Is there any way to gain access to Evasion without taking multiple levels of a class?

So, I have a character with a really, really, really bonkers Reflex save. It wasn’t really the design plan, but a combination of class features, ancillary benefits from traits, and stats meant that I ended up with one.

Given that, Evasion would be a really great feature to have – better still, the Twist Away feat, which requires Evasion, would be incredible for this particular character, and thematically fitting.

Problem is, dipping 2 levels of Rogue (or another class) is a larger setback than I’d like.

So, is there any way to get Evasion through a feat or other means? I’m particularly interested in permanent methods, in order to qualify for other feats. One level dips are worth mentioning, but not ideal, and if it helps any, the character is Mythic, on the Trickster path, and can expect to get to Tier 10 ‘someday’ (but not anytime soon).

I’m interested in solutions that might apply for any race/class/level combination, as it seems a handy thing to pick up in a variety of circumstances – especially since Twist Away exists. That said, my particular circumstance is a Half Elf, Swash 1/Investigator 7 (the ACG versions).

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the interest of balance. That is not part of my question.)

Elf. Multiclass: Sorcerer 2+ / Warlock 1+ / Bard 1

  • Never takes a long rest. Ever. See question, Must 5e elves take a long rest? Specifically, whether adventuring or not, she makes sure that every 8 hour block includes more than 2 hours of combat or strenuous activity, to ensure that no interpretation of long rest rules would allow a long rest to be automatically triggered.
  • Converts warlock spell slots into sorcery points. See @JeremyECrawford’s tweet.
  • Converts sorcery points into sorcery spell slots (or into spellcasting spell slots, once also multiclassing Bard) via Flexible Casting
  • Spell slots created from sorcery points disappear upon long rest, as per Flexible Casting and a tweet from @JeremyECrawford; therefore these created spell slots will not disappear until used, e.g. for a character taking no long rests
  • Spell slots created from sorcery points are in addition to, and not restoration of the sorcerer’s spell slots which refresh on a long rest. This is not 100% clear from RAW or clarifications. But:
    (a) Flexible Casting uses the phrase, “additional Spell Slots”;
    (b) the rule stating that created spell slots disappear on long rests is superfluous if created spell slots can only replace expended spell slots — to have meaning it must be possible to create spell slots which are not replacements;
    (c) flexible casting does not use the word “recover”, which is the word used for wizards’ Arcane Recovery
  • Restores warlock spell slots on a short rest, and repeats the cycle above, converting warlock spell slots to sorcery points to sorcerer (or spellcasting) spell slots
  • During periods of downtime, takes as many short rests per day as permissible, to build up a stockpile of created sorcerer spell slots
  • Stockpiling requires using bonus actions out of combat, discussed elsewhere
  • Stockpiling requires having short rests on downtime days, discussed in a comment below
  • While adventuring, during combat, uses created spell slots to cast spells, and/or uses flexible casting to convert those spell slots back into sorcery points
  • While adventuring, after combat, will use created spell slots with Bard spells to restore hits points, since restoring hit points via long rest is unavailable, and via hit dice is mostly unavailable

I’m pretty sure this is not RAI, but does it violate RAW in some way?

Why doesn’t diagonalization requiring taking a limit?

When we quantify infinite sums, we do so by taking the limit as $ i$ goes to infinity. For example, we look at $ \lim_{i\rightarrow \infty}\sum_{i\in \mathbb{N}}i$ , and then we say that this diverges.

When we do diagonalization, we iterate over an infinite list while indexing each list item by a natural number, and then talk about the result. Why can we do this without invoking limits? Shouldn’t we speak of the result of the diagonalization as a limit?

How to check if Android app is taking pictures in the background? [migrated]

I have Android app that I found to be loading Camera in the background. It’s one of the most widely used internet browsers.

I been trying debug what is actually happening with LogCat in the Android Device Monitor. Couple of lines that catch my eye:

I/CameraManagerGlobal(24529): getCameraService: Reconnecting to camera service I/CameraService(331): getCameraCharacteristics: Switching to HAL1 shim implementation... I/NuPlayer(331): setDataSourceAsync(URL suppressed) I/CameraClient(331): Opening camera 1 E/QCamera2HWI(331): [KPI Perf] int qcamera::QCamera2HardwareInterface::openCamera(hw_device_t**): E PROFILE_OPEN_CAMERA camera id 1 I/QCameraHalWatchdog(331): Starting Watchdog Thread... E/mm-camera-intf(331): mm_camera_open: dev name = /dev/video2, cam_idx = 2 D/QCameraParameters(331): int32_t qcamera::QCameraParameters::initDefaultParameters(): supported pic sizes: 1280x960,1280x720,640x480,352x288 D/QCameraParameters(331): int32_t qcamera::QCameraParameters::setNumOfSnapshot(): nBurstNum = 1, nExpnum = 1 I/QCameraHalWatchdog(331): Stopped Watchdog Thread... I/CameraClient(331): Destroying camera 1 E/QCameraPostProc(331): int32_t qcamera::QCameraPostProcessor::deinit(): Jpeg closed, rc = 0, mJpegClientHandle = 7900 

How would I know if picture is actually taken?

Is this possibly normal behavior to check camera availability?

What mechanic would be used for taking an opponents weapon from it’s sheath on his belt in combat?

Here is the scenario.

I am attacking a fighter with a crossbow. I run out of bolts and am unnamed as he charges at me with a spear. My opponent has a short sword on his belt. He misses with his initial spear attack and its my turn.

I want to take his sword from it’s sheath and if possible attack him with it. What process or series of checks need to be made for this to work?

A way to get out of taking Cloud of Daggers damage?

Suppose Alice, Charlie, and Bob are in combat (in that order).

Alice casts Cloud of Daggers centered on Bob. This question explains that Bob takes no damage (yet), as merely creating the area doesn’t trigger the damage.

Charlie casts Thunderwave on Bob, who fails the save. Bob takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10ft, out of the area created by Cloud of Daggers.

Next is Bob’s turn. Would I be correct to say that Bob never takes damage from the Cloud of Daggers (unless he does something silly like run back into it)?

Does taking the Domain Initiate cleric feat a second time give a second focus point?

Under Focus Points from Multiple Sources the book reads:

It’s possible, especially through archetypes, to gain focus spells and Focus Points from more than one source. If this happens, you have just one focus pool, adding all the Focus Points together to determine the total size of your pool. (Remember that the maximum number of Focus Points a pool can have is 3.) If you have multiple abilities that give you a focus pool, each one adds 1 Focus Point to your pool. (Core Rulebook pg. 300)

It’s not clear to me if taking the same feat multiple times counts as more than one source, or multiple abilities, for the sake of getting an additional focus point. Specifically, the Domain Initiate cleric feat doesn’t seem to mention anything on the issue.

The Domain Initiate cleric feat reads:

Special You can select this feat multiple times, selecting a different domain each time and gaining its domain spell. (Core Rulebook pg. 121)

Is running bash script that is taking arguments from site dialog box a good idea?

I’m building a site that will use youtubeAPI to keep track of playlist changes. In order for 3rd party to use it I would supply a dialog box in which user would type his/hers playlistID – this would be read and then put as an argument into bash script that in turn runs curl/python scripts to connect with API (ran on my machine) and another bash script that would mkdirs on my disk.

Does this potentially endanger me/my files somehow ? Can someone input some magic command that would do “rm * -f” or similar malicious endeavor ? Should I use some external server instead of my machine ?

I know nothing about security, Ive read few topics here but didnt find similar problem.

How many times is taking mfcuk to find a key

I would like to copy a VIGIK RFID badge. It’s MIFARE type badge. I’ve an ARC122 USB reader / writer and my OS is Linux like. I compiled mfoc and mfcuk successfully. First I tried to copy the badge with mfoc using this command:

mfoc  -P 500 -O Matrice.dmp 

And I’ve got this error :

    Found Mifare Classic 1k tag ISO/IEC 14443A (106 kbps) target:     ATQA (SENS_RES): 00  04   * UID size: single * bit frame anticollision supported        UID (NFCID1): 63  0e  43  bc         SAK (SEL_RES): 08   * Not compliant with ISO/IEC 14443-4 * Not compliant with ISO/IEC 18092 .../... mfoc: ERROR:  No sector encrypted with the default key has been found, exiting.. 

After a search on the web, I found I’ve to use mfcuk tool like this for find a key :

mfcuk -C -O Matrice.dmp -R 0:A -s 250 -S 250 -v 3 

But it’s taking hour without result. How to do that quicker ?

Does using an Owl’s “Talons” action while Wild Shaped count as taking the Attack action?

First, a reason this might matter would be a multiclassed Druid/Monk using Wild Shape and hoping to use Flurry of Blows, the latter of which states:

Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

So say we are transformed, via Wild Shape, into an Owl and we use our “Talons” action. Can we then use Flurry of Blows?


I’m unsure what the case is given that the Monster Manual states (page 10):

When a monster takes its action, it can choose from the options in the Actions section of its stat block or use one of the actions available to all creatures, such as the Dash or Hide action, as described in the Player’s Handbook.

“Talons” is not one of the actions available to all creatures, but the Attack action is so I’m unsure whether Talons also counts as the Attack action and if so, why/how?

In addition the Essentials Kit describes the “Use a Special Ability” action as follows (page 36):

Many class features give you special ways to use your action. Monsters also have their own special actions, as described in their stat blocks.

Are these “special actions” things like “Talons” or is “Talons” a use of the Attack action?

Can a Monk use Flurry of Blows while under the effects of Wild Shape; are actions such as the Owl’s “Talons” considered the Attack action?