Do Bane/Bless apply to death saving throws?

Possibly related.

The text of Bane reads:

Whenever a target […] makes an attack roll or saving throw before the spell ends, the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the attack roll or saving throw.

Emphasis mine. Bless reads similarly. Based on this text, and the linked question, am I right to assume that these spells apply to death saving throws?

Classic editor throws 403 error based on post content

In an updated and unadorned WordPress installation, with only the Classic Editor plugin enabled, and the 2017 theme, I get a weird error.

When I try to save a draft of a post containing this

<code>curl "http://localhost:64410/api/yoyo?value1=val&value2=val2"<code> 

I always get a 403 Forbidden error on a splash page from WordPress. If I change it to

<code>curl -X GET "http://localhost:64410/api/yoyo?value1=val&value2=val2"<code> 

or

<code>curl "localhost:64410/api/yoyo?value1=val&value2=val2"<code> 

I don’t get the 403 and the post goes through. Whisky Tango Foxtrot? I’m pretty sure I don’t have anything misconfigured in my installation.

This looks like it might be some built-in cross-site-scripting-prevention trap or something. But it’s an awfully crude error message.

Do you know how I can get my desired content into my post?

(I’m writing a tech post about web service development.)

Are attack rolls or saving throws more consistent or predictable?

In D&D 5e, spellcasters often have to choose between spells which can affect a target on a successful melee attack. The fire bolt cantrip (1d10 to 4d10 damage depending on character level), for example, requires an attack roll, while the poison spray cantrip (1d12 to 4d12) requires a Constitution saving throw by the target. Obviously, this could apply class features other than spells that require a saving throw to avoid an effect.

Assume two hypothetical spells which are the same level, cause the same damage of the same type, affect a single (and can thus be most directly compared with a single attack roll). Assume no resistances or immunities for the target, and assume the character is facing a creature of a CR matching their level (as they often would be as part of a party of 4-6). Also, assume that players are experienced, but are not allowed to consult the Monster Manual or other DM resources.

Possible considerations:

  • Many experienced players will know the AC of common monsters, but even when they don’t, it’s easy to figure out after a few attack rolls.
  • Most players won’t often have knowledge of full monster ability scores, which determine saving throws.
  • Many DMs roll in secret. Even if they roll adversary saving throws in the open, the fact that there are 6 potential saving throws (and only 3 common ones) will make it hard in any given combat for a player to determine a creature’s saving throw bonus.
  • Monsters have guidelines for ACs that are typical for a CR (“Monster Statistics by Challenge Rating”, DMG p. 274).
  • Many monsters do not have any saving throw proficiencies. The DMG recommends that saving throw proficiencies primarily be used to counteract saving throw penalties from low ability scores.

Given this, and other considerations provided in the answer, from a player’s point of view will a character succeed more consistently with an attack roll or a saving throw, or are the results of attack rolls more predictable than saving throws?

What does the Death Ward spell do when a Zealot Barbarian’s Rage Beyond Death feature ends while they have three failed Death Saving Throws?

The death ward spell states:

[…] If the spell is still in effect when the target is subjected to an effect that would kill it instantaneously without dealing damage, that effect is instead negated against the target, and the spell ends.

One example of such an effect would be failing a third death saving throw. Ordinarily you would die immediately after failing your third death saving throw but this is not the case for the Zealot Barbarian currently Raging Beyond Death:

You still must make death saving throws, and you suffer the normal effects of taking damage while at 0 hit points. However, if you would die due to failing death saving throws, you don’t die until your rage ends, and you die then only if you still have 0 hit points

So what happens if the Barbarian has three failed death saves and then their Rage ends?
What instantaneously killing effect is the Barbarian being subjected to?
What exactly is negated by death ward?
Is the third death saving throw removed?

NPC’s Disadvantage vs PC’s Saving Throws: any effect?

Picture a stand-off between a Conquest Paladin and a Yeti.

Due to fear effects, the Paladin has imposed the Frightened Condition on the Yeti.

Frightened

  • A frightened creature has disadvantage on Ability Checks and Attack rolls while the source of its fear is within line of sight.
  • The creature can’t willingly move closer to the source of its fear.

Now the Yeti uses its Chilling Gaze on the Paladin:

Chilling Gaze. The yeti targets one creature it can see within 30 feet of it. If the target can see the yeti, the target must succeed on a DC 13 Constitution saving throw against this magic or take 10 (3d6) cold damage and then be paralyzed for 1 minute, unless it is immune to cold damage. The target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success. If the target’s saving throw is successful, or if the effect ends on it, the target is immune to the Chilling Gaze of all yetis (but not abominable yetis) for 1 hour.

Thus, the Paladin has to make his Saving Throw.

But in Rules as Written here, the disadvantage of the Yeti does not affect the Paladin’s Saving Throw, like lowering the DC, or giving the Paladin Advantage.

So my questions:

  1. Am I missing something here, or does the Disadvantage only affect the Yeti’s other attacks?
  2. Do any of You have a good House Rule for that case?

How Saving Throws progression work on Prestige Classes? D&D 3.5

I’ll try to picture as best as possible.

I have a Wizard 3 and Master Specialist 1.

As a Wizard I have the following saves:

+1 +1 +3

as Master Specialist on 1st level I get:

0 0 +2

So I simply add the +2 to the Will Save?

It seems like “cheating”, as a normal Wizard would have 2 points less on saving throws by level 5.

If you succeed on all of your death saving throws, what happens?

I have been DMing for my group for maybe a month or two, and we ruled that upon stabilizing your character with death saving rolls, you recover one HP and are unconscious.

Is this right? Should you just be able to get up right after falling to 0 HP? Do you suffer any other conditions, such as being knocked prone? The way we did it feels incorrect, and if anyone could point me to the answer that would be great. I’m starting a new group and want to clear up the rules for them.

What happens when you succeed on all of your death saving throws?

Are there any other practical reasons for choosing proficiency in Intelligence saving throws, other than seeing through illusions?

Are there any other practical reasons for choosing proficiency in Intelligence saving throws, other than seeing through illusions?

It was suggested to me to take the Resilient feat. I considered taking Intelligence, but I can only think back to a handful of occasions where I used an Intelligence saving throws and it was always to do with illusion magic.

RESILIENT

Choose one ability score. You gain the following benefits:

  • Increase the chosen ability score by 1, to a maximum of 20.

  • You gain proficiency in saving throws using the chosen ability.

(PHB p. 168)

I mean, other than to have a better chance of seeing through an illusion spell, is there any point in having a proficiency with Intelligence saving throws?

It seems like it is the least useful out of all the saving throws proficiencies.

Dexterity, Wisdom and Constitution get used the most; Strength and Charisma less so, but Intelligence…

Of course, if you are in a campaign where illusions are very common, then yes I can see how this could be very beneficial, but for most campaigns I can’t see the point.

Are there any other uses for the Intelligence saving throw, such as to counter a monster’s special ability (other than an illusion)?

This is a question about saving throws, not ability checks.

Mind Flayer Innate Spellcasting saving throws

The MM says

“The mind flayer’s innate spellcasting ability is Intelligence (spell save DC 15). It can innately cast the following spells, requiring no components: At will: detect thoughts, levitate l/day each: dominate monster, plane shift (self only) “

Detect Thoughts and Dominate Monster call for Wisdom saving throws, but because their spellcasting ability is Intelligence, does the target make an Int or Wis saving throw?