Does using the Tavern Brawler feat with a rope give you a 20’+ grapple attack?

If I gain the Tavern Brawler feat, and use it with a rope as an improvised weapon, can I initiate a Grapple at 20+ feet away (depending on the length of rope)

When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike or improvised weapon on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to grapple the target.

So as an action I attack by whipping the rope out, presumably doing 1d4 damage + strength (up to the DM). Then as a bonus action I initiate the grapple by tugging the rope and having it wind around the opponent.

I envision this as a lasso, but I suppose a grappling hook would work too.

Does the Tavern Brawler feat grant proficiency when the character is not proficient otherwise?

This is a bit challenging to phrase, so I’ll use an example.

A human wizard with the Tavern Brawler feat gets fed up with a unruly Gnome and snaps off a heavy gate post to stab him with. The DM rules that the post is similar enough to a pike to use its damage dice. Is the Wizard proficient in this improvised Pike?

A related question queries whether or not an improvised weapon deemed similar enough to an actual weapon is still improvised – the consensus was that it was.

If that’s the case, the Tavern Brawler feat states:

You are proficient with improvised weapons.

If this too is the case, does this create a loophole of sorts where a character can wield an improvised variant of a weapon they otherwise couldn’t use proficiently?

Does the Tavern Brawler feat grant proficiency when the character is not proficient otherwise?

This is a bit challenging to phrase, so I’ll use an example.

A human wizard with the Tavern Brawler feat gets fed up with a unruly Gnome and snaps off a heavy gate post to stab him with. The DM rules that the post is similar enough to a pike to use its damage dice. Is the Wizard proficient in this improvised Pike?

A related question queries whether or not an improvised weapon deemed similar enough to an actual weapon is still improvised – the consensus was that it was.

If that’s the case, the Tavern Brawler feat states:

You are proficient with improvised weapons.

If this too is the case, does this create a loophole of sorts where a character can wield an improvised variant of a weapon they otherwise couldn’t use proficiently?

How to optimally run this Tavern?

Dragon Heist gives the players the option to run a tavern where 60gp are spent every tenday and a d100+10 is rolled against the Running a Business table in the DMG. Rolling a 50, for example, means that players earned 60gp for that period, and so matched the money spent in maintenance, earning no profits, but incurring no losses.

  • 20- Loss of 90g.
  • 21-30 Loss of 60g.
  • 31-40 Loss of 30g.
  • 41-60 No profit, no losses.
  • 61-80 Profits 1d6×50gp.
  • 81-90 Profits 2d8×50gp.
  • 91+ Profits 3d10×50gp.

Players can spend gold on marketing, adding 1 to the roll for each 1 gp they spend. What is the optimal amount of gold to spend in marketing to optimize the profits earned? Or is it not even worth to run the tavern?

Is Variant Human Monk with Tavern Brawler treating improvised weapons as monk weapons OP? DnD 5e

a friend of mine wants to play a Variant Human with the Tavern Brawler feat and asked me, if he could use improvised Weapons as monk weapons.

I personally haven’t played a monk, or the feat tavern brawler. Does anyone see this bringing an unfixable balancing problem to the table?

Would love more experienced people to hear why you would, or wouldn’t allow this and maybe solutions for balancing issues.

Thank you guys in advance!

Does the bonus damage from the Dueling fighting style apply when attacking with a shield as an improvised weapon, using the Tavern Brawler feat?

Does the bonus damage from the Dueling fighting style apply when attacking with a shield as an improvised weapon, using the Tavern Brawler feat?

The scenario I am trying to work out is as follows… A character grapples the bad guy with his free hand and then knocks him prone. The following round, could he then use his shield as an improvised weapon (assuming he has the Tavern Brawler feat if that changes things) and still claim the bonus damage from Dueling (i.e. 1d4+2, rather than just straight 1d4)? While it’s hardly broken for a DM to allow it, I’d rather know if it works with RAW.

The Dueling fighting style description is as follows:

When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon.

While a shield isn’t a melee weapon in general; “An improvised weapon is, indeed, a weapon, but only the moment it’s used as such.” as per Jeremy Crawford’s Twitter. Meaning at the moment of the attack, you are wielding a weapon in one hand in order to perform a melee weapon attack, but as per this post, it wouldn’t be considered a melee weapon.