Keep results with Strife if my teammates keep the Strife

I’ll be directing a game of L5R for the first time and I have some questions about Strife at L5R 5e (the one by Fantasy Flight Games). I might have missed the answers in the core rulebook as I’ve been reading it jumping from one page to another, but I haven’t found the answers there.

Can I keep results with Strife while I’m Compromised (page 30) if I’m using assistance and my budies take Strife for me (page 26)?

The text regarding being compromised tells (emphasis mine):

A compromised character’s vigilance attribute (see page 36) counts as 1. Additionally, when making a check, a Compromised character cannot keep dice containing strife symbols (to a potential minimum of 0 kept dice).

However, the text in Using Assistance reads:

During Step 3: Assemble and Roll Dice Pool, if a char-acter making a check receives assistance from one or more others, the character making the check rolls one additional skill dice per assisting character who has 1 or more ranks of the skill in use, and one additional ring dice per assist-ing character who has 0 ranks in the skill in use. Each player whose character assists must describe how they are helping, and the GM decides if they can contribute.

At the GM’s discretion, during Step 4: Modify Rolled Dice, up to one advantage from one assistingcharacter can be applied.

Then, during Step 5: Choose Kept Dice, a character making a check with assistance may keep up to 1 additional die per assisting character.

Finally, during Step 6: Resolve Symbols on Kept Dice, each assisting character may choose to suffer 1 strife to negate 1 strife symbol on the check.

By RAW and due to the order of steps, it seems that a Compromised character cannot keep any dice with Strife symbols, but the last paragraph tells that the symbol is negated while being resolved, not ignored. I understand the order being like that so nobody takes Strife negating an unkeeped dice, but if the Strife symbol gets negated, should it be possible to keep it if another person takes the penalty?

Handling a character who frequently pickpockets teammates

I am a DM for a small group. One of the players has a very sneaky dwarf from a criminal background and chaotic neutral alignment. The problem is he keeps pick pocketing his Elvish teammates, saying that he hates elves and how his criminal background means he did the same back home. He rolls very well, and his Elvish counterparts have low Wisdom (Perception). Since he is a dwarf, chaotic neutral and a criminal, it seems perfect.

He doesn’t steal much, just about 10 gold out of 1000 gold. But I don’t want this to continue because the players know that he has the gold but they can’t catch him without metagaming. How do I stop this?

Do teammates automatically resist (and break) illusions?

I’m a new GM running my first 5e campaign. Among others, the team of runners includes:

  • A Decker with augmented eyes that offer some excellent perception rolls

  • A Face who’s got some middling skill at casting illusions like physical mask, trid phantasm, and improved invisibility

On several occasions now, the Face has cast an illusion spell that was very convincing to the intended target, but which the Decker easily saw through. My (possibly poor!) understanding of the rules tells me that one person resisting the illusion breaks it for everyone. This is decidedly un-fun for the Face, so I’ve been running on a house rule that teammates aren’t required to resist his illusions unless they’re an intended target.

Even if I opt to keep that rule in place, I’d like to understand the official rules’ stance on the subject so I can identify any balance issues I might be introducing.