

In 5e, when do College of Swords bards still use musical instruments? [closed]

In 5e, after a bard has joined the College of Swords at 3rd level, when–if at all–would they need their instrument(s)?

At 1st and 2nd levels, they would have used musical instruments as spell casting foci, but for those who join the College of Swords at 3rd level, "If you’re proficient with a simple or martial melee weapon, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your bard spells".

So, no need for a musical instrument as a focus for spellcasting.

As for bard abilities, Song of Rest, gained at 2nd level, is brought about through "soothing music or oration", and for Countercharm, gained at 6th, "music notes or words of power" are the means of achieving the desired effect (PHB p54). In both cases, the option to of speaking–oration or words of power–means that a muscial instrument is not needed.

It seems strange that a the defining feature of a class becomes vestigal.

Are these dual-wielding swords balanced?

I made the following magic weapons specifically for dual-wielding. They are intended to be given out at 5th level.

Placeholder name

Magic weapon (pair of shortswords), uncommon (requires attunement)

Both swords are attuned to simultaneously which counts as attuning to a single magic item. To benefit from the swords’ magic properties, both need to be wielded simultaneously.

Whenever you hit a target with a weapon attack using one of the swords, if you use your bonus action to make a weapon attack using the rules for two-weapon fighting against the same target on the same turn, that attack has advantage.

Whenever you hit a giant with a weapon attack using one of the swords, that attack deals an additional 1d6 damage. For the purpose of this feature, giant refers to the monster type of that name, including monsters such as ogres.

My question is, if this item is a) abusable, b) wildly inappropriate for level 5 or uncommon rarity, c) ambiguous.

Can a Swords bard benefit from Blade Flourish’s speed increase again if they take the Attack action again?

The Swords Bard’s 3rd level feature, Blade Flourish, states:

[…] Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn, your walking speed increases by 10 feet until the end of the turn […]

So if a Bard took the Attack action multiple times (through something like haste or Action Surge) would they gain the speed increase multiple times as well?

A Thri-Kreen wielding two long swords two handedly, damage bonus calculation

A Thri Kreen has multiple limbs according to page 15 of the expanded psionics handbook:

Multiple Limbs thri-kreen have four arms and thus can take the Multiweapon Fighting feat page 304 of the Monster Manual instead of the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. Thri-kreen can also take the Multiattack feat these feats are not bonus feats.

The multiweapon fighting feat is described thus:

Multiweapon Fighting penalties for fighting with multiple weapons are reduced by 2 with the primary hand and reduced by 6 with off hands. Normally a creature without this feat takes a -6 penalty on attacks made with its primary hand and a -10 penalty on attacks made with its off hands. It has one primary hand and all the others are off hands.

If a thri-kreen uses two long swords in a two handed grip what happens? According to page 134 of the player’s handbook, we can see:

Strength Bonus: When you hit with a melee or thrown weapon, including a sling, add your Strength modifier to the damage result. A Strength penalty, but not a bonus, applies on attacks made with a bow that is not a composite bow.

Off-Hand Weapon: When you deal damage with a weapon in your off hand, you add only 1/2 your Strength bonus.

Wielding a Weapon Two-Handed: When you deal damage with a weapon that you are wielding two-handed, you add 1-1/2 times your Strength bonus. However, you don’t get this higher Strength bonus when using a light weapon with two hands (see Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons, page 113).

So the question is, on the off hand long sword wielded two handedly does the thri-kreen add only half his strength bonus with the off hand long sword or does he add 1-1/2 times his strength bonus or does he add 0.75 his strength bonus, or some other calculation?

D&D 5E: Can the Glamour Bard and Swords Bard deal as much DPR as the highest DPR classes over the course of an adventuring day? [duplicate]

This question is an exact duplicate of:

  • D&D 5E: Are the new Bard Class Options more effective than all other classes with their options? [closed]

I’m looking for a detailed analysis of the new bard colleges (and bard base class features) compared to the capabilities of all other classes and class options.

New Class Options

The class options I am looking at are:

  • College of Glamour bard
  • College of Swords bard

Criteria

I’m looking for mechanical analysis of features. Mainly the result of features. Such as healing word having nearly identical results as the fighters second wind. It takes a limited resource. (something the fighter and bard can only do a few times a day)

Perspective

All mechanical obstacles can be broken down into the following situations:

  • Overcoming enemies in combat
  • Overcoming enemies in interaction (socialization)
  • Overcoming environmental obstacles or traps in exploration

If you compare class abilities and powers in how effective they are at overcoming those obstacles then it becomes much easier to compare them. Keep in mind player roleplaying and DM fiat can overcome those obstacles also, but that is outside the scope of this question as each DM and player will have different abilites to bypass those obstacles using roleplaying and DM fiat. Through my own research I’ve found that the Players Handbook Bard Colleges combined with the base Bard class can be built in such a way that they can overcome the above obstacles at least as well as any other class. To narrow the scope of this question you can compare the new class options against the college of Lore and the college or valor. If they are more effective then I’ll accept that they can do what other classes do, and better.

Some metrics that can be used are:

  • All questions assume comparison of each class/subclass is reasonably optimized.
  • Multi-classing shouldn’t be used because this is a question between classes
  • Magic items can’t be assumed and should be left off.
  • Feats are features of all classes, so they can be used.
  • Assume the average adventuring day listed in the Dungeon Masters Guide.
  • Starting stats for characters should be point buy.
  • If possible an analysis of levels 3-20 should be included with notes on where changes occur.

Can the Glamour Bard and Swords Bard deal as much DPR as the highest DPR classes over the course of an adventuring day?

Can clerics use swords?

My DM, who hasn’t played newer versions of D&D, was asking if my cleric was allowed to use sharp weapons. I double checked the descriptions and didn’t see anything like this written there, but now I am doubting myself.

Can my wood elf cleric use a sword?

What are the errata for Swords & Wizardry Complete, 3rd Printing?

I just received a copy of S&W Complete, 3rd Printing. I’ve found a few minor errors, and I was wondering what errors have been noticed already for this edition?

I’m especially interested in identifying errors that may lead to confusion or substantial divergence from the intent during play—if there are any—not a total catalogue of typographical errors whose meaning ought to be obvious.

So far I’ve only found one error in the first category: The Ranger’s advancement table incorrectly lists their Hit Die as a d6 (p23), when it is marked earlier as a d8 (p22, consistent with Fighters and the 2nd printing text).