When casting a spell through the Wildfire Druid’s Enhanced Bond feature, does the Druid need a clear path to the target?

Enhanced Bond (UA: Cleric, Druid and Wizard, p. 3:

…In addition, when you cast a spell with a range other than self, the spell can originate from you or your wildfire spirit.

PHB p. 204:

To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can’t be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can’t see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.

Since the spell can originate from your Wildfire Spirit, whose senses would you use when casting a spell and having it originate from your Wildfire Spirit?

Would you require a clear path to the target from yourself or from the Wildfire Spirit?

Have PCs Historically Played Through More Campaigns Than is Currently Typical?

I’m relatively new to D&D, only having tabletop experience with 5e and a bit of 3.5, along with some scattered exposure to earlier editions through video games.

I’ve heard references to characters adventuring through multiple campaigns, sometimes a large number of them. But as I look through the published campaigns for 5e I see a lot of suggested level references which suggest that a character might properly fit up to two adventures. For example, the introduction to Descent into Avernus expects PCs to start at level 1 and be at least level 13 by the end.

Of course different editions have very different properties that touch on this– 3.5 had a lot of postgame content published specifically to take characters beyond the “maximum” level (whether they were good mechanics or not), while 5e doesn’t (as far as I’m aware). And published adventures are hardly the core of all D&D games played across all tables. But the basic 5e approach, and the adventures published for it, suggests to me that a PC might only see 2-3 non-oneshot adventures at most.

It’s not a problem (there are any number of ways to fiddle with adventure length and character progression) but I’m curious about whether or not the game has changed in this respect.

Has D&D always had this structure of relatively few adventures/campaigns per character (as either a game design element or by popular play style), or did a transition take place at some point? If there was a transition, when did it take place and what was the motivation?

(A valid answer can also be that I’m using terms like adventure and campaign imprecisely)

Perception checks through a familiar’s eyes

If I cast the find familiar spell and summon a familiar, then I can look through my familiar’s eyes, hear through its ears, and communicate with it telepathically. (It is not a blind or deaf creature. If the question of whether it can understand my thoughts is an issue, then assume I am a warlock and my familiar is an imp.)

I tell the familiar to stop for a moment so I can make an active effort to concentrate on what I see and hear. Therefore, I roll a Perception check.

Do I roll it with the familiar’s perception modifier, or my own modifier? Or one roll for me and one roll for the familiar?

Does Mind Blast work through barriers (e.g. walls)?

I’m specifically looking at the elder brain’s mind blast. Based on the line of effect rules for spells, I would say no… But it’s not a spell really. Based on logic, I would say yes, because psychic attacks wouldn’t be affected by physical barriers (unless we’re assuming it’s creating a physical force with its mind?). Any thoughts?

Does the Arcane Archer’s Piercing Arrow pass through Walls of Force and Forcecages?

The following is within the scope of Dnd Adventurers League play.

The Arcane Archer martial archetype of Xanathar’s Guide to Everything alllows you to select the “Piercing Arrow” Arcane Shot option :

You use transmutation magic to give your arrow an ethereal quality. When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, the arrow shoots forward in a line, which is 1 foot wide and 30 feet long, before disappearing. The arrow passes harmlessly through objects, ignoring cover. Each creature in that line must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 piercing damage. On a successful save, a target takes half as much damage.

The Forcecage spell (box option) says :

[…] A prison in the shape of a box can be up to 10 feet on a side, creating a solid barrier that prevents any matter from passing through it and blocking any spells cast into or out from the area. […] The cage also extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel.

The Wall of Force spell says :

Nothing can physically pass through the wall. The wall extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel through the wall.

Does the Arcane Archer’s Piercing Arrow pass through Walls of Force and Forcecages (box option) ?

It seems to be a situation in the likes of “unstoppable force meeting unmovable obstacle”. It says it ignores cover, which those 2 spells provide, but its flavor text mentions an ethereal quality, which may or may not be relevant (since the spells normally block ethereal travel). I don’t know if the right answer is “it works”, “it doesn’t work”, or “DM Discretion”.

If an arrow passes through an illusionary wall of fire created by the Major Image spell, does it reveal it as an illusion?

The Major Image spell description says:

You create the image of an object, a creature, or some other visible phenomenon that is no larger than a 20-foot cube. The image appears at a spot that you can see within range and lasts for the duration. It seems completely real, including sounds, smells, and temperature appropriate to the thing depicted. You can’t create sufficient heat or cold to cause damage, a sound loud enough to deal thunder damage or deafen a creature, or a smell that might sicken a creature (like a troglodyte’s stench).

[…]

Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it. A creature that uses its action to examine the image can determine that it is an illusion with a successful Intelligence (Investigation) check against your spell save DC. If a creature discerns the illusion for what it is, the creature can see through the image, and its other sensory qualities become faint to the creature.

One of my players wants to cast this as a Wall of Fire. He asked me what would happen if an enemy shoots through it.

As noted in the bolded sentence, physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion.

Arrows have no problem with getting through a normal Wall of Fire. Would this reveal the illusion?

Can a Huge (or larger) creature move through the Watery Sphere spell?

The watery sphere spell description says:

On a successful save, a creature is ejected from that space to the nearest unoccupied space of the creature’s choice outside the sphere. A Huge or larger creature succeeds on the saving throw automatically, […]

Every time a Huge creature would attempt to go through the sphere – it will automatically make a successful save against the effect, and so will be moved back in unoccupied square?

Imagine a straight corridor 15 feet wide, and a Huge creature tried to go through it, but the path is blocked by watery sphere. Does this mean that a Huge creature cannot go through watery sphere at all?

Can Hypnotic Gaze be used through Resilient Sphere?

Can the Enchantment Wizard’s level 2 ability Hypnotic Gaze be used through a Resilient Sphere?

The ability seems to only required the Wizard to see the target, and the target to see or hear the Wizard:

… choose one creature that you can see within 5 feet of you. If the target can see or hear you…

I assume Resilient Sphere doesn’t block vision or sound, but it definitely obstructs the path from the Wizard to the target. In addition, it is written that

Nothing, not physical Objects, energy, or other spell Effects, can pass through the barrier

So, does the Hypnotic Gaze go through the Sphere or not?

Tunneling through multiple OpenVPN tunnels on Qubes OS

I’m trying to run all internet traffics through two VPN tunnels, one inside over the other. The setup I want is this:

|--------------|     |---------------|     |---------------| |  My Machine  |-----|  VPN Server A |     | VPN Server B  | |              |===========================|               |---> internet |              |-----|               |     |               | |--------------|     |---------------|     |---------------| 

Server A is any VPN server from Provider 1, and Server B is any VPN Server from Provider 2.

Note that Server A is not a client to Server B. Instead I want my machine to be a client to both Server A and Server B, with all internet-bound traffic routed to Server A then Server B. I will always connect to Server B through Server A, and I will never connect to Server B without connecting to Server A first.

I can’t make any changes to the server’s configuration. Only on my machine.

Can you get infinite spells through True Polymorph and Shapechange

So, let’s say you’re a level 17+ Wizard and you cast True Polymorph on yourself to turn yourself into a CR 17 Adult Gold Dragon. This grants you the stat block of said Adult Gold Dragon, granting you the statblock of said Gold Dragon, including its Shapechange ability, allowing it to assume the form of “a humanoid or beast with a Challenge Rating no higher than its own”. It uses this ability to turn into a CR 12 Archmage, which has the Spellcasting feature, allowing it to cast spells using as an 18th level spellcaster, using its intelligence score.

Once they expend a number of spell slots from its new form, it proceeds to use its new 9th-level spell slot to cast True Polymorph on itself again, turning into a brand new Adult Gold Dragon form, and then using Shapechange to turn into a brand new Archmage form, and then repeats this process to gain an infinite number of spell slots.

Is there anything that prevents this from working? I know that True Polymorph is a Concentration spell, so the first True Polymorph would end when they cast the second one, I don’t think they lose the spell they’re Concentrating on if they lose the Spellcasting feature that gave them the slot in the first place? 5e doesn’t have any hidden rules, and there doesn’t seem to be anything about it working that way in the Spellcasting chapter of the PHB – and if it did work that way, wouldn’t it break Polymorph spells in general, since they lose their Spellcasting class feature while Polymorphed?

Obviously the chain gets broken if they fail a Concentration saving throw, but they’d get the Adult Gold Dragon’s Legendary Resistance to help them out, there – and it’d get reset every time they True Polymorph themselves, too.