Are the spells Leomund’s Tiny Hut and Tiny Hut considered the same spell for the purposes of combining magical effects?

The Player’s Handbook contains the spell Leomund’s Tiny Hut, and the Basic Rules contains an SRD version of this spell called Tiny Hut. The descriptions of these spells are completely identical.

The rules for combining magical effects say:

The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect–such as the highest bonus–from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap.

Additionally, the Dungeon Master’s Guide contains a more general version of this rule for combining game effects:

Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap.

These spells notably have different names, but are they considered the same spell for the purposes of applying the rules for combining magical and game effects?

This question was inspired by this quesition concerning stacking tiny huts as a countermeasure against dispel magic.

Leomund’s Tiny Hut and Conjuration

(Leomund’s) Tiny Hut says

The spell ends if you leave its area…The spell fails if its area includes a larger [then Medium] creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it.

Interactions between the Hut, a caster capable of conjuration (eg, Summon Monster, Find Steed, Find Familiar), and a creature conjured after the creation of the hut include:

The same person casts the hut as conjures the creature:

The caster has to remain inside the hut (or else the hut is dispelled).

Creatures may not be conjured outside the hut (since the ranged casting would count as casting "though" the hut).

Creatures may be conjured inside the hut (since reaching out to the plane from which they are summoned does not count as casting through the hut?)

Creatures may be conjured inside the hut (but will dispel the hut upon arrival if they are larger than Medium or bring the total of creatures inside to more than nine)

Creatures successfully conjured inside the hut cannot leave (since they were not present at the time of casting)

A different person casts the hut as conjures the creature:

The hut-caster has to remain inside the hut (or else the hut is dispelled), but the creature-summoner (present at the time the hut was cast) can come and go.

Creatures may be summoned to the same "side" of the hut (inside or out) as the summoner, but not the other side (if summoned inside, they could dispel the hut as above). Once summoned, creatures cannot move to the other side of the hut, even if their summoner does so.

Questions

  1. Is my understanding of all this correct?
  2. What support exists for my assumption that summoning creatures to the inside of the hut while you are inside it does not count as casting through the hut? I have looked for this but not found any explicitly. I have found a lot about the Ethereal Plane mapping to locations on the Prime, but I don’t think most things are conjured from the Ether. I have seen the distinction between spells like Dimension Door not allowing travel through the hut (because of its range) while Misty Step and Teleport do. But I haven’t found any explicit support saying that drawing a creature from another plane does not count as casting through the hut.

Related: Can Dimension Door be cast into Leomund's Tiny Hut?

Leomund's Tiny Hut and familiars

Can you cast Leomud’s Tiny Hut upside down?

This isn’t for any practical reason other than to answer a debate I was having with a friend. The spell reads that the hut forms "above" the caster, but all descriptions of the spell pay special attention to the position of the caster, i.e. if you’re standing on a slope it will only extend to your feet and not further below. Is above you always up, or is it relative to the caster’s position (and can therefore form a bowl shape)?

My DM changed the spell “tiny hut” in my game. Is it a problem?

I am playing the wizard with the spell.

The DM came up with the idea of having strahd change the spells in my spell book, just slightly. This makes a little sense because my current character was his blood doll before becoming a PC. This serves to explain why many spell effects are actually different in Barovia.

As I said, i have the tiny hut spell. The DM asked me if it was ok if he swapped my tiny hut for a homebrew Ravenloft version. I thought it was a great idea and we talked about the specifics of the spell change beforehand and we agreed.

The spell now summons a mausoleum with a coffin and plaque for each person I want inside whether they are inside when cast or not. The walls are stone and are as impenetrable as the spell originally intended. But then there’s the door… it’s a wrought iron gate that can be seen through from either side but sound doesn’t pass through. The open areas of the gate won’t allow enemies to stab us and spells can’t pass through it. Though our swords can go through the other way and we can stick our hands out to finish casting a spell.

That all went over well with my surprised party members but the DM and I gave the door a finite HP and it got broken down by a pack of werewolves while we "fought" them through the gate. My party has mixed feelings about the door mechanic. And I can’t really say I blame them. The spell is supposed to make us invulnerable and obscured from sight.

I love the setting and random night encounters make the whole game feel more like we are in constant danger in Barovia. I worked on this mechanic with my DM because I don’t want my whole party to miss out on the experience just because I picked a spell that breaks the tension it’s supposed to have.

Is this a broken rule or should my party just accept it?

Does Tiny Hut protect from Dream?

Leomund’s Tiny Hut spell states

Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it.

Dream states

Choose a creature known to you as the target of this spell. The target must be on the same plane of existence as you.

Can Dream reach a target sleeping in Leomund’s Tiny Hut?

The points giving me doubt are:

  • "Extend through the dome" seems to exclude the floor/ground.
  • Does "Target must be on the same plane of existence" override any protection offered by the dome, or is it just a requirement of Dream, and doesn’t override any other existing limitations?

Can one enter Leomund’s Tiny Hut from below?

In a session today we were camped out in a Leomund’s tiny hut and the DM determined that since it is described as a dome, the bad guys (Wraiths, so they are incorporeal) could enter the area from below. I went with it and it was a fun encounter, but I wondered what other people think about it. I can see two arguments.

His argument: It is described as a dome. So only the semi-spherical outside prevents things from happening. A dome doesn’t (necessarily) have a floor, they can enter no problem.

My argument: The intent of the spell seems to be to prevent baddies from coming in. The rest of the wording simply talks about the “area”, not a barrier.

Has anyone thought this through or seen a ruling anywhere?

Note: Given that I’m playing a 3-foot tall gnome, we decided that on subsequent castings I’d do two. One is the normal one and the other is an inverted on with a “floor” about five feet in the air, that extends into the earth. The overlap allows for protection.

Will it be a significant disadvantage to play a tiny character?

I’m looking to play in my first Starfinders game, and am delighted by the variety of races available. My inclination is to play a Raxilite Biohacker. I’m very familiar with Pathfinder but just starting to learn about Starfinder.

Raxilites are Tiny, but their LFAN counts as a single Medium sized arm (in addition to my two Tiny arms). I see that Tiny doesn’t change To Hit, Damage Dice, AC, Stealth. What it does do is

  • Help with getting into small spaces, and perhaps give better cover options (sounds somewhat helpful),
  • Eliminate my reach (not a biggie for a ranged character) and
  • Require me to buy Tiny weapons–which cost 2x as much as Small/Medium/Large/Huge weapons, as per:

    Weapons are built to be easily held and used by both Small and Medium creatures. Weapons can be built for use by smaller creatures but generally cost twice as much (since they require special miniaturization technology).

In practice, I assume that means over time I’ll choose between:

  1. Using a (Medium-sized) Small Arm, or
  2. Paying 2x for a (Tiny) rifle

It’s fine if my character idea isn’t totally optimized…but I’m a bit nervous that I don’t know just how big a disadvantage this will be over time. (How do Small Arms compare over time with sniper and longarms? How big a hit to Wealth By Level to pay 2x for any longarm or sniper rifle? Are there significant advantages I’m missing to being Tiny in Starfinder, that might make up for the penalties?)

5E DND – Leomunds Tiny Hut [duplicate]

Question regarding the official ruling of a strange occurrence in Fifth Edition Dungeons and Dragons:

Would Leomund’s Tiny hut dispell an already cast magical effect with a duration of 1 hour such as a beholder charm ray.

Fifth edition D&D Leomund’s tiny hut states :

A 10-foot-radius immobile dome of force springs into existence around and above you and remains stationary for the duration. The spell ends if you leave its area.

Nine creatures of Medium size or smaller can fit inside the dome with you. The spell fails if its area includes a larger creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside.

Until the spell ends, you can command the interior to become dimly lit or dark. The dome is opaque from the outside, of any color you choose, but it is transparent from the inside.

Beholder Charm ray:

Eye Rays. The beholder shoots three of the following magical eye rays at random (reroll duplicates), choosing one to three targets it can see within 120 ft. of it:

  1. Charm Ray. The targeted creature must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by the beholder for 1 hour, or until the beholder harms the creature.