Can telekinetic haul be used to drop heavy objects on targets

I was watching an anime and a minor character attacks by lifting large objects and dropping or throwing them at people and wanted to replicate that in pathfinder I read here that the damage of the throw is determined by your blast damage unless you treat it like a throwing attack and the weight is limited to 5 pounds per 2 levels so that won’t help. But what if I instead used telekinetic haul to drop say a boulder on top of my enemies head. That’s gunna hurt a lot. The real question is if I can lift it vertically to a significant enough degree. If it’s something like a boulder even a foot above my targets head should be more than enough to deal more damage than a blast.

TLDR can telekinetic haul be used to drop objects on people’s heads.

Is this alternative to Telekinetic Throw balanced?

I’m in a game of D&D 4th Edition. While I am not the GM, an interesting situation came up. A player tried to use Telekinetic Grasp (Dark Sun Campaign power, pretty similar to Mage Hand) to attack by throwing/loosening a rock. This is the power in question:

With your mental strength, you can manipulate nearby objects.

At-Will Psionic Minor Action Ranged 5

Target: One object that weighs 20 pounds or less and isn’t carried by another creature Effect: You manipulate the target or move it 5 squares to a square within range.

20 pound is ~ 9 kg if google did not lie to me. When falling, a 20 pound rock does 1D6 damage per 40 ft (12 meters) of falling, up to 4D6.

Now the GM blocked this for the time being, claiming it was an abuse of the spell.

But the GM was interested in trying to allow it, after figuring out how to balance it. I have experience with multiple systems, so I thought I might give it a shot. I am looking for feedback on the balance of my solution.

I would start from “throwing a rock”. And if I would write it down as a power/combat ability, this is what I came up with:

Name: Improvised Telekinetic Throw

Repeatable: At-Will

Action: Standard Action. I think this is the way to balance this attack. Using your arms is a free action, yet using them to attack is still a Standard Action.

Tags: Weapon, Ranged Weapon Including this tag means Proficiency modifiers would apply.

Requirements: You must be able to use a power capable of picking up and throwing the weapon and usable in the same turn.

Opportunity Attacks: Telekinetic Grasp itself triggers a Opportunity Attack, being considered a Ranged Power. If not, I would have it trigger one because you are making a Ranged Attack. Again, using your arms or legs in general does not incur a Opportunity Attack, but what you do with them might.

Defense and Effect: As the item used. For a Rock (improvised throwing weapon), it would be “vs AC” and 1D4 damage. A lit torch would be 1D6 fire according to some sources. But basically every single weapon in the book – including alchemical weapons and those designed for throwing – could be propelled by this power, so I’m trying to keep it abstract.

Attack roll: The highest of Charisma, Wisdom or Intelligence. Normally ranged attacks are Dexterity, but it does not seem fitting here. The mental Attributes seem usually used for Psionic/Magic, excluding tanky builds.

Special:

  • the Origin point is the place from which you pick up the item. The range is 5/10 or what is normal for the item, whichever is less.
  • The first time you use it in any Encounter, you have Combat Advantage with this attack. (In particular useful as the Character is a Rogue. Stuff like using Bluff to Feint and Grant Combat Advantage or Distraction to hide works similarly once/Encounter)
  • It is difficult to aim with this attack, given that you are not aiming from your stand point, not using a hand and not a properly trained Class Power. You attack as if the target has Total Concealment but you know its position (-5 to attack Roll). No sense can negate that penalty.

Targeting issue:

Now that last part – the part where you act as if the target has total concealment – is what I think the solution is to “Abuse Magehand/Telekinesis to attack”. I lifted it from the HERO System: Since they are classified as “Targeting” or “Non-Targeting”. Non-Targeting sense can be used to find the Square to aim at. Targeting is used to actually make attacks unhindered. Normally only Sight is targeting, but you can sell back your sight to play Daredevil. At which point you buy another targeting sense. Or you might buy an additional targeting Sense, that is not covered by the Invisibility/Darkness. Also there are cases when sight’s targeting ability fails (Sight through Clairvoyance is not targeting, unless you bought this extra and the GM allows something as problematic as that).

Not standing at the origin point (and not a power designed for it). Not having a “targeting sense” to lock onto the enemy (and no power that takes care of such minor details). Aiming behind you through a mirror. Sounds similar enough for me in terms of difficulty as far as RPG rules would be concerned.

Porting that would be frustrating in D&D 3.X, as their Total concealment gives a infuriating 50% miss chance. I ran a combat with that once. But 4th Edition it is a direct -5 penalty. And in 5th Edition, it is Disadvantage. So it is a easy enough port.

So what do you guys think: Is this a halfway decent solution I came up with? What did others came up with for this issues, other then a stern “no” or something imbalanced?

Does the kineticist Telekinetic Weapon work with bonuses and enhancement from any weapon?

Does the kineticist Telekinetic Weapon work with bonuses and enhancement from any weapon?

The ability mentions…

When using a telekinetic blast with a magic weapon, apply any enhancement bonuses and weapon qualities of the weapon to your blast as if you had made a melee attack with that weapon.

So does this mean the kinetic blast dealt via kinetic blade or fist or as the ranged attack?

Example: I have a +1 Repeating Cross of Undead Bane Which method of Kinetic Blast attack do I use the weapons bonus with? Kinetic Blade, Blast, Fist or Whip

Does the combination of the Follow-up Shot infusion and Dual Kinetic Control utility wild talent with Telekinetic Blast use a total of 4 projectiles?

Does the combination of the Follow-up Shot infusion and Dual Kinetic Control utility wild talent with Telekinetic Blast use a total of 4 projectiles, and does the projectiles affect the same initial target or can target another creature?

Is the Kineticist’s Aether Utility Talent: Dual Telekinetic Control a multiple attack?

Is the Kineticist’s Aether Utility Talent: Dual Telekinetic Control a multiple attack?

Dual Telekinetic Control

Element(s): aether; Level: 1; Type: utility (Su); Burn

Prerequisite(s): telekinetic blast

You can use your telekinetic blast with two objects simultaneously. This has no effect on the blast’s damage, and their combined weight cannot exceed the normal weight limit for telekinetic blast. The objects must remain within the same space as one another for the duration of the blast, and if thrown, must be thrown at the same target.

And

Telekinetic Blast

Element(s): aether; Type: simple blast (Sp); Level: —; Burn 0 Blast Type: physical; Damage: bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing

You throw a nearby unattended object at a single foe as a ranged attack. The object must weigh no more than 5 pounds per kineticist level you possess. If the attack hits, the target and the thrown object each take the blast’s damage. Since the object is enfolded in strands of aether, even if you use this power on a magic weapon or other unusual object, the attack doesn’t use any of the magic weapon’s bonuses or effects; it simply deals your blast damage. Alternatively, you can loosen the strands of aether in order to deal damage to both the object and the target as though you had thrown the object yourself (instead of dealing your normal blast damage).

You substitute your Constitution modifier for your Strength modifier if throwing the object would have added your Strength modifier on the damage roll, and you don’t take the –4 penalty on the attack roll for throwing an object that wasn’t designed to be thrown. In this case, the object’s special effects apply (including effects from its materials), and if the object is a weapon, you must be proficient with it and able to wield it with one hand; otherwise, the item deals damage as a one-handed improvised weapon for a creature of your size.

If so….

1) Does mean one or separate attack roll for both projectiles?

2) Does both projectiles deal damage to the target or the first attack that hits?

3) Can it be used in tandem with Foe Throw Infusion?

Foe Throw

Element(s): aether; Type: infusion; Level: 3; Burn 2 Associated Blasts: telekinetic

Saving Throw: Fortitude negates; see text

Your telekinetic blast can throw a Large or smaller creature instead of an unattended object; you can increase the burn cost by 1 to affect a creature of a larger size. If the creature you attempt to throw succeeds at a Fortitude save, it negates the blast entirely.

Otherwise, if your blast hits, both the thrown creature and the target take the full amount of damage from your telekinetic blast, and the thrown creature falls prone in the last unoccupied space along its path. If your blast misses, the thrown creature can choose to occupy any space within 30 feet of the target, it doesn’t fall prone, and it takes half the normal amount of damage from your blast. The movement doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity.

Does a kineticist’s telekinetic blast literally means manually throwing a physical object?

Is a kineticist’s telekinetic blast literally means manually throwing a physical object?

Telekinetic Blast

Element(s) aether; Type simple blast (Sp); Level —; Burn 0 Blast Type: physical; Damage bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing

You throw a nearby unattended object at a single foe as a ranged attack. The object must weigh no more than 5 pounds per kineticist level you possess. If the attack hits, the target and the thrown object each take the blast’s damage. Since the object is enfolded in strands of aether, even if you use this power on a magic weapon or other unusual object, the attack doesn’t use any of the magic weapon’s bonuses or effects; it simply deals your blast damage. Alternatively, you can loosen the strands of aether in order to deal damage to both the object and the target as though you had thrown the object yourself (instead of dealing your normal blast damage).

You substitute your Constitution modifier for your Strength modifier if throwing the object would have added your Strength modifier on the damage roll, and you don’t take the –4 penalty on the attack roll for throwing an object that wasn’t designed to be thrown. In this case, the object’s special effects apply (including effects from its materials), and if the object is a weapon, you must be proficient with it and able to wield it with one hand; otherwise, the item deals damage as a one-handed improvised weapon for a creature of your size.

I always though it functions much like the Telekinesis spell using the Violent Thrust option.

Violent Thrust: Alternatively, the spell energy can be spent in a single round. You can hurl one object or creature per caster level (maximum 15) that are within range and all within 10 feet of each other toward any target within 10 feet per level of all the objects. You can hurl up to a total weight of 25 pounds per caster level (maximum 375 pounds at 15th level).

Does this Poltergeist’s Telekinetic Thrust give away its location?

The Monster Manual‘s entry for the Specter (p. 279) includes the Poltergeist variant, which has the Telekinetic Thrust action. The part I’m considering is (emphasis mine):

If the target is an object that isn’t being worn or carried, the poltergeist hurls it up to 30 feet in any direction. The poltergeist can use the object as a ranged weapon, attacking one creature along the object’s path (+4 to hit) and dealing 5 (2d4) bludgeoning damage on a hit.

From my reading, this should count as making an attack against a creature.

The rules on unseen attackers/targets include:

If you are hidden—both unseen and unheard—when you make an attack, you give away your location when the attack hits or misses.

So when using Telekinetic Thrust in this way, since it is an attack, it seems to me that the poltergeist would be giving away its location.

However, in the Curse of Strahd campaign, there is a poltergeist (minor CoS spoilers):

So what’s going on here?

  • Is the adventure wrong?
  • Is this a “specific beats general” case, that is, is this a special poltergeist?
  • Was I wrong in the assumptions I made about poltergeists and telekinetic thrust?