Does the Zealot Barbarian’s Divine Fury apply multiple times if you focus the same target?

The Path of the Zealot barbarian (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 11) gets the Divine Fury feature at level 3, which states:

At 3rd level, while you’re raging, the first creature you hit on each of your turns with a weapon attack takes extra damage equal to 1d6 + half your barbarian level. The extra damage is necrotic or radiant; you choose the type of damage when you gain this feature.

The RAI intent seems as though it should be the first successful hit to a creature on your turn deals an additional 1d6 damage, but it doesn’t seem as explicit as Sneak Attack, which states that it only happens once per turn.

Does Divine Fury truly work the same way as the rogue’s Sneak Attack, or can you proc Divine Fury multiple times if you focus fire?

Can Magical Lineage reduce a spell’s level multiple times?

Oh wise brains of the internet, I implore thee

Magical Lineage states "Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell that add at least 1 level to the spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell’s final adjusted level."

If applying multiple metamagic feats to a spell, such as Maximized + Empowered, would Magical Lineage reduce the total adjusted level by 2 (once for each application of a metamagic feat) or only once regardless of the number of metamagic feats?

My initial take is that it only applies once, regardless of the number of metamagic feats applied, but might as well double check and make sure it’s right.

I just want to know whether I should be preparing Maximized Empowered Battering Blast into a 7th level slot or a 6th level slot.

Thank you.

Can a character with the Extra Attack feature and the Crossbow Expert feat shoot a hand crossbow 4 times in the same turn?

In D&D 5e, can a 5th-level fighter shoot a hand crossbow 4 times per turn using the Crossbow Expert feat?

The fighter’s Extra Attack feature says (PHB, p. 72):

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

The Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165):

  • You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient.

  • […]

  • When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding.

Is the following statement valid?

The fighter is holding a hand crossbow. He begins his turn. He takes an Attack action; using his Extra Attack feature along with the first benefit of Crossbow Expert, he shoots twice during this action. Then he takes a bonus action. Using the last benefit of Crossbow Expert, he makes this an Attack action. He is limited to using a hand crossbow during this action. He shoots twice using his Extra Attack feature. (Assume he can do this with the same hand crossbow.)

It is ambiguous whether "you can use a bonus action to attack" means "you can use a bonus action to take exactly one shot" or "you can use your bonus action for the round as an Attack action". Or even if it does mean "you can use a bonus action to take one shot", it is ambiguous whether it means "an Attack action in which you use a one-handed weapon gives you an opportunity to shoot during your bonus action" or "a one-handed weapon attack made during an Attack action gives you an opportunity to shoot during your bonus action". (One bonus shot per Attack action, or one bonus shot per attack within the Attack action?)

Recurrence with a function of n times T()

The master method works well on problems like $ T(n)=kT(an)+cn$ , but it does not handle problems like $ $ T(n)=n^{\frac{1}{3}}T(n^{\frac{2}{3}})+n^2$ $ With the number of branches for each partition is a function of $ n$ . I wonder if there’s a good solution to this kind of problems, I have no idea how to solve this, any help is appreciated!

Is it possible to lift things multiple times with different castings of reverse gravity?

My players came up with an interesting idea using reverse gravity recently which at the time I let them do because it made sense and I like to keep things flowing but wondered about the actual mechanics of it.

Reverse Gravity lifts everything centered on a point in a 50ft circle 100ft up. 2 of the players in the party had taken it, in player ones turn he cast it at ground level to lift a group of enemies the full 100 feet, the 2nd player then cast the spell a second time centering at the top of the previous spell and lifting the enemies another 100 feet. In player ones turn he stopped his version of the spell meaning player 2 could then drop them 200 feet. As there was nothing to grab hold of on the second casting there was no saving throw

At the time I was unsure if the initial casting of the spell would lock them in at 100 feet but decided to go with it. My players have also asked me if one of them could cast it repeatedly turn after turn. Effectively cancelling it as they cast it a second time lifting people multiples of 100 feet into the air before then dropping them.

Is this a DM decide situation, which I am fine with, or are there any rules stated anywhere for this situation?

My any-dice program times out, when calculating large limit break checks

Someone in chat helped write an anydice program to calculate limit breaks in an RPG I’m developing, but after making some changes, it times out for dicepools > 7.

The system I have in mind, is that if any of the dice you roll is below a threshold, you can bank the sum of all failed rolls for later use, by converting it into a limit break token (currently, at an exchange rate of 1:4). I’m toying with requiring a certain number of successes before you can convert failed, which may or may not be slowing down the program.

function: sum X:s less than L with at least K successes {   R: 0   S: 0   loop I over X {      if I <= L { R: R + I }      if I > L { S: S + 1 }   }   if S >= K { result: R/4 }   if S < K { result: 0 }  } 

Is there a more efficient way of running this program? Initially before my tweaks, the same helpful person suggested this as an alternative to the function: output 3d{1..6, 0:6} named "Alt dice" but I can’t figure a way of running that, which is probably less likely to time out, and still check for a minimum number of successes.

Here is the code that causes the time out:

output [sum 1d12 less than 7 with at least 0 successes] named "1 die limit break" output [sum 2d12 less than 7 with at least 1 successes] named "2 die limit break" output [sum 3d12 less than 7 with at least 1 successes] named "3 die limit break" output [sum 4d12 less than 7 with at least 1 successes] named "4 die limit break" output [sum 5d12 less than 7 with at least 1 successes] named "5 die limit break" output [sum 6d12 less than 7 with at least 1 successes] named "6 die limit break" \Times out around here\ output [sum 7d12 less than 7 with at least 1 successes] named "7 die limit break" output [sum 8d12 less than 7 with at least 2 successes] named "7 die limit break" output [sum 9d12 less than 7 with at least 2 successes] named "7 die limit break" output [sum 10d12 less than 7 with at least 2 successes] named "7 die limit break" 

I found the timeout point by running each line individually.

Can a D&D5e Wizard cast a Ritual Spell as many times as he wants during the day?

I’m a newbie D&D5e Wizard player and was intrigued by the Ritual tag and it’s major benefits for Wizards.

I’d like to ask if a Ritual Spell in my Spellbook can be cast multiple times a day, without the need for a rest, assuming I have plentiful components to cast said spell? … Thanks, Walts

Can a Readied Action be used multiple times in the same round if you have multiple reactions?

A Marilith picks up a Longbow to use in combat. It walks to a tower window overlooking a large battle with many creatures. It takes the Ready Action with a trigger of "when a creature moves or attacks, I will shoot it".
Mariliths can take a reaction on every turn of combat.

Does the Marilith get to shoot every creature on the battlefield before its next turn?

Can spells with cumulative or instantaneous ongoing effects affect a creature multiple times?

In the current campaign, the levels 2 and 3 PCs want to spam foes with the 1st-level Sor/Wiz spell cause fear [necro] (PH 208) and the 1st-level Sor/Wiz spell power word pain (Races of the Dragon 116), the former so that they can corner and beat into unconsciousness the rare creature that they want to take alive and the latter so that they can perpetrate dungeonwide loot-their-corpses-after-they-die-in-4d4-rounds murder sprees.

It seems reasonable that a creature affected twice by the spell cause fear becomes frightened rather than merely staying shaken for a new, longer duration. Likewise, it seems reasonable that a creature affected by two or more power word pain spells would be in more pain—and suffer more damage—rather than the new power word pain spell’s duration overwriting the previous’s.

Nonetheless, since these aren’t, like, polymorph effects or temporary hp or anything with a specific rule, I am consumed with self-doubt and suspicious of both tactics, thinking they conflict somehow with the rules about the Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths (cf. Player’s Handbook 172), the rules about the Same Effect with Differing Results (ibid.), or both… or another rule somewhere.

Can these kinds of spells—that have ongoing durations but either cumulative different effects or instantaneous effects—affect the same creature more than once simultaneously?