How to guide my players into realizing they have multiple options available for an encounter?

For my next session with my PCs, I’m planning to have them witness an attack on an NPC that’s intended to hook them the adventure. The plan is for the party to encounter his daughter, who also has a target painted on her back. I want the players to be making choices throughout the adventure, whether to fight back during an encounter, or to hide, or to flee.

These players are new to RPGs, so I want make sure that they realize that attacking isn’t their only option. So far all we have run is a run of the mill dungeon run.

The initial encounter should guide the player’s expectations. I don’t want trying to rescue the man to seem like the only option but I don’t want it to seem like it’s not an option. How do I help my players realize that they have more than a single option available to them?

If a creature starts their turn in another’s space, are they forced to move out?

Inspired by this question: Can a Druid pull a target through other creatures with Thorn Whip?

That Q&A concludes that it is possible for two creatures to unwillingly share the same space; for example, one creature could be pulled by thorn whip into the space of another creature.

Once the thorn whip caster’s turn is over, when it is one of the other two creature’s turns (either the one who was pulled or the one’s whose space was invaded), they will of course start their turn in another creature’s space.

From the PHB, p. 191:

Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space.

Are they allowed to end their turn in the other creature’s space if they don’t use any movement, or must they move out of the space (if they can; i.e. they have movement)?


Related:

  • What happens when your movement is set to zero while attempting to move through a friendly space? (accepted answer seems to imply that they would have to move, but this is not supported and comments dispute that unsupported point; also, that question is about )
  • Does the rule that you cannot willingly end your move in another creature's space force or prevent certain actions? (not the same as my question as it talks about sharing space on the creature in question’s turn, whereas mine is about not moving on your turn to avoid this)

Since the caster of the Zone of Truth of spell knows whether a creature failed the save, can they use it to detect hidden/invisible creatures?

I’m DMing for a 5e party that includes a cleric, as many parties do. This cleric has found (what appears to be) an interpretation of the wording of the “Zone of Truth” spell that makes it even more powerful than it seems to be intended to be.

His idea is that since Zone of Truth tells you when a creature succeeds or fails the save, he could use it to detect if a hidden or invisible person enters the radius, as it would tell him that someone succeeded or failed the save.

Is this true? if not, is there any official example that specifically says it’s not true?

(And, if Zone of Truth WOULD do this, is there any way to prevent such a detection, as I know the party will do this a ton, and if it’s something they can do, I don’t want to deny it outright, but some villains may have countermeasures)

Was there a published adventure that dooms the party if they fail a knowledge check?

I’ve recently seen a very strong claim made about knowledge skills:

“If someone didn’t take Knowledge: Nobility and Royalty and they can’t identify hearldry, then you can wind up getting ****ed. This can actually happen in a published adventure by the way.”

It’s possible that this was only referring to a minor issue like not being able to progress a conversation, but was there ever a published adventure that locks the party in to a bad ending if they fail a check on an uncommon Knowledge skill (e.g. Knowledge: Nobility and Royalty)?

Can a Bard use Glyph of Warding even though they do not “prepare” spells? [duplicate]

Can a Bard use Glyph of Warding even though they do not “prepare” spells?

In looking at the reasonable boundaries of using Glyph of Warding in the game, I came across a dilemma in the wording of the spell when it comes to classes that do not have “prepared spells”, but have “known spells instead.

Glyph of Warding says that “you can store a prepared spell”, however this wording becomes an issue when interpreting whether a Bard can or cannot use this spell.

A bard does not per se “prepare” their spells. Yet, the spell is listed in the Bard Spells section in the Player’s Handbook (p.207). Hrumpf! It is listed as a Bard spell which normally suggest that it is intended to be used by a Bard as part of their magical repertoire, but the wording needs clarification.

So, for the purposes of interpreting the wording in Glyph of Warding, can we equate “prepared spell” with “known spell”, which would mean the Bard can actually use this spell?

Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or an area. The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it targets the creature that triggered the glyph. If the spell affects an area, the area is centered on that creature. If the spell summons hostile creatures or creates harmful objects or traps, they appear as close as possible to the intruder and attack it. If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration. (PHB p.245)

Special thanks to BBeast for kindly mentioning this issue in his answer to: Can you store Hex in a Glyph of Warding?

when connecting to someones wifi without using it, can they see search history from the past? Please answer it’s important for my work

We visited a friend who’s working as a programmer, And he told me to connect my phone to his wifi so he could send me a picture, however he didn’t send it and I left my phone connected to his wifi for an hour without using it. He caused me a lot of problems in the past but we forgot about it.

I really suspect what happened and I wanna ask you of he can see my search history, notes, pictures, messages, passwords? Or install a spyware in my phone? Just via wifi even if i didn’t use it to open anything?

Please answer my work depends on this.

Can a druid who has pre-cast Alter Self change the appearance of a creature they Wild Shape into?

As title suggests, I’m wondering about the flexibility of alter self.

If a druid has alter self active and Wild Shapes into a goat, could they use the change appearance option of alter self to look like a sheep instead? What about a Medium cow?

What about if they Wild Shape into a giant spider, then alter self into an octopus?

I’m aware they wouldn’t get any stat changes for any of these appearance changes.

Since I suspect this will be up to DM interpretation, a good answer may include the designer’s intent in their answer, in an attempt to address my more specific questions in the question body.

The change appearance option is as follows:

Change Appearance. You transform your appearance. You decide what you look like, including your height, weight, facial features, sound of your voice, hair length, coloration, and distinguishing characteristics, if any. You can make yourself appear as a member of another race, though none of your statistics change. You also can’t appear as a creature of a different size than you, and your basic shape stays the same; if you’re bipedal, you can’t use this spell to become quadrupedal, for instance. At any time for the duration of the spell, you can use your action to change your appearance in this way again.

If a character casts Fog Cloud around themselves before moving away from an enemy, do they provoke an opportunity attack?

Our party was forced to brawl against a group of orcs in order to gain their respect to speak with their chieftain (long story, we had very good reason for doing this). It then became a battle royale.

Our wizard was at low health and next to our paladin, and had the idea to cast fog cloud to capture himself and the paladin within it so he could leave combat. He cast the spell, and then came down to the debate of whether the paladin would get an opportunity attack even though she was blinded.

The wizard was in threat range, but does an effect that causes an area to become heavily obscured cause the Paladin to lose threat range and the wizard be able to successfully flee to another area of the ring?

Or does the paladin still have threat range and attack the wizard, even with fog cloud covering both of them?

I looked over the rules for 15 minutes after this situation, but nothing came up. It was ruled in-game that it was fine to make an opportunity attack with disadvantage, but that just doesn’t feel right. She might have heard the wizard stepping away, but the fog cloud was already in place. By the D&D rules, would the paladin have been able to make the opportunity attack or not?

Can the Actor feat allow a character to effectively speak a language they don’t know?

I have a player in my game I’ll call “Joe” running a Bard I’ll call “Hansel.”

Hansel has the Actor feat, and does not speak Orc. Hansel listened to an Orc for 1 minute a few adventures ago, a 2nd PC taught Hansel one short Orc phrase, and I allowed Hansel to repeat the new phrase, in Orc, mimicking the voice of the Orc Hansel had just listened to.

Joe has recently expanded this to insist that if the 2nd character now says several Orc phrases over the course of a minute, Hansel can repeat each phrase at will, mimicking the voice of that Orc. Joe believes that Hansel can also rearrange the words to create new phrases, on the fly in conversation with Orcs – and that this can also fool any Orc into thinking it is an Orc from their own War Band, so long as there is a door there to muffle the sound.

Joe claims that anything short of meeting this demand undermines the entire usefulness of the Actor feat, and therefore robs his character of 4 levels worth of adventuring.

Can the Actor feat allow a character to effectively speak a language they don’t know?

I think Hansel could mimic a specific Orc’s voice, after 60 sequential seconds of listening to it speak consistently (though not necessarily persistently), but only using languages Hansel already knows.