How much damage for throwing rocks?

This question applies to either OSRIC or to AD&D 1st Ed.

The scenario:

A human fighter with strength of 17 has selected “grenade-like weapons” as one of his weapon proficiencies. He carries a small bag with half a dozen mostly spherical baseball sized rocks for throwing at enemies.

He throws a rock at an ogre and scores a hit (not a critical hit or anything, just a normal hit).

How should the damage be calculated?

throwing a halfling at an enemy

I am playing as a 2ft 6in halfling bard college of swords. I want to have a goliath barbarian in our party throw me at an enemy with my dual scimitars drawn. I believe this can be done. I asked my dm, who wasn’t sure but was willing to let me do some research and math to find out whether or not it will work. So my question is Can a goliath barbarian throw a 45lbs halfling into the air to attack and enemy?

How should I handle a Poltergeist throwing a PC into another?

I wanted to include a Poltergeist in one of my encounters but I’m not entirely sure how to handle one thing in its stat block.

The Poltergeist can use its Telekinetic Thrust ability to toss a creature up to 30 feet, and that creature takes 1d6 damage per 10 feet moved if it hits a "hard surface or heavy object". It also says it can hurl objects at creatures and they take 2d4 damage on hit. The text is below:

Telekinetic Thrust. The poltergeist targets a creature or unattended object within 30 feet of it. A creature must be Medium or smaller to be affected by this magic, and an object can weigh up to 150 pounds.

If the target is a creature, the poltergeist makes a Charisma check contested by the target’s Strength check. If the poltergeist wins the contest, the poltergeist hurls the target up to 30 feet in any direction, including upward. If the target then comes into contact with a hard surface or heavy object, the target takes 1d6 damage per 10 feet moved.

If the target is an object that isn’t being worn or carried, the poltergeist hurls it up to 30 feet in any direction. The poltergeist can use the object as a ranged weapon, attacking one creature along the object’s path (+4 to hit) and dealing 5 (2d4) bludgeoning damage on a hit.

The Monster Manual reads that the Poltergeist is more driven by rage than anything else, and I was planning on playing it as blindly attacking the party by flinging objects at them or pushing them away. That said, it seems at least possible that it could throw one PC into another. How should I rule this? Should only the tossed creature take damage? The PC that was hit? Both?

Throwing Shield Shenanigans

A player in my group is interested in making a offensive shield build. They found that if you get a quickdraw shield and modify it with the throwing shield property, that you can don it, and throw it all as a free action. Then, if they put it on a blink back belt, then it returns to their belt immediately after the attack is resolved.

Thankfully there is a rule that states you can only perform a reasonable number of free actions per turn… In this case… How many shield tosses would be a "reasonable" [mechanically balanced] amount?

Dropping a Throwing Weapon & Range Increment

If you drop a throwing weapon from a height onto an enemy, does that incur range increment penalty, and if so, how much? I am asking, because a question in our group came up whether gravity or higher ground rules apply to "Throwing" a weapon downward, but we could not find anything.

For instance: My Paladin Sir Isaac, is standing on a bridge, and there is a goblin below him, 60 ft. He attempts to drops an alchemist flash on top of the Goblin’s head.

Can you hit an unlocated target by throwing a weapon at it after casting True Strike and Guided Shot?

I’ve recently been discussing a combo found in this chapter of Harry Potter and the Natural 20. If needed, ctrl+f for “I am not walking in that” for the start of the encounter. The relevant part is quite short, damn good, near the end of the chapter, and does not overflow in to the next chapter. As I understand it, the situation is as follows:

  • Milo, our protagonist, is being hit by ranged magical attacks from an unknown location.
  • There is a blizzard, presumably giving the enemy concealment.
  • Because Milo does not know where the enemy is, he can’t target it with magical attacks.
  • To counter this, he casts True Strike, following by Guided Shot (swift action – Complete Adventurer, I believe) and throws his dagger “in a completely random direction”.
  • His plan is to find his target by using another divination to locate the dagger after it has hit, but that’s not relevant to my question.

My question is this. To my understanding, Milo has the following benefits before throwing the dagger:

  • A +20 insight bonus to his attack role
  • He is not affected by the miss chance that applies to attackers trying to strike a concealed target
  • His ranged attack suffers no penalty due to distance, but he still can’t exceed his max range
  • His ranged attack ignores the AC bonus granted to targets by anything less than total cover.

However, as great as all of these are, are they enough to actually allow you to attempt to attack such a target? The rules have precedent for attacking targets that you can’t see but can approximately locate (e.g. the rules for Invisibility), but in this case we only have the vaguest idea of where the target is.

Do you add the proficiency bonus when throwing a pebble from the Magic Stone cantrip?

Would you add your proficiency bonus to a pebble from the magic stone cantrip? The spell description says nothing about it.

The magic stone spell description states (EEPC, p. 20; XGtE, p. 160):

You touch one to three pebbles and imbue them with magic. You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet. If someone else attacks with the pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attacker’s, to the attack roll. On a hit, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 1d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier. Hit or miss, the spell then ends on the stone. If you cast this spell again, the spell ends early on any pebbles still affected by it.

Would this be considered an improvised weapon that wouldn’t get the proficiency bonus added to the attack?