Do parties with rangers dispense with navigation checks while in their favored terrain in Tomb of Annihilation?

In Tomb of Annihilation the prospect of getting lost/turned around in the jungle is written explicitly into the rules: “The Land of Chult” and its “Navigation” section have the party navigator making a check every day, and they may become lost if the check goes awry.

But my party has a ranger, favored terrain of forest. Whose group, due to Natural Explorer, “can’t become lost except by magical means.”

Nothing suggests that difficulty finding one’s way in the lion’s Tyrannosaurus’ share of Chultan jungles is magical. It’s just mundane bushwhacking-sometimes-goes-awry.

So do groups playing Tomb of Annihilation who include a (forest) ranger simply dispose of the whole “Navigation” section while in the jungle?

(We’ve ruled that forest==jungle for Natural Explorer’s purposes. As does Jeremy Crawford. If you disagree hold your ire and imagine we were talking about coast, or swamp, or mountain; all of these are Natural Explorer candidates and might be where navigation checks would be indicated in ToA.)

How can I identify the different terrains on the Chult map in Tomb of Annihilation?

At the back of the Tomb of Annihilation book, in Appendix B, there is a random encounters table for Wilderness Encounters on pp. 194-195. The different terrains listed in that table are as follows:

  • Beach
  • Jungle; further divided into:
    • No Undead
    • Lesser Undead
    • Greater Undead
  • Mountains
  • Rivers
  • Ruins
  • Swamp
  • Wasteland

So that’s 9 different terrains in total.


Looking at the map on p. 39, there doesn’t appear to be any legend for describing the different terrains. The only key is as follows, and only shows what the lesser and greater Undead territories look like*:

The only descriptions I can find in the books are on p. 38, which lists the different terrains under the Travel Distances and Navigation sections but does not expand on how to identify these areas on the map, and on p. 40, which is just the section Undead Territory, which only explains the undead territory as per the above key.

The description of the random encounter table, Wilderness Encounters, only says: "Roll percentile dice and check the Wilderness Encounters table for the terrain appropriate to where the characters are", without actually elaborating on how to determine that.

From the map itself, a lot of it is obvious; where the map shows a lot of trees, clearly that’s Jungle, and for hexes that intersect mountains, clearly that’s Mountain, etc. However, Ruins, Swamp and Wasteland are quite ambiguous to me with only the map to go on.

So is there any way to determine these terrains besides just eyeballing the map, and how am I supposed to identify Ruins, Swamp, or Wasteland from the map (if eyeballing really is the only way)?


* There’s also "Ruin", but I assume this is the location of a specific ruin rather than denoting that it’s a type of terrain, especially given that the black square icon turns up in different terrains (for example, the Orolunga ruin is clearly in a hex of Jungle terrain), so I am unconvinced that the black square icon for "Ruin" is related to the "Ruins" terrain.


Below I have attempted to identify each of the 9 different terrains from the map, as well as my best guess as to what they are (some are obvious, others less so, hence my question):

Can the people who live in this maze get lost in their own maze in Tomb of Annihilation?

I hope the title isn’t so ambiguous such that it doesn’t actually resemble what I’m asking, but I’m trying to keep the title spoiler free.

So, in the Tomb of Annihilation adventure for D&D 5e, there is a location in Chult called Dungrunglung (pp. 49-52). This location includes a maze.

So, the moment the party step into the maze (which surrounds the grung settlement of Dungrunglung), the grungs "greet" them immediately and escort them to the centre, which of course means they are going through the maze with the party. On page 49, it has this to say about the maze itself, and what one may expect whilst trying to navigate it:

The maze’s passages are open to the sky and magically change configuration every minute or so, turning passageways into dead ends, and vice versa. Whichever character is leading the way through the maze must make six successful DC 15 Wisdom (Survival) checks to find the entrance to the settlement (area 2). Each successful or failed check represents 1 minute of searching the maze.

This, to me, implies that the grungs themselves can get lost in their own maze (and after apparently having just travelled through it already to greet the party). Is this true?

Is there anything that I’ve missed that might imply that, while being guided through the maze by the grungs, the (escorted) party and grungs do not get lost? Or do the party or the grungs still need to make Survival checks, potentially getting lost?

Is there any more information about the mines seen on the map of Chult in Tomb of Annihilation?

In Tomb of Annihilation, in chapter 2, there is a map of Chult on p. 39, the “DM’s version” with all of the hexes filled in and all of the locations named and displayed.

However, although many of the locations are named, there are various “mines” that are shown throughout the map (and we can tell that they are mines because the legend tells us that that’s what that symbol means), but unlike the named locations, they are not expanded on later in chapter 2.

Below is a section of the map showing a few of these mines (shown by the symbol of a spade and pickaxe), as well as a few examples of named locations (in spoiler quotes in case any players currently in a ToA game shouldn’t be looking at it):

What is the purpose of these mines being on the map? If my players find one, what am I supposed to do with that? Is there any further information on these mines in the book? Hopefully I’m just being blind and it’s right there under my nose, but I can’t seem to find anything else about these mines…

What is this Tomb of Annihilation text in Dungrunglung talking about?

The Tomb of Annihilation module has a section on Dungrunglung, where the grung King is trying to conduct a great ritual. That section of the book, on page 51, reveals to the DM the plan of one of the King’s priests to fool him. I’ve reproduced a specific paragraph (emphasis, mine).

Krr’ook’s Plan. A while a go, Krr’ook found a box of Nolzur’s marvelous pigments, which she hid from the king. She plans to paint an image of Nangnang of such quality that Croak will be fooled into thinking it’s the real goddess. Krr’ook hopes that one of the adventurers will have the skill to illu strate Nangnang convincingly. She’s willing to give the magical pigments as a reward to the adventurers if all goes well. As a further reward, Krr’ook offers a ring of jumping. Anyone touched by a dose of poison must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw or take 5 (2d4) poison damage. A dose of poison is used up once it deals damage to a creature.

What is the last part of the text talking about? What poison doses are players touching? Was this some formatting-gone-wrong issue?

Does the Protection from Evil and Good spell protect against the Staff of the Forgotten One from Tomb of Annihilation?

Under the item description of the Staff of the Forgotten One in the ToA Hardcover, we see that a spirit inside the staff might try to possess the wielder:

The Protection from Evil and Good spell can protect against some kinds of possession:

Until the spell ends, one willing creature you touch is protected against certain types of creatures: aberrations, celestials, elementals, fey, fiends, and undead. […] The target also can’t be charmed, frightened, or possessed by them. […]

If I were under the effect of Protection from Evil and Good, am I immune from getting possessed by the ghost of the staff?

How does Tomb of Levistus interact with a racial resistance to fire? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Do vulnerability and resistance cancel out? 2 answers

Tomb of Levistus eldritch invocation (from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 57):

Tomb of Levistus

As a reaction when you take damage, you can entomb yourself in ice, which melts away at the end of your next turn. You gain 10 temporary hit points per warlock level, which takes as much of the triggering damage as possible. Immediately after you take the damage, you gain vulnerability to fire damage, your speed is reduced to 0, and you are incapacitated. These effects, including any remaining temporary hit points, all end when the ice melts.

With a Tiefling warlock Infernal heritage (Racial) grants her fire resistance

How would this invocation interact with this racial feat? Do they cancel? Or does the magic of the Tomb of Levistus overpower infernal heritage completely?

What story arcs does the Tomb of Annihilation adventure (as written) fail to resolve?

It is said that you can give a story a more satisfying and powerful ending by simultaneously closing multiple story arcs at the end of a story (per screenwriting coaches like Robert Mckee – the teacher who inspired Peter Jackson to rewrite Lord of the Rings into what we saw onscreen.) For example, it was recently reported that the writers for Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker found 24 unclosed character arcs that they could close with the final movie. They closed those arcs to give the movie more narrative impact.

I have been brought in as a substitute DM to finish the last 2-3 episodes of an almost eight month campaign of Tomb of Annihilation spanning over 30 sessions. (I was chosen to help maintain continuity because I am a former player with knowledge of their campaign.)

It would be great to give the ending of TOA a great sense of closure and feel epic as if the PCs have accomplished something important and the world recognizes it.

But, reading ToA it is clear that there are a variety of unclosed story arcs. As written, the ending feels a little abrupt. There are a few comments about how if the PCs saved a particular character then they receive treasure as promised and a few words about future adventures, but that’s about it. It feels a bit unfinished – like Star Wars: A New Hope might feel without the throne scene or Return of the Jedi without the scenes of celebration across the many planets.

The ToA authors left a variety of open story arcs for the DM to close.

For example…

That said, there are hundreds of pages of adventure – and clearly the authors opened a variety of arcs, many of them closed, and some portion left open – but it can be a challenge to find and remember all those arcs even having been a player.

It would be great to have a list of those unclosed story arcs so we as DMs can create scenes to close those arcs to help give that more satisfying “Mckee-an” sense of completion.

So the question is, what are the story arcs that are opened in ToA’s story that were unclosed in the module?

We are looking for a bulleted list of opened arc story elements that the authors left unclosed or for which the authors didn’t outline the scenes for closing them.

Would the Unearthed Arcana Revived Rogue subclass have its hitpoint maximum reduced in Tomb of Annihilation?

I’ve been playing Tomb of Annihilation lately and asked my DM for his thoughts on using Unearthed Arcana material. He said he was cool with it which got me thinking. I’ve been interested in trying out the Revived Rogue subclass but then I realized ToA has the Death Curse as the big driving plot point.

I mentioned this in the chat but not everyone seemed convinced that the Revived Rogue would be considered revived for the sake of the death curse reducing its HP max. One person even said that the rogue could have just been brought back to life before the Soulmonger was activated which it would have had to have been regardless as nobody can be resurrected anyway once it activates and Syndra even mentions that she died before saying

“I was an adventurer years ago. I died once and was raised from the dead. I have since closed the door on that stage of my life.”

The subclass specifically mentions in its description

You’ve had a soul-shaking realization: you’ve been dead before, yet somehow you are alive again.

and

You might have convinced a deity to let you return to the Material Plane, perhaps you signed a deal with a fiend, or maybe you used an artifact that revived you.

So I ask here; Is the Revived Rogue subclass considered to have been raised from the dead for the sake of the Death Curse in Tomb of Annihilation?

Note: I am primarily looking for a RAW answer but you are welcome to include how you would rule as well.