Can you end up with less than 3 talents at License Level 1?

According to page 18 of the Lancer Core Book First Edition PDF, under “LL0” (emphasis mine):

LL0 characters start with the following:

  • A background, which provides bonuses on skill checks (p. 20).
  • Four +2 pilot triggers (p. 25).
  • One +2 mech skill or two +1 mech skills.
  • Three rank 1 talents (p. 90).
  • A license for all General Massive Systems (GMS) gear and weapons, and one mech FRAME – the GMS-SP1 Everest (p. 118).

However, you can also reallocate these talents upon level up, as described later on the same page under the “Reallocating Points” header (emphasis mine):

Every time your pilot’s LL increases, you also have the option to choose one:

  • Reallocate all points from one of your talents to any other talent.
  • Reallocate all points from one of your licenses to any other license.
  • Replace one core bonus with another core bonus for which your pilot qualifies.

If reallocating points from one license to another means your pilot no longer qualifies for a core bonus, you must replace that core bonus with one you now qualify for.

You also gain only 1 rank to an existing or new talent on level up. Per the “Leveling Up” header between those 2 sections (emphasis mine):

When characters complete a mission, whether they succeeded or failed, their LL increases by one and they add:

  • +2 to an existing trigger or a new trigger at +2.
  • +1 to a mech skill.
  • +1 talent rank to choose a new talent or improve an existing one.
  • +1 license rank to spend on mech talents and licenses.

Let’s say my License Level 0 (LL0) character, Taro Oda, starts with 1 rank in each of the Crack Shot, Infiltrator, and Leader talents. He finishes a mission and levels up to LL1, and chooses to improve the Crack Shot talent to rank 2. However, he can also reallocate “all” 1 point from the Leader talent, for instance, removing his only rank in that talent and increasing the Crack Shot talent to rank 3. However, this would leave him with only 2 talents: Crack Shot (3 ranks), and Infiltrator (1 rank).

Obviously, there can be costs to hyper-specialization (you might be better at certain things and worse at others), but I’m primarily just wondering whether I’m missing anything.

Can you end up with less than 3 talents at LL1? Am I correctly interpreting the rules, or am I missing anything in the rules that prevents this from happening?

Does the Kineticist feat Augmented Elements function as Expanded Element for choosing Infusion and Utility Wild Talents?

Does the Kineticist feat Augmented Elements function as Expanded Element (Su) for choosing Infusion and Utility Wild Talents?

Augmented Elements simply put is… you get your choice of an additional simple blast of any element at an extra Burn cost of 1 if not acquired the normal way; As well as gaining the Psionic Sub-type for Psionic feats, metapsionic feats, psionic creation feats. And though not mentioned more than likely the ability to hold a psionic focus.

Expanded Element simply put is … you secondary access to an element. Choosing the same Element grants its composite Blasts as well as your choice of an infusion or utility related to that element. While a new element grants that element’s simple blast and basic use (wild talent).

EX: Prime Element: Aether

Augmented Element: chose Air

Can I then choose Utilities, Infusions and Composite Blast of the Air Element.

Do talents that halve damage taken stack in SotDL?

I know talents that add boons or bonus damage stack fairly simply.

However, the Juggernaut Master Class from the core book and the Master of Darkness Expert Class from Tombs of Desolation both have a talent where incoming damage is halved, though under different circumstances.

My question is, assuming a character has both these talents and meets the specific circumstances for each one, how do they interact? Do you half damage and then half again afterwards, or do they achieve an identical effect and therefore having one makes the other obsolete?