How does Careful Spell Metamagic work with the spell Thunderwave?

The player handbook’s entry on Carefulspell states that:

When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell’s full force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery point and choose a number o f those creatures up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one creature). A chosen creature automatically succeeds on its saving throw against the spell.

However for Thunderwave it states that:

Each creature in a 15-foot cube originating from you must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10 feet away from you. On a successful save, the creature takes half as much damage and isn’t pushed…

What I would like to know is if the creatures protected by Careful Spell will still take half damage from the sorcerer? It seems to contradict the statement that “you can protect some of those creatures from the spell’s full force”.

Is the spell combo Booming Blade into a quickened Thunderwave legal? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Casting multiple spells in a single round 9 answers
  • Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal? 1 answer
  • Does order matter when casting a cantrip with a casting time of a bonus action and another spell? 2 answers

I’m sure this topic has been beaten to death, but I can’t seem to find the answer I’m looking for. That being said, maybe I’m just not seeing the answer for what it is and I just want to feel special by having my specific question answered. In either case, if the question doesn’t say it all, basically level 3 sorcerers have access to both Thunderwave (1st level spell) and Booming Blade (cantrip.) Bonus action spells don’t let you cast anything that isn’t a cantrip afterwards so:

Healing Word into Firebolt in one turn is allowed but, Shillelagh into Cure Wound in one turn is not allowed.

That means Bonus Action Leveled Spell casted first, then Action Cantrip in one turn is ok to do,but Bonus Action Cantrip casted first, then Action Leveled Spell in one turn is not ok to do.

I ask about case 3, Action Cantrip casted first, then Bonus Action Leveled Spell in one turn, is this ok?

Does allowing thunderwave to be centred-on but not effecting the caster increase its power level?

The thunderwave spells has the description:

A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube originating from you must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10 feet away from you. On a successful save, the creature takes half as much damage and isn’t pushed.

When I first read this, a long time ago, I thought it meant that the caster was the centre of the 15 foot cube. Therefore effecting all creatures that surround you. I also assumed that this would not harm the caster in any way. For clarity, I play that it is always centred on the caster, not that they have a choice about its area of effect.

I have since learned from this question and others on the site that this interpretation is incorrect. Indeed nitsua60’s answer to that question explicitly calls out my misconception directly. This other question also rules out a potential RAW compliant work-around.

As I prefer my incorrect version of the spell I have always just allowed it at my table without really worrying about the balance of it. I haven’t found it to be overpowered, however I never used it the RAW way so I’m not sure if there is a difference.

My question is; does allowing thunderwave to be centred-on but not effecting the caster increase its power level?

Can thunderwave push upwards?

Imagine this scenario: You are a 2nd level wizard of the evocation school. Someone messed up (may have been you, but let’s not point fingers) and you are now surrounded by enemies. Then you have a brilliant idea: let’s cast thunderwave on all of them! Since you can sculpt the spell you will be perfectly safe. So you choose as the point of origin where your feet touch the ground and direct the cube upwards from there. You say the magic words and then … ?

I see two possibilities:

  • Those surrounding you are pushed upwards if they fail the save, as that is still “away from you”. They then fall, taking 1d6 damage and likely landing prone.
  • Those in the area are pushed radially if they fail the save, the basic premise of “away from you” overriding the positioning of the effect. You may have room to breathe, but getting away is still problematic.

Is either one supported by the rules? Is there a 3rd option?

Is Thunderwave centered on the caster?

This came up in game tonight. Thunderwave is a spell with Range: Self (15-foot cube). The description reads:

A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube originating from you…

Players Handbook, 282-283

Does the area of effect center on the caster (extending 7.5 feet in each direction), or does it begin from the caster, and extend in the direction desired (for a full 15 feet)?

Can I cast Thunderwave and be at the center of its bottom face, but not be affected by it?

Questions like this and this show that you cast Thunderwave as a cube, and you (the point of origin) stand at one of the cube’s faces. From the PHB:

You select a cube’s point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect. […] A cube’s point of origin is not included in the cube’s area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.

If I’m on the ground and I choose to be at the center of the cube’s bottom face, can I choose not to be affected by the spell’s area of effect?

Seen from above, C being me, and X the affected area, it would look like

XXX XCX XXX 

So I could potentially explode and push 8 creatures away from me, without damaging myself.