Two people who DM for me say that the Hunter Conclave Ranger’s Volley, gained at 11th level, can’t be used with thrown weapons, since they don’t have ammunition. Can’t it be done? Can’t you just count the number of throwing weapons you have as the ammunition?
The monk’s martial arts ability states:
Your practice of Martial Arts gives you mastery of Combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk Weapons, which are shortswords and any simple Melee Weapons that don’t have the Two-Handed or heavy property.
I am specifically asking about a shortsword, which is a monk weapon by definition, but this question could apply to any monk weapon that does not have the thrown property.
The monk’s martial arts ability also states:
You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk Weapons and you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a Shield… • You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your Unarmed Strike or monk weapon.
I would be more comfortable if this said "You can roll the Martial Arts Damage Die shown in the Monk Level / Ability Progression Table" rather than "you can roll a d4", but the other questions I looked at in researching this took that as an assumption and no one challenged them, so…
The rules for using an improvised weapon state…
If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee Attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage.
Consider a monk wielding a shortsword and fitting all other requirements for using the martial arts ability.
The shortsword is a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property and has a base damage of d6.
If the monk throws the shortsword it would become an improvised weapon, and thus normally would deal d4 damage. However, in this case does specific beat general and allow the monk to replace the "normal damage" of an improvised weapon with the martial arts die damage, which would be d6 at 5th level?
Or, does the fact that the monk is throwing the shortsword as an improvised weapon disqualify it from being considered a monk weapon, in the same way that one cannot use proficiency for an improvised weapon attack because throwing a melee weapon without the thrown property is no longer a weapon with which one is proficient?
This question: Does Martial Arts Damage Apply to Ranged Attacks with Monk Weapons? affirms that monks get their martial arts die damage on ranged weapons, but the question only considers melee weapons that already possess the ranged property, not improvised weapons.
This question: Does using versatile weapons with 2 hands disqualify them as Monk weapons? affirms that monks get to use their martial arts feature on all monk weapons, even when they use them in ways that would disqualify them from being monk weapons (in this case, using a versatile weapon two-handed).
Somewhat related: Does a Monk's Martial Arts die replace all of a magic weapon's damage, or only the die portion of it?
I’m playing D&D 5e and my character is a dwarf fighter. He has two throwable handaxes, and I thought it would be really cool if they could come back to me just after throwing them on someone (like Thor do with Mjolnir). That could be either a boomerang-ish move or some magic (enchantment).
Is there a way to make this possible?
I’m just starting the game as a 1st level character and planning for the future.
Patty the Chatty Monk throws her handaxe to a growling wolf. It hits!
So… what happens?
This question is asked for the intent of further understanding the Object Interaction rule and also to add flavor to combat encounters. What happens to a thrown weapon after it is used?
On a hit: does it fall to the ground near the target’s feet? Does it impale/latch/stick to the target? What about armored targets?
On a miss: does it land on the ground near the target’s feet? Or does it travel the maximum distance (assuming there’s nothing blocking its path) in a straight direction before landing? Can it accidentally hit a different target?
In any case, can anyone pick it up and use it again?
As the title states, I have a question about how the rules handle using the Extra Attack class feature to make two separate attacks with a two-handed weapon and a thrown weapon.
PHB Errata. Two-Handed (p. 147). This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it.
PHB Page 190. You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
Not official rule, but this developer Tweet says:
@DnDMontreal [Apr 4, 2015]:
@JeremyECrawford what are the rules on dropping weapons? People are dropping weapons to circumvent only having one ‘Interaction with Object’
@JeremyECrawford [3:20 PM · Apr 4, 2015]:
@DnDMontreal The intent is that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort. But picking it up does.
So, my question is, can I perform this sequence of events during my turn?
- Start turn with Halberd in both hands
- Let go of Halberd with one hand (either letting the pole arm hang mid-air in one hand, or propping it up with the butt-end on the ground) using “free action”
- Draw Javelin from storage, throw said Javelin at one target out of melee range
- Replace second hand onto halberd to attack second target that IS within melee range
- Use Bonus Action to do whatever I want (including possibly butt-end attack with Halberd from Polearm Master feat)
This comes up as a result of looking at a handful of other questions, and finding them all not quite capturing my own question:
- Holding a longbow (or other 2H weapon) and attacking with a shortsword (or other 1H weapon)?
- This question is only concerned about using one weapon while holding the other and has nothing to do with multiple attacks as main action. It also served as a good baseline for formatting my question 🙂
- Can you draw and or throw a javelin on one or more successive turns while still using a 2-handed weapon for opportunity attacks?
- This question focuses on the reactions you can make with a polearm, which are also relevant options my character would want to have available. It has the parts of shifting weapon to one hand and back to two hands, but nothing of multiple attacks.
- Can you drop one hand from a two-handed weapon to draw and use a single-handed weapon next turn?
- This is only one small part of my question. It is also how I found the Sage Advice.
- Can you attack with more than one weapon when using Extra Attack?
- This answered part of my question as well. I especially love the example given in Dale M’s answer
- Can you attack with different weapons using Extra Attack?
- Finally this question also answered part of my question as well.
I apologize for the wall of text, but based on this research, my reading is that the above scenario is allowed per RAW (and a little RAI doesn’t hurt my case). I just want confirmation from the larger community to make sure that I got it right for when I present it to my DM and fellow players.
I have this idea of a hybrid Fighter|Invoker, using Cleave and Deft Hurler to throw Divine Bolts. Deft Hurler (Dr 368) lets you use a ranged basic attack after Cleave:
Cleave: You can forgo dealing damage to the adjacent enemy to instead make a ranged basic attack with a heavy thrown weapon against one creature other than the target of your cleave. This ranged basic attack does not provoke opportunity attacks.
RAW, implement powers used with weapon implements still count as “with a weapon”.
Power of Skill (DP) turns Divine Bolts into a basic attack:
You can use any power you have that is associated with this feat as a basic attack. (Divine Bolts is listed)
Now I just need a heavy thrown weapon with the highest damage that is usable as an implement by an Invoker.
Bonus points if it is possible without a multiclass feat, as I want to use Seeker MC in paragon to get Primal Eye.
If it matters:
Str 17, Con 12, Dex 13, Int 8, Wis 16, Cha 8
Goliath (but any Str/Wis race will do)
On Weapon Categories says, “A melee weapon with the heavy thrown or the light thrown property counts as a ranged weapon when thrown” (Player’s Handbook 215). (Similar text is absent from the Rules Compendium, but I’m not familiar enough with 4e to know if this absence is an issue.)
With this in mind, if a character who has proficiency with military melee weapons but lacks proficiency with military ranged weapons throws a handaxe—a military weapon—, does the character still receive his proficiency bonus on the attack roll?
That is, when a military melee weapon is thrown does the military melee weapon remain a melee military weapon therefore the character above gains his proficiency bonus with it? Or does the thrown military melee weapon now count as a military ranged weapon therefore the character above does not gain his proficiency bonus with it? Or is this even more—or less!—complex than I’m imagining?
Note: My level 3 battlemind who has Strength 10, Dexterity 12, proficiency with simple and military ranged weapons, and proficiency only with simple ranged weapons will still normally make his ranged basic attacks with daggers—preferring accuracy to damage—, but I want to assess my future options just in case. Also, I know I’m late to the party, and I apologize if this is a topic that’s already been discussed to death elsewhere.
I’ve got a logitech g502 (wired) which has been freezing on occasion. It’s currently plugged into a usb hub, and this problem does not occur when plugged directly into the computer.
The solution to my problem was easy enough, but I was curious to figure out what actually caused my mouse to act up, and why it would be solved this way.
So I booted up WireShark and saw that every time my mouse froze, it threw a urb_function_abort_pipe URB. Could someone tell me why this would happen, why it would only occur via a usb hub, and how you could stop it?
The wizard is chased through the woods by a bandit. The bandit is 50 feet behind the wizard and continuously throws javelins at him. The wizard then readies a Catapult spell. The trigger is “after the bandit releases the next javelin”. Of course, the bandit throws another javelin.
Now comes the strange part … do I really have to roll for the bandits attack? Because it seems to me, that no matter if the bandit would hit or miss, the Catapult spell will pluck the javelin from the air and hurl it right back at the bandit.
The trigger is perceivable. The reaction (= casting the Catapult spell) occurs after the trigger (but before the javelin hits?). And the javelin seems to be a valid target for the Catapult spell: its weight is between 1 and 5 pounds, and at the moment when the spell is actually cast, it is neither worn, nor carried.
My players like it, I’m not a fan.
Does this work RAW? Is this an intended use of the Catapult spell?
One of the posible wild surges from the playtest barbarian Wild Soul subclass:
Shadows weave around a weapon of your choice you are holding. Until your rage ends, your weapon deals psychic damage instead of its bludgeoning, slashing, or piercing damage, and it gains the light and thrown properties with a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet. If you drop the weapon or throw it, the weapon dissipates and reappears in your hand at the end of your turn.
By default a greatsword (other big sticks are available) has both two-handed:
This weapon requires two hands when you Attack with it.
… and heavy:
Small creatures have disadvantage on Attack rolls with heavy Weapons. A heavy weapon’s size and bulk make it too large for a Small creature to use effectively.
But if the barbarian wild surge comes up with option 7, then it seems it would gain light:
A light weapon is small and easy to handle, making it ideal for use when fighting with two Weapons.
So… going by the mechanics alone, I see no problem between a weapon being both light and heavy, since a small creature would have disadvantage and you could duel wield, but thematically I have a problem with something being light AND heavy since, ya know, there both oposite6 ends of the “how heavy” scale. I guess the important question here is how heavy is it?
The mechanical problems come with light and two-handed. Two-handed sort of rules out duel wielding unless you have more than two arms (but I’ve seen this be overruled in official books, such as when a giant wields it in one hand) but light says that it’s perfect for duel wielding. So what happens in this case?
My interpretation is that you can’t duel weild because of the weight and heftyness, but light cancels that out, but I may well be wrong.