One of my players want to carry his familiar on his body and says it should not be targeted by enemies because it can hide on his body?

One of my players (of a rogue) said that he heard of DM’s allowing the familiar to be carried on the players body. He use his familiar to help him in combat and get advantage on the attack roll.

I said it’s okay for me and allowed it. But later in fight I played a goblin and obviously attacked his familiar in his pocket, to take his advantage away. He said that it shouldn’t be possibly because his familiar hides in a pocket and can’t be targeted. I didn’t allow that because it would obviously break the game. He said that many DM’s bend the rule like this and allow this.

I would like to hear whether anyone has ever allowed this change of the rules, and whether it did or will break the game.

Do spell targets know they were targeted if they make their saves?

A lot of spells in D&D 5e either work or they don’t, with no visual or audio effect. If your target cant see or hear that you are casting a spell, and they make their save for that spell… do they know that they were targeted? Do they "feel" it?

I ask because it seems that the only thing that counts as an attack in 5e is something with an attack roll. If that’s the case a lot of shenanigan’s can happen, with players claiming their spell meant to immobilize or even kill a foe, was not an attack and should not have provoked the target.
Is there an "official" way to handle it?

Can Engulfed creatures be targeted with non-area spells without hitting the transparent or translucent Engulfing creature?

Oozes like gelatinous cubes can use the Engulf ability. If a caster can see an Engulfed creature since the ooze is transparent or translucent, can the caster target the Engulfed creature with a non-area spell without hitting the ooze?

My inclination would be that any area-based spells such as those with bursts or lines would hit the Engulfing creature (and possibly the Engulfed creature, as well). But spells like Heal simply allow the caster to select a target.

So could a caster target an Engulfed ally with a Heal spell without healing the Engulfing creature, assuming the caster could see (or otherwise perfectly sense) the target?

When can a magical effect be targeted with the dispel magic spell?

Inspired by the following:

  • Can Dispel Magic be used on a specific magical effect without removing other spells?

The dispel magic spell states:

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a successful check, the spell ends. […]

The question for me is what sorts of magical effects can be targeted, we already have (at least) two somewhat related questions:

  • What happens when you target a "magical effect" with Dispel Magic?
  • Can you Dispel a spell buff on a Rakshasa?

The first is just a general explanation that dispel magic ends spells that cause magical effects by targeting their magical effect. It does not address what magical effects you can target, but instead addresses what happens if you’ve already targeted an effect. The latter question asks specifically about the haste spell and has an answer stating:

[…] The haste spell isn’t creating a magical effect in the space (that is things like illusions, walls of fire, etc.). If you would like to argue otherwise you are very quickly into the realm of things 5e doesn’t define properly (ie. what is an object, magical effect, etc.?). […]

My question is basically whether or not this is true. Does the haste spell create a targetable magical effect? Are there rules that help answer the question "Does X create a magical effect that can be targeted with dispel magic?"


How do I know if I can target an effect with dispel magic?

Can Minotaur Players be targeted by Hold Person and other similar spells?

Hold person specifies that it can only target humanoids:

Choose a humanoid that you can see within range[…]

The Minotaur creature stat block from the Monster Manual lists them as monstrosities, not humanoids, however nothing is mentioned of that in the racial stat block in Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica or Mythic Odyssey of Theros. Can a PC Minotaur still be targeted by the Hold Person spell, or other spells that specifically target Humanoids?

The only similar things I could find are the racial stat blocks for satyrs and centaurs, which have the change of being the fey creature type, rather than humanoid:

Fey. Your creature type is fey, rather than humanoid.

Does this imply all other player races are humanoid?

Can Warforged be Targeted by the Clone Spell?

The Clone spell’s Components include (PHB p.222):

… at least one cubic inch of flesh of the creature that is being cloned, …

and Warforged do not have flesh, the same as other Humanoids do (ERftLW p. 35):

Warforged are made from wood and metal, …

Root like cords infused with alchemical fluids serve ads there muscles, wrapped around a frame of steel, darkwood, or stone. …

This alone would seem to imply they cannot be targeted by the Clone spell, however their description also includes:

Although they were manufactured, warforged are living humanoids. Resting, healing magic, and the medicine skill all provide the same benefits to warforged that they do to other humanoids.

Would this include the Clone spell? I’m struggling to understand whether this would be considered healing magic, and if an inch of the warforged’s "flesh" would work here.

Escort Site – 3500 Monthly Uniques – Targeted USA Traffic

The site receives 115 uniques per day from the United States mainly. 3500 per month.

It ranks highly on competitive keywords such as :
"black escorts"
"black escorts New york"
"black escorts Miami"
"black escorts Chicago"

The home page has a DA 23 , PA 25
Users average 2.5 pages per visit.

Why are you selling this site?
I have not had time to monetize this site.

How is it monetized?
It has JuicyAds on it.
In the past escorts have advertised on the site.

Does this site…

Escort Site – 3500 Monthly Uniques – Targeted USA Traffic

Can the Nystul’s Magic Aura spell make you immune to/unable to be targeted by the Dominate Person spell?

Nystul’s Magic Aura can make it so that magic and spells treat a creature as though it were another creature type. However the extent of this effect is ambiguous.

At first, it says the following, which specifically mentions spells which “detect creature types”. One could argue that this means it only affects information gathering spells.

You change the way the target appears to spells and magical effects that detect creature types, such as a paladin’s Divine Sense or the trigger of a symbol spell.

Then it goes on to give a far more general rule:

You choose a creature type and other spells and magical effects treat the target as if it were a creature of that type or of that alignment.

One could use this to change one’s effective creature type to something like Dragon or Celestial. This would seem to make you immune to spells that require a humanoid target, such as Dominate Person, as well as magical monster abilities which require a humanoid target, such as the Vampire’s Charm ability.

One could argue that Nystul’s Magic Aura is intended to only fool spells which gather information, but one could also argue that any spell which only works on a specific creature type is one which gathers information, even if that is not its primary purpose.

Which is right? Would Nystul’s Magic Aura make you immune to Dominate Person?