Does teleportation count as movement for a Tabaxi’s Feline Agility trait?

A Tabaxi, after using his Feline Agility trait to double his movement speed for a turn, must then move 0 feet on a subsequent turn in order for his trait to recharge.

If the Tabaxi teleports, does it count as movement for his trait? (If so, this means that the trait won’t recharge on that turn.)

Is a permanent teleportation circle only a destination, and not a point of departure?

The 5th-level spell teleportation circle says:

As you cast the spell, you draw a 10-foot-diameter circle on the ground inscribed with sigils that link your location to a permanent teleportation circle of your choice, whose sigil sequence you know and that is on the same plane of existence as you. A shimmering portal opens within the circle you drew and remains open until the end of your next turn.

[…]

You can create a permanent teleportation circle by casting this spell in the same location every day for one year. You need not use the circle to teleport when you cast the spell in this way.

The teleportation circle you draw seems to be a point of departure only when you cast it. When it’s a permanent teleportation circle, however, it doesn’t mention whether you can use it as a point of departure.

Can permanent teleportation circles only serve as destinations?

Is a teleportation circle’s shimmering portal always open?

There is some disagreement regarding the status of a shimmering portal for a permanent teleportation circle.

My understanding is that the permanent circle has a permanently open shimmering portal.

The contesting opinion is that circle still requires a wizard to use a spell slot to open a portal in the circle.

To me their interpretation defeats the purpose of a permanent circle.

If a random squirrel discovered a permanent teleportation circle, would they see an open portal that they could enter?

Can a teleportation spell to a false destination have no similar area?

I am struggling a bit to grasp the limits of the similar area definition in the description of the teleportation spell for D&D 5e.

The part I have a problem with is more specifically with the “area that’s visually or thematically similar to the target area”.

For example if the caster was in the elemental plane of fire and tried to teleport to some kind of Oasis that he would have been tricked into thinking exists on that plane what happens?

Does it get teleported to the closest lava pool with a shape somewhat similar to where it thought it was going? Does it get teleported to the water it has in its backpack or does the spell fails?

With the definition of the spell I would assume that if anything on the plane has some kind of link with the target area that the DM can think of, it should be allowed to be defined as a similar area, but some situations may have some really messed up link and I wonder if in extreme cases it isn’t more logical to have the spell to fail.

Can a permanent Teleportation Circle be made on a moving vehicle?

There is a similar question about this for 3.5e, but can a permanent teleportation circle be created on a large moving vehicle? For example, a sailing ship, or a wide portable floor?

The spell says:

You can create a permanent teleportation circle by casting this spell in the same location every day for one year. You need not use the circle to teleport when you cast the spell in this way.

To further illustrate the question, here are sub-questions:

  • What happens if I cast the spell on the vehicle for a year (and it is unmoving), and then the vehicle moves? Can it still be used as a destination point?

  • Can I create a permanent TC on the vehicle if it is never in the same place twice in the first place?

How does the mezzoloth’s teleportation work?

We fought a Mezzoloth (MM, p. 313) last game and in the same turn he could use its Teleport action and then attack, or use magic (like dispel magic) and then attack. As I understand from the Monster Manual, a monster acts like a player character, and I can’t see from the monster statblock how it could do both of those actions in the same turn (nothing is listed as a bonus action or whatever else).

Is this a correct interpretation of the mezzoloth’s teleportation ability?

Our DM said the teleport was part of his movement, but I can’t find any documentation about that. I myself want to start a D&D 5e game in the future, and I’m fairly curious about how to play monsters.

When a creature travels via a teleportation spell, what can it carry?

There are various teleportation spells in 5th Edition D&D. Most of them have language like “You teleport” or “This spell instantly transports you”.

Some, like Dimension Door, contain the following clause:

You can bring along Objects as long as their weight doesn’t exceed what you can carry.

For teleportation spells without such a clause, and therefore without such a clear definition of what creatures teleported with the spell can bring along (like Misty Step, Scatter, Teleport, Plane Shift, etc.), what exactly can teleported creatures take with them?

Examples of things a teleporting creature might want to take:

  • Clothes/armor
  • Weapons
  • Miscellaneous adventuring gear they usually carry
  • Treasure chests within their carrying capacity
  • Treasure chests not within their carrying capacity

Do Dimensional Shackles block all kinds of teleportation, or only extraplanar teleportation?

The following part of the description of Dimensional Shackles seems a bit ambiguous to me :

the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional movement, including teleportation or travel to a different plane of existence.

What gives me pause here is whether the “prevents… teleportation” is to be read as “prevents (only) teleportation to a different plane”, or “prevents (all kinds of) teleportation (, as well as travel to a different plane)”.

Which one is it ?

(I’m asking because a fellow DM said that teleportation would not be blocked if the shackles’ target wishes to teleport within the same plane)