How do you resolve the damage and effects of Eldritch Claw Tattoo’s “Eldritch Maul” ability on a hit that is beyond your weapon’s normal melee range?

The Eldritch Maul ability says:

each of your melee attacks with a weapon or an unarmed strike can reach a target up to 15 feet away from you, as inky tendrils launch toward the target. In addition, your melee attacks deal an extra 1d6 force damage on a hit.

So, let’s say that I’m using the Eldritch Maul ability with a normal shortsword to melee attack a target that is 15 feet away. Is it only the inky tendrils that hit the target, dealing just 1d6 force damage, or should I also factor in the 1d6+STR/DEX piercing damage of the shortsword as if it hit the target as well?

Follow-up question: If the weapon was magical, would its magical properties factor into the attack?

For example: Would your attack with the Eldritch Maul ability benefit from a +1 weapon?

In another example: Would a Dagger of Venom’s poison property proc on a melee hit from 15 feet away while using the Eldritch Maul ability?

Dagger of Venom says:

You can use an action to cause thick, black poison to coat the blade. The poison remains for 1 minute or until an attack using this weapon hits a creature.

Are there any guidelines for magic tattoos in D&D 5e?

I would like to add magical tattoos for a D&D campaign in 5th edition.

In 3e (The version that exposed me to D&D), there is the option to add tattoos with magic; They are permanent and can never be lost, but cost twice as much as an item with the same abilities.

However, there are no such rules for magic tattoos in 5e. I am only using the PHB, DMG, MM, XGTE, VGM, GGR, and MTF.

Are there any guidelines for magic tattoos in D&D 5e?

Is the Blood Fury Tattoo’s damage doubled on a critical hit? [duplicate]

The question is as the title says, is the 4d6 necrotic damage doubled if you critted the attack that you then use the item’s ability on. The item text in question is below.

When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend a charge to deal an extra 4d6 necrotic damage to the target, and you regain a number of hit points equal to the necrotic damage dealt.

Can magic tattoos be used by warforged, or other constructs such as the battle smith artificer’s steel defender?

Magic tattoos all say things akin to the following:

To attune to this item, you hold the needle to your skin where you want the tattoo to appear, pressing the needle there throughout the attunement process. When the attunement is complete, the needle turns into the ink that becomes the tattoo, which appears on the skin.

They each appear on the skin, they are applied by being held to the skin. Can the metal body of a warforged use it? If so, the only other item I am aware of that has race specific requirements is the dwarven thrower.

It dawned on me that warforged aren’t considered constructs in 5e (at least I don’t think there is a distinction made for what player characters are). However, I think it should be considered that what would bar constructs from being able to use the tattoos is that the tattoos specifically say how you apply it to the skin, or how it appears on the skin. I think this would be the same disqualifying factor for warforged, or for other ‘constructs.’