For command, it states, "The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or follow the command on its next turn" without any context to how high the target needs to roll for it to succeed. What does the target need to roll to succeed that saving throw? Is the number specific for command or is it the same for all spells like this? I’d like to get all the info I can for this.
The description of the Calm emotions spell says:
You attempt to suppress strong emotions in a group of people. Each humanoid in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on a point you choose within range must make a Charisma saving throw; a creature can choose to fail this saving throw if it wishes.
If a player controlled by Dominate Monster is asked to kill his allies, could he willingly fail the saving throw since he view them as ennemies and calm emotion could be "dangerous" for him?
The Sickening Radiance spell says:
When a creature moves into the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, that creature must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 4d10 radiant damage, and it suffers one level of exhaustion and emits a dim, greenish light in a 5-foot radius.
The grammar and punctuation here makes me wonder: do the level of exhaustion and greenish light happen regardless of the result of the saving throw, just like how some spells still deal half damage when you succeed on the save?
I suspect they do. Otherwise it should have been written "…must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 4d10 radiant damage, suffer one level of exhaustion, and emit a dim, greenish light…"
I’ve been looking into the warlocks Pact of the Chain, which states that your allowed to pick from the normal familiars as well as a select few Warlock-Only familiars, including the Sprite.
When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite.
Then invocation Investment of the Chain Master states that:
If the familiar forces a creature to make a saving throw, it uses your spell save DC.
And the Sprite has a Shortbow attack that forces a creature to make a saving throw:
Shortbow. Ranged Weapon Attack: +6 to hit, range 40/160 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage, and the target must succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw or become poisoned for 1 minute. If its saving throw result is 5 or lower, the poisoned target falls unconscious for the same duration, or until it takes damage or another creature takes an action to shake it awake.
From what I gather that means that the initial save for the poison should use the players save DC? So for a lvl 7 character with 20 charisma, that would be a save of 16?
Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Spellcasting modifier
However the second part of the Shortbow attack states that:
If its saving throw result is 5 or lower, the poisoned target falls unconscious for the same duration
What does "saving throw result is 5 or lower" mean? Would that be the rolled number for the save + the save modifier?
saving throw result = save dice roll + save score modifier
Or would it be the resulting rest from removing the spell save DC from the rolled total?
saving throw result = Spell save DC – (save dice roll + save score modifier)
I haven’t seen the phrase "saving throw result" referring to a number before, usually it just refers to "did the creature roll over or under the spell save DC? Yes or No."
This came up in a game I was running yesterday.
Two devils (Bearded and Horned) in 5e have weapons that deliver "infernal wounds", which are basically bleed effects. The creatures can be found in the Monster Manual, pgs. 70 and 74, respectively, or here and here.
For convenience, here’s the full text of the ability (Bearded Devil version, bold emphasis mine):
If the target is a creature other than an undead or a construct, it must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw or lose 5 (1d10) hit points at the start of each of its turns due to an infernal wound. Each time the devil hits the wounded target with this attack, the damage dealt by the wound increases by 5 (1d10). Any creature can take an action to stanch the wound with a successful DC 12 Wisdom (Medicine) check. The wound also closes if the target receives magical healing.
The Horned Devil version coincides word for word with this one, except that the wound damage is 10 (3d6) instead of 5 (1d10) and the Saving Throw DC is 17.
That said, me and my players disagreed over what was the correct interpretation of this rule, namely as to when the save should happen. There are two possible interpretations and both seem grammatically correct:
- If the attack hits, the target is wounded, no save rolled. At the start of each of its following turns, the target rolls a Con Save, taking damage only on failures.
- If the attack hits, the target rolls a Con Save. On a failure, it is wounded and will take damage on the start of each of its following turns, no save rolled.
Is there any official ruling on what is the correct interpretation?
I’m fairly new to D&D and I wanted to run a session with some friends. I’ve been doing a lot of research but can’t seem to find an answer to this question. I understand how the mechanic works, three successes or rolling a 20 being stabilized and the opposite being death. However what I want to know is what would be considered a success? Is this up to the DM or is there a guide? I would assume anything above 10 would be a success and anything below would be a failure but I’d like clarity.
Do characters know if someone else, who they can see, has failed a saving throw?
In particular, let’s consider the following cases:
- a caster has cast a spell, that requires a saving throw, and that doesn’t require concentration, on an enemy (not a damaging spell, let’s consider the spell Command for example), at the moment of the cast, since this information can influence the strategy of the caster before the command is eventually executed;
- an ally is making a death saving throw, this can influence the priorities of the allied of that character.
The Investment of the Chain Master Eldritch Invocation states:
[…] When you cast find familiar, you infuse the summoned familiar with a measure of your eldritch power, granting the creature the following benefits: […]
[…] * If the familiar forces a creature to make a saving throw, it uses your spell save DC. […]
My question is, if the warlock has a Rod of the Pact Keeper, or Wand of the War Mage or something else which raises their saving throw DC, does the familiar inherit this when it triggers a saving throw? For example: If I had a DC 14 save with no gear and a DC 15 save with my +1 magic item, would the familiar use a 14 or a 15 for its save DC?
In an unsurprising turn of events the wording on the Echo Knight’s wording continues to cause confusion.
The description of the Echo states the following:
If [the Echo] has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll.
The overwhelming consensus is that the Echo Knight’s Echo is not a creature, as it is simply "an image". Every spell or ability that requires a saving throw, as far as I know, targets creatures. Take for example, the spell Fireball.
Each creature in a 20-foot radius Sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
The Echo is not a creature, therefore it can never take damage from Fireball. Are there any saving throws that the Echo can actually fail?
After reviewing the wording on several monster abilities and spells I’m left scratching my head as to whether a character set on destroying an Echo really has any options besides simply hitting it via the attack action.
In Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything pg.119 it’s presented a magic item called All-Purpose Tool, which has the following text in it’s description:
[…] While holding this tool, you gain a bonuss to the spell attack rolls and the saving throw DCs of your artificer spells. The bonus is determined by the tool’s rarity.
When it states that you need to hold the tool to gain this benefit, does this also imply that I need to use it as my spellcasting focus as well? Or can I just hold it with one hand and use the other hand to hold another spellcasting focus and still gain this benefit?