If a creature is dropped on a monster, how much damage does each of them take?

If a character who was under the effect of a growth potion (double their height and eight times their weight) and weighed 2,400 lbs. was able to use Dimension Door to teleport 400 feet or more into the air, directly above a Huge-sized monster, and fell on it, how much damage would the falling creature – and the monster – take?

I would assume both would take the 20d6 max for the falling over 200 feet, but is there a estimation on additional damage for the falling creature’s size?

According to the splat calculator, at 500 feet you’d be falling at 196 km/hr, and it would expend 1.6 million joules of energy, the equivalent of over 3,000 mid-sized cars hitting an object at 60 km/hr.

A 2,400-lb. barbarian falling 500 feet is like dropping a mid-sized Toyota Corolla off a 50 story building onto a monster – it should do some damage.

Problem with displaying CSS Stylesheets – Am I adding them correctly in my wordpress child theme?

Is this a proper way to load CSS files into my WordPress child theme?

add_action( 'wp_enqueue_scripts', 'my_theme_enqueue_styles' ); add_action( 'wp_enqueue_scripts', 'case_studies_styles' ); add_action( 'wp_enqueue_scripts', 'about_styles' );  function my_theme_enqueue_styles() {     wp_enqueue_style( 'child-style', get_stylesheet_uri(),         array( 'parenthandle' ),          wp_get_theme()->get('Version') // this only works if you have Version in the style header     ); }  function case_studies_styles() {     wp_enqueue_style( 'child-casestudies', get_stylesheet_directory_uri() . '/casestudies.css', array(), rand()); }  function about_styles() {     wp_enqueue_style( 'child-about', get_stylesheet_directory_uri() . '/about.css', array(), rand()); } 

I’m asking because I’ve asked some people to try to load my site, and some of them don’t get the stylesheets at all and just get the blank HTML code.

Also, in the beginning of all CSS files, I have this beginning. Every CSS file has a different version (1.2,1.1,1.0)

/*  Theme Name:   GeneratePress Child  Theme URI:    https://generatepress.com  Description:  Default GeneratePress child theme  Template:     generatepress  Version:      1.2 */ 

Is Strahd able to know PC backstories without having to investigate them?

I have a group that just started Curse of Strahd. They’re one session in. I have a character that couldn’t make it first session, and I’m in the process of “writing him in” so he’s with the party for the second. He’s part of the writing-in process… we go back and forth with some emails with some RP decisions on his part, but I am pretty strongly guiding him to where the others are.

Anyway, quick backstory, his sister was captured by a cultist long ago, he tracked them down to some location in the woods — enter the creeping fog hook — he gets lost in the fog and pops out in Barovia. In a truly “against all odds” moment that only happens in movies, he stepped on a locket in the dirt that belonged to his sister. And he stands, emboldened, knowing the cultist and his sister are also trapped here in this mystical valley.

Enter my dilemma. I am fully willing to have it so that the cultist and his sister are truly here in Barovia somewhere. But, I am also considering making it so that this locket… and for that matter any other evidence he finds regarding their whereabouts here in Barovia up to and including the cultist and his sister… is an illusion. Or more accurately, a manifestation of his emotions/desires.

I’ve never run Strahd before, so I’m still working out the feel for the campaign and exactly how much power Strahd has in this demi-plane of his. There are places in the book where it says creepy stuff like “the character sees herself hanging from the gallows and when she touches it it turns to dust”. So there’s an element of your own self projecting the horror. Also Strahd has god-like abilities… hearing prayers not directed to him, showing up in some assassin mirror….

Does Strahd inherently know of this character’s past/desires (read: can I metagame the crap out of this)? Or does Strahd need to come by that information honestly?

Is there a resource anywhere that lists every spell and the classes that can use them?

There are now a number of resources that provide lists of spells, the PHB, Tashas Cauldron, XGTE etc. As well as spells that are included in specific adventure or campaign books.

There are also new classes that come with new spell rules, artificer is one.

Is there a single resource anywhere that lists all the spells currently published for 5th edition, the classes they can be used by and the level? I am not looking for the spell rules just an updated list as per the PHB that includes every published spell by class.

Or a list that lists out every spell and the classes that can use them.

If a reaction spell has material components, do I already need to be holding them to cast it?

Some spells that are cast with a reaction, such as Feather Fall, require material components. Suppose I am using a component pouch instead of a focus, but I’m not currently holding a small feather. If a trap door opens under the party, am I able to quickly reach for the feather in my pouch as part of the reaction to cast Feather Fall, or am I out of luck?

Obviously this is mostly a non-issue for a caster who uses a spellcasting focus instead of a component pouch, since they are pretty much always holding their focus, and I don’t think there are many (any?) reaction spells with costly or consumed material components.

Do the different wordings of the Great Weapon Fighting style printed in the PHB cause them to function differently?

I had a question about ‘Great Weapon Fighting’ as it applied to Paladins, which lead me here: Does Great Weapon Fighting apply to Superiority Die rolls? During my research. While the answer cleared up my original question, I have a follow up question.

First, my question: When rolling for Great Weapon Fighting style as a Paladin, does the differentiation detailed below mean I can continue to re-roll all 1’s and 2’s until I get a 3 or higher?

Secondly, the differentiation: I noticed there is a variance between the Great Weapon Fighting entry in the Fighter listing on PHB pg 72 :

When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can re-roll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2. The weapon must…

Emphasis on the differentiation from the entry, of the same Great Weapon Fighting style, found in the Paladin listing on PHB pg 84 :

When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll. [missing] The weapon must…

This particular entry is missing the crucial “even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2.” This particular entry says, you may reroll any 1’s or 2’s and must use the new roll period .

This is more than likely a typo, as some do exist in the version of the PHB I have when it first came out. If anyone has any errata/newer versions of the PHB and can see if the full entry exists under Paladin please let me know in comments or in your answer should you submit one.

Do weapon-based qualities always have to be used with the weapon that triggers them?

There are several qualities in the game that relate to specific weapon categories, most notably the "[weapon category] Fighter I-III" line. Some of these are pretty clear in that their benefits apply to only this weapon, such as Short Blade Fighter I adding Piercing 1 to the weapon or Polearm Fighter I stating "you can sweep your pole-arm". Others are pretty clear in that they don’t – Water Dancer I and II require points in Fencing, but grant passive benefits that are written to be universally active.

Some don’t mention anything of the sort, but can be argued to be self-evident. Spear Fighter I doesn’t mention spears at all, and by RAW probably could be used with any weapon, but I would be receptive to the argument that the quality is meant for use with spears only. The flavour text supports this.

Where I run into trouble is the qualities that require you to have a weapon equipped, but don’t explicitly require its use. If I look at Bravoosi Fighter III for example, it requires the character to have a fencing weapon equipped. However, imagine someone using a left-hand-dagger (a fencing weapon) in one hand and another one-handed weapon, maybe a battleaxe or longsword*, in the other. It could be well argued that the character is "armed" with a fencing weapon and thus fulfills the requirements to use this quality, but could make the counterattack with the other (more damaging) weapon. It’s not even implausible in terms of fencing, on the contrary, using one weapon to parry and the other to counter is perfectly sensible. Several other such qualities can lead to similar combinations.

I assume that the RAW here is just sloppily written, but do we have any source on what the RAI is and what are the balance considerations towards allowing or disallowing such combos?

*in the sense of an arming sword that the game calls a longsword.

How to make sure characters act accordingly when a spell that clouds judgement is cast on them?

If an NPC spellcaster, or any other magic source, magically clouds the judgement of a PC, how can I make sure the player acts according to the spells nature? Is there anyway to do this without seizing their character? My specific example is, in d&d-5e, if the spell Enemies Abound, which makes the target perceive all creatures as enemies, is cast on a player, how can I encourage them to choose targets indiscriminately? Would I have to control their PC, or could I allow them to remain in control?